UNFPA (United Nations Population Fund) has commissioned a report on the state of childbirth care in the world. Up to 30 different organizations -OMS included- have elaborated surveys in 58 countries that bring together, with less than 60% of the world's births, no less than 91% of maternal deaths. The objective and conclusion is to remind the states that they must invest in improving the skills of midwives in order to try to reduce the high percentage still existing of maternal and infant mortality and stop the proliferation of AIDS in the poorest countries. .

At least six midwives per thousand births are needed to cover the needs of pregnant women in a country and avoid major complications

The data are hopeless: annually, more than 350,000 mothers and more than three and a half million newborns die of complications during pregnancy, delivery or postpartum that could be prevented. Most of these deaths occur in less developed countries, where women, without resources or socially marginalized, do not have access to health services or specialized care, such as midwives or similar personnel.

The report has a special impact on improving access to midwives and increasing the quality of their services, since this type of professionals can not only offer their specialized knowledge in these communities, but can also connect the parturients with the services of emergencies in obstetrics, if they needed it.

In addition, it provides a figure: six midwives per thousand births, as the minimum necessary to cover the needs of pregnant women and avoid these complications. In at least 38 countries, most of them African, they would need to multiply the number of midwives who officiate in their centers.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Introduction to Midwifery Skills Course (November 2019).

Le FNUAP (Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population) a commandé un rapport sur l'état des soins en matière d'accouchement dans le monde. Jusqu'à 30 organisations différentes, dont l’OMS, ont élaboré des enquêtes dans 58 pays qui regroupent, avec moins de 60% des naissances dans le monde, pas moins de 91% des décès maternels. L’objectif et la conclusion sont de rappeler aux États qu’ils doivent investir dans l’amélioration des compétences des sages-femmes afin de réduire le pourcentage élevé de mortalité maternelle et infantile encore existante et d’arrêter la prolifération du sida dans les pays les plus pauvres. .

Au moins six sages-femmes pour mille naissances sont nécessaires pour couvrir les besoins des femmes enceintes dans un pays et éviter des complications majeures

Les données sont sans espoir: chaque année, plus de 350 000 mères et plus de trois millions et demi de nouveau-nés décèdent de complications pouvant être évitées pendant la grossesse, l'accouchement ou le post-partum. La plupart de ces décès surviennent dans des pays moins développés, où les femmes sans ressources ou socialement marginalisées n'ont pas accès aux services de santé ou aux soins spécialisés, tels que les sages-femmes ou un personnel similaire.

Le rapport a un impact particulier sur l'amélioration de l'accès aux sages-femmes et sur l'amélioration de la qualité de leurs services, car ce type de professionnels peut non seulement offrir ses connaissances spécialisées dans ces communautés, mais également connecter les participantes aux services. des urgences en obstétrique, s’ils en avaient besoin.

En outre, il fournit un chiffre: six sages-femmes pour mille naissances, minimum nécessaire pour couvrir les besoins des femmes enceintes et éviter ces complications. Dans au moins 38 pays, dont la plupart sont africains, il faudrait multiplier le nombre de sages-femmes qui officient dans leurs centres.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Women’s Empowerment and Education: Linking Knowledge to Transformative Action (Août 2019).