The World Health Organization (WHO) asks the competent health authorities to establish laws or implement initiatives to prevent people from starting to smoke and help smokers to stop smoking, because they believe that some countries still do not do enough to fight against this habit so harmful.

In its latest report, the WHO says that currently only 31 countries have laws that prevent smoking in certain places and require the establishment of smoke-free spaces, and only 19 that have required tobacco companies to include in the packs images that discourage tobacco use.

According to the WHO, these measures have contributed to many smokers abandoning the habit and, in addition, have contributed to decrease the number of people who are initiated into the habit. Thus, the data of the report indicate that the laws that force the existence of smoke-free spaces, and that have been adopted in 31 countries, including Spain, benefit a total of 739 million people. 27 countries in total have raised taxes on tobacco, and in some countries, such as Colombia, Chad and Syria, it has been prohibited to sponsor, promote or advertise tobacco consumption.

The snuff will be responsible for the deaths of some six million people this year, which includes more than 600,000 non-smokers who die as a result of passive smoking

The WHO has recalled that tobacco will be responsible for the deaths of some six million people this year alone, which includes more than 600,000 non-smokers who die as a result of passive smoking. The outlook worsens in the long term, and estimates that tobacco could kill eight million people each year by 2030.

There are more than one billion smokers in the world, 80% of whom reside in the poorest areas of the planet. Some experts have accused tobacco companies of taking advantage of social changes in less developed countries, targeting potential smokers, such as women, to whom they want to convey the idea that tobacco is a symbol of emancipation or economic prosperity. .

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Tobacco giant fights Kenya's anti-smoking laws (November 2019).

L’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) demande aux autorités sanitaires compétentes d’établir des lois ou de mettre en œuvre des initiatives visant à empêcher les personnes de commencer à fumer et à aider les fumeurs à cesser de fumer, car ils estiment que certains les pays ne font toujours pas assez pour lutter contre cette habitude si néfaste.

Dans son dernier rapport, l’OMS indique qu’à l’heure actuelle, seuls 31 pays disposent de lois interdisant de fumer dans certains endroits et imposant la création d’espaces sans fumée de tabac, et seulement 19 imposant aux sociétés productrices de tabac d’inclure dans les emballages des images qui: décourager le tabagisme.

Selon l'OMS, ces mesures ont incité de nombreux fumeurs à abandonner cette habitude et, en outre, ont contribué à réduire le nombre de personnes initiées à cette habitude. Ainsi, les données du rapport indiquent que les lois qui imposent l'existence d'espaces sans fumée et qui ont été adoptées dans 31 pays, dont l'Espagne, profitent à un total de 739 millions de personnes. Au total, 27 pays ont augmenté les taxes sur le tabac et dans certains pays, tels que la Colombie, le Tchad et la Syrie, il a été interdit de parrainer, de promouvoir ou de faire la publicité de la consommation de tabac.

Le tabac à priser sera responsable de la mort d'environ six millions de personnes cette année, dont plus de 600 000 non-fumeurs décédés des suites du tabagisme passif

L'OMS a rappelé que le tabac serait responsable de la mort d'environ six millions de personnes cette année seulement, dont plus de 600 000 non-fumeurs décédés des suites du tabagisme passif. Les perspectives se détériorent à long terme et on estime que le tabac pourrait tuer huit millions de personnes chaque année d’ici 2030.

Il y a plus d'un milliard de fumeurs dans le monde, dont 80% résident dans les régions les plus pauvres de la planète. Certains experts ont accusé les compagnies de tabac de tirer parti des changements sociaux dans les pays moins développés, en ciblant les fumeurs potentiels, telles que les femmes, à qui elles veulent transmettre l'idée que le tabac est un symbole d'émancipation ou de prospérité économique. .

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Où les mineurs trouvent-ils leurs cigarettes? (Août 2019).