A recent study has revealed that around 62% of Spanish workers admit to having more stress than last year. The situation of economic crisis, which has generated a feeling of great uncertainty about the future, and that encourages even active workers not to feel safe in their jobs, is probably the main reason why the level has increased. of stress.

Therefore, the experts of the Spanish Association of Specialists in Occupational Medicine (AEEMT) have warned that it is necessary that both medical professionals and companies follow effective guidelines to detect and address stress in the workplace that, in their opinion, could become a real epidemic in the next decade.

In Spain only 26% of companies have adopted measures to prevent stress

Suffering stress at work is not something new, however, the current situation of insecurity multiplies the anxiety. In addition, the number of sick leave has also decreased, probably because of fear of losing work, so that more and more people with a high level of stress continue to work and, consequently, also increase cases of chronic stress.

Dr. Miguel Casas, psychologist and director of BH Consulting, which specializes in behavioral health for companies, stresses that continued stress is currently the second cause of work disability, behind muscle problems. In addition to affecting the emotional well-being of the person, and cause depression and sleep disorders, work stress can also somatize and promote the appearance of pathologies such as hypertension, migraine, heart disease, type 2 diabetes, a greater propensity to get infections, and so on.

However, in Spain only 26% of companies have adopted measures to prevent stress. In this regard, Dr. Clara Guillén, member of the AEEMT and specialist in occupational diseases, explains that it is necessary to detect the disorder early and adapt the treatment to the characteristics of the affected person and of his / her job. It is not only important to identify what is the cause of your stress, but also to assess the perception that that person has of the problem and the consequences it may have on their health.

Specialists advocate raising awareness among human resources and occupational risk prevention departments so that they can establish appropriate measures, since in addition to affecting the health of their employees, chronic stress implies a loss of productivity that has a negative impact on the interests of the company. They propose a comprehensive approach to effectively control stress, with behavioral and psychological techniques, and using pharmacological treatment when necessary, always bearing in mind that certain medications, such as anxiolytics and antidepressants, can cause dependence, so they should only be taken under medical prescription.

Source: Spanish Association of Specialists in Occupational Medicine (AEEMT)

OVERCOMING ANXIETY : FIRST DAY NERVOUS JITTERS | Doctor Mike (November 2019).

Une étude récente a révélé qu'environ 62% des travailleurs espagnols admettent avoir plus de stress que l'an dernier. La situation de crise économique, qui a généré un sentiment de grande incertitude quant à l'avenir et incite même les travailleurs actifs à ne pas se sentir en sécurité dans leur emploi, est probablement la raison principale de l'augmentation de ce niveau. de stress.

Par conséquent, les experts de la Association espagnole de spécialistes en médecine du travail (AEEMT) ont averti qu'il était nécessaire que les professionnels de la santé et les entreprises suivent des directives efficaces pour détecter et traiter le stress sur le lieu de travail qui, à leur avis, pourrait devenir une véritable épidémie au cours de la prochaine décennie.

En Espagne, 26% seulement des entreprises ont adopté des mesures pour prévenir le stress

Souffrir de stress au travail n’est pas une nouveauté, mais la situation d’insécurité actuelle décuple l’anxiété. En outre, le nombre de congés de maladie a également diminué, probablement en raison de la crainte de perdre son travail, de sorte qu'un nombre croissant de personnes fortement stressées continuent de travailler et, par conséquent, augmentent également les cas de stress chronique.

Le docteur Miguel Casas, psychologue et directeur de BH Consulting, spécialiste de la santé comportementale pour les entreprises, souligne que le maintien du stress est actuellement la deuxième cause d'incapacité de travail, derrière les problèmes musculaires. En plus d'affecter le bien-être émotionnel de la personne et de provoquer dépression et troubles du sommeil, le stress au travail peut également somatiser et favoriser l'apparition de pathologies telles que l'hypertension, la migraine, les maladies cardiaques, le diabète de type 2, une plus grande propension à contracter des infections, etc.

Cependant, en Espagne, seules 26% des entreprises ont adopté des mesures pour prévenir le stress. À cet égard, Mme Clara Guillén, membre de l'AEEMT et spécialiste des maladies professionnelles, explique qu'il est nécessaire de détecter rapidement le trouble et d'adapter le traitement aux caractéristiques de la personne concernée et de son travail. Il est non seulement important d'identifier quelle est la cause de votre stress, mais également d'évaluer la perception que cette personne a du problème et les conséquences que cela peut avoir sur leur santé.

Les spécialistes plaident pour une sensibilisation accrue des services des ressources humaines et de la prévention des risques professionnels afin qu’ils puissent mettre en place les mesures appropriées, car outre le fait de nuire à la santé de leurs employés, le stress chronique implique une perte de productivité qui a un impact négatif sur les intérêts de l'entreprise. Ils proposent une approche globale pour contrôler efficacement le stress, avec des techniques comportementales et psychologiques, et l’utilisation de traitements pharmacologiques en cas de nécessité, en gardant toujours à l’esprit que certains médicaments, tels que les anxiolytiques et les antidépresseurs, peuvent entraîner une dépendance. prescription médicale.

Source: Association espagnole de spécialistes en médecine du travail (AEEMT)

Descodificación de conflictos en cada órgano enfermo por Daniel Gambartte (Août 2019).