Elder abuse is a serious public health problem because, according to data from the World Health Organization (WHO) about 5% of the elderly living in countries with high purchasing power suffer some type of abuse, understood this as actions or omissions that occur in the context of a relationship of trust between the elderly and their caregiver or caregivers, and that causes harm or a situation of anxiety or distress to the elderly.

This inadequate treatment includes physical, emotional, sexual, economic and psychological abuse, as well as abandonment, and implies the loss of dignity and respect for those affected, which is why the WHO considers it an authentic violation of human rights.

There is not much information about the true extent of abuse to the elderly, and even less when it comes to developing countries. In addition, in many cases, when violence is exercised within the home, victims do not report the problem because they are afraid.

As for the abuse that occurs in institutions such as nursing homes, hospitals, and other care centers, there is not much data available either. However, in the United States a nursing home survey was conducted in which 36% of the respondents admitted having witnessed at least one case of physical abuse in an elderly patient during 2010. In addition, one of every ten felt committed at some point because of physical abuse to an older patient, and 40% said that these patients were psychologically mistreated.

Abuses against the elderly can include physical injuries, both minor and serious, which in some cases can cause the permanent disability of those affected, and psychological damage such as anxiety and depression.

The number of elderly people who suffer abuse throughout the world is expected to increase due to the progressive aging of the population and the lack of resources to meet their specific needs

The most worrisome is that the number of elderly people who suffer abuse throughout the world is expected to increase due to the progressive aging of the population and the lack of resources to meet their specific needs. In 2025, it is estimated that people over 60 years old will have more than doubled compared to 1995, from 542 million to about 1,200 million.

Risk of abuse to the elderly

There are a number of risk factors that increase the chances of an elderly person being mistreated. That the elderly suffer from dementia or some other mental disorder, or that the aggressor consumes drugs or alcohol in excess, are considered risk factors on a personal level. It also influences that there is a family relationship between both victim and aggressor, and the sex of the victim, for example, being a woman in certain cultures where this alone is already a reason for discrimination.

A family relationship of cohabitation supposes an increased risk of abuse, and it is estimated that the risk of abuse is also greater when the abuser is economically dependent on the elderly person with whom he lives. In the family, there has been another phenomenon that negatively influences, and is the incorporation of women into the world of work, which leaves less time to care for the elderly, turning their care into an additional burden that increases the risk of abuse .

Another problem is the social isolation to which many elders are forced, because they suffer physical or mental pathologies that prevent them from interacting with other people, besides having lost family and friends.

Certain sociocultural aspects, such as the image of the elderly as dependent and weak, the lack of contact between the different generations of the family, the economic interests linked to the inheritance, or the lack of financial means to pay for the care of the elderly, they also increase the risk that the elderly are mistreated.

At the institutional level, it is easier for abuses to occur if appropriate measures are not established for the health care of the elderly, or if the professionals responsible for their care are not well trained or do not receive a salary commensurate with the amount of work, or do not have enough time to carry out their work.

Measures to prevent mistreatment of the elderly

Various strategies have been put in place in order to avoid ill-treatment of the elderly. In the nations with higher incomes, campaigns have been launched to raise awareness on this issue to public opinion and professionals, to detect situations of abuse and to identify aggressors and their victims, actions have been taken to support caregivers, The police and the social workers have visited the elderly man's home, and the obligation to report the mistreatment to the authorities has been established, among other initiatives.

However, there is no data available that demonstrates the effectiveness of these and other interventions. According to WHO, in order to reduce abuse to the elderly, it is necessary to involve multiple sectors, such as the one in charge of social welfare (offering financial, legal, and housing support), education (spreading campaigns to sensitize society), and that of Health (so that primary care personnel are trained to detect and treat victims of abuse).

What is a fear of being druged by crazy doctors with antipsychotics called!? (November 2019).

La maltraitance des personnes âgées est un grave problème de santé publique car, selon les données de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), environ 5% des personnes âgées vivant dans des pays à fort pouvoir d'achat sont victimes d'abus, comme des actions ou des omissions qui se produisent dans le contexte d'une relation de confiance entre les personnes âgées et leur fournisseur de soins, et qui causent un préjudice ou une situation d'anxiété ou de détresse aux personnes âgées.

Ce traitement inadéquat comprend des abus physiques, émotionnels, sexuels, économiques et psychologiques, ainsi que l'abandon et implique une perte de dignité et de respect pour les personnes touchées, raison pour laquelle l'OMS considère qu'il s'agit d'une violation authentique des droits de l'homme.

Il n’ya pas beaucoup d’informations sur la véritable ampleur de la maltraitance envers les personnes âgées, et encore moins dans les pays en développement. En outre, dans de nombreux cas, lorsque la violence est exercée à domicile, les victimes ne signalent pas le problème car elles ont peur.

En ce qui concerne les abus qui se produisent dans des institutions telles que les maisons de retraite, les hôpitaux et autres centres de soins, il n’ya pas beaucoup de données disponibles non plus. Cependant, aux États-Unis, une enquête sur les maisons de retraite a été menée. 36% des personnes interrogées ont admis avoir été témoins d'au moins un cas de maltraitance physique chez un patient âgé en 2010. En outre, l'un des tous les dix se sont sentis engagés à un moment donné à cause de violence physique envers un patient plus âgé, et 40% ont déclaré que ces patients étaient psychologiquement maltraités.

Les abus à l'encontre des personnes âgées peuvent inclure des blessures physiques, mineures ou graves, pouvant dans certains cas causer l'invalidité permanente des personnes touchées, ainsi que des dommages psychologiques tels que l'anxiété et la dépression.

Le nombre de personnes âgées victimes de maltraitance dans le monde devrait augmenter en raison du vieillissement progressif de la population et du manque de ressources pour répondre à leurs besoins spécifiques.

Le plus inquiétant est que le nombre de personnes âgées victimes de maltraitance dans le monde devrait augmenter en raison du vieillissement progressif de la population et du manque de ressources pour répondre à leurs besoins spécifiques. En 2025, on estime que le nombre de personnes âgées de plus de 60 ans aura plus que doublé par rapport à 1995, passant de 542 millions à environ 1 200 millions.

Risque d'abus envers les personnes âgées

Un certain nombre de facteurs de risque augmentent les risques de maltraitance d'une personne âgée. Le fait que les personnes âgées souffrent de démence ou d'un autre trouble mental ou que l'agresseur consomme des drogues ou de l'alcool en excès est considéré comme un facteur de risque personnel. Il existe également une relation familiale entre la victime et l'agresseur et le sexe de la victime, par exemple le fait d'être une femme dans certaines cultures où cela constitue déjà un motif de discrimination.

Une relation de cohabitation familiale suppose un risque accru de maltraitance et on estime que le risque de maltraitance est également plus grand lorsque l'agresseur est économiquement dépendant de la personne âgée avec laquelle il vit. Dans la famille, un autre phénomène a eu une influence négative, à savoir l'intégration des femmes dans le monde du travail, qui leur laisse moins de temps pour s'occuper des personnes âgées, ce qui en fait un fardeau supplémentaire qui augmente le risque d'abus. .

Un autre problème est l'isolement social auquel de nombreux anciens sont forcés, car ils souffrent de pathologies physiques ou mentales qui les empêchent d'interagir avec d'autres personnes, en plus d'avoir perdu leur famille et leurs amis.

Certains aspects socioculturels, tels que l’image des personnes âgées dépendantes et faibles, le manque de contact entre les différentes générations de la famille, les intérêts économiques liés au patrimoine ou le manque de moyens financiers pour payer les soins prodigués aux personnes âgées. personnes âgées, ils augmentent également le risque que les personnes âgées soient maltraitées.

Au niveau institutionnel, il est plus facile de commettre des abus si les mesures appropriées ne sont pas établies pour les soins de santé des personnes âgées, ou si les professionnels responsables de leurs soins ne sont pas bien formés ou ne perçoivent pas un salaire correspondant au montant de travail, ou n’ont pas assez de temps pour effectuer leur travail.

Mesures visant à prévenir les mauvais traitements envers les personnes âgées

Diverses stratégies ont été mises en place afin d’éviter les mauvais traitements des personnes âgées. Dans les pays à revenus plus élevés, des campagnes ont été lancées pour sensibiliser l'opinion publique et les professionnels à cette question, pour détecter les situations de maltraitance et pour identifier les agresseurs et leurs victimes. Des actions ont été entreprises en faveur des aidants naturels, La police et les travailleurs sociaux se sont rendus au domicile du vieil homme et l'obligation de signaler les mauvais traitements aux autorités a été établie, entre autres initiatives.

Cependant, aucune donnée disponible ne démontre l'efficacité de ces interventions et d'autres. Selon l'OMS, pour réduire les abus envers les personnes âgées, il est nécessaire d'impliquer plusieurs secteurs, tels que celui chargé du bien-être social (soutien financier, juridique et en matière de logement), de l'éducation (campagnes de diffusion). sensibiliser la société) et de la santé (afin que le personnel de première ligne soit formé à la détection et au traitement des victimes de maltraitance).

Grippe : c'est le moment de vous faire vacciner (Août 2019).