Changes in the levels of the brain chemical known as serotonin, which usually occur when someone has not eaten or suffers stress, affect those brain areas that are responsible for regulating anger, according to a study conducted by the Cambridge University (United Kingdom), which has published Biological Psychiatry.

The research, which has involved healthy people, has revealed that, with low levels of serotonin, it can be more complicated for the brain to control the emotional reaction to anger.

Low levels of serotonin had already been linked to aggressive behaviors, but this study demonstrates for the first time how this substance contributes to regulate behavior in the brain, and helps to clarify the reason why certain people have a more pronounced tendency to Attack others

During the investigation, the scientists altered the serotonin levels of the participants by manipulating their diet. To reduce serotonin, they were given a combination of amino acids that did not contain tryptophan, a necessary element for the formation of serotonin. When it was their turn placebo, on the contrary, they were administered the same combination, adding tryptophan.

Next, they used the functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) technique to scan the brains of the volunteers while they saw faces that showed expressions of sadness, anger, and neutrality, to evaluate the reaction and the way of communicating with each other. different areas of the brain, depending on the type of face they were contemplating at that moment.

The authors of the study proved that when serotonin levels are low, communication between certain areas of the brain located in the emotional limbic system (amygdala) and the frontal lobes is weakened. They also used a questionnaire to analyze the personality of the volunteers and determine who had a natural predisposition to adopt aggressive behaviors, and could observe that, in these individuals, when the level of serotonin decreased, the communication between the prefrontal cortex and the amygdala was still weaker compared to the rest.

Luca Passamonti, one of the collaborators in the study, believes that although the people who participated in the research were healthy, the results obtained are relevant to better understand a wide variety of psychiatric disorders. In this regard, he points out that the conclusions of the research could help to develop new therapies that alleviate the symptoms of certain diseases, such as intermittent explosive disorder, which is characterized because patients suffer intense attacks of violence that they can not control and that can be triggered, for example, when contemplating a face with an angry expression.

528Hz Release Inner Conflict & Struggle | Anti Anxiety Cleanse - Stop Overthinking, Worry & Stress (November 2019).

Les changements dans les niveaux de la substance chimique du cerveau appelée sérotonine, qui se produisent généralement lorsque quelqu'un n'a pas mangé ou ne subit pas de stress, affecte les zones du cerveau qui sont responsables de la régulation de la colère, selon une étude menée par le Université de Cambridge (Royaume-Uni), qui a publié Psychiatrie Biologique.

La recherche, qui a impliqué des personnes en bonne santé, a révélé que, avec de faibles niveaux de sérotonine, il peut être plus compliqué pour le cerveau de contrôler la réaction émotionnelle face à la colère.

Les faibles niveaux de sérotonine avaient déjà été associés à des comportements agressifs, mais cette étude montre pour la première fois en quoi cette substance contribue à réguler le comportement du cerveau et aide à préciser la raison pour laquelle certaines personnes ont une tendance plus prononcée à agir. Attaquer les autres

Au cours de l'enquête, les scientifiques ont modifié les niveaux de sérotonine des participants en manipulant leur régime alimentaire. Pour réduire la sérotonine, ils ont reçu une combinaison d'acides aminés ne contenant pas de tryptophane, élément nécessaire à la formation de sérotonine. Quand c'était leur tour placeboau contraire, ils ont reçu la même combinaison en ajoutant du tryptophane.

Ensuite, ils ont utilisé la technique d'imagerie par résonance magnétique fonctionnelle (IRMf) pour analyser le cerveau des volontaires tout en observant des visages montrant des expressions de tristesse, de colère et de neutralité, afin d'évaluer la réaction et le moyen de communiquer les uns avec les autres. différentes zones du cerveau, en fonction du type de visage envisagé à ce moment-là.

Les auteurs de l’étude ont prouvé que lorsque les niveaux de sérotonine sont bas, la communication entre certaines zones du cerveau situées dans le système limbique émotionnel (amygdale) et les lobes frontaux est affaiblie. Ils ont également utilisé un questionnaire pour analyser la personnalité des volontaires et déterminer ceux qui avaient une prédisposition naturelle à adopter des comportements agressifs. Ils ont ainsi observé que, chez ces individus, lorsque le niveau de sérotonine diminuait, la communication entre le cortex préfrontal et l’amygdale était encore plus faible par rapport au reste.

Luca Passamonti, l'un des collaborateurs de l'étude, estime que, bien que les personnes ayant participé à la recherche soient en bonne santé, les résultats obtenus sont pertinents pour mieux comprendre une grande variété de troubles psychiatriques. À cet égard, il souligne que les conclusions de la recherche pourraient contribuer à la mise au point de nouveaux traitements qui atténueraient les symptômes de certaines maladies, telles que trouble explosif intermittent, qui se caractérise par le fait que les patients subissent de violentes attaques de violence qu’ils ne peuvent pas contrôler et qui peuvent être déclenchées, par exemple, lorsqu’on regarde un visage avec une expression de colère.

séparation : sortir de la déprime sérotonine la solution? ( 4/4) (Septembre 2019).