The fibromyalgia It is characterized by a pain generalized, but there are points distributed throughout the body in which the sensitivity is extreme. They are known as Fibromyalgia tender spots: 18 very specific and small areas in which the patient feels pain at the simplest touch, and that is why they are key to the diagnosis of this disease so difficult to identify.

"They are areas that are especially sensitive to pressure when we explore the patient. They are placed in different places, mainly in tendinous areas and muscular bellies of parts of the body subjected to constant load and mobility, "explains Dr. Javier Rivera, rheumatologist and spokesperson of the Spanish Society of Rheumatology (SER).

Where sensitive points are located in the body

In order to identify them it is important that we know how to distinguish them and locate their origin. So, these sensitive points of fibromyalgia They are located in the following areas of the body:

  • The lower muscles of the neck.
  • The upper chest area, just below the clavicle.
  • The muscles at the base of the skull, in the neck.
  • Trapezius muscles from the back to the shoulders.
  • Above the spine of the scapula (between the shoulder blades).
  • The inner area of ​​the knees.
  • The buttocks, in the upper third of the gluteal insertion, near the iliac crest.
  • The elbows.
  • The outer area of ​​the hips.

One of the curiosities that present these sensitive points is that usually no physical alterations are detected in them, such as inflammation or redness, but the truth is that "the finger pressure at these points it triggers an intense pain that, on occasion, causes the patient with fibromyalgia to withdraw the limb abruptly and with an expression of intense pain ", adds Dr. Rivera. It does not always hurt everyone; One day the patient may feel more pain in some points and other days in others, and also the intensity of pain may vary, and there may be days top and days worse.

In those sensitive spots, the fibromyalgia sufferer experiences intense pain with the simple touch

For the spokesperson of the SER, it is convenient to differentiate these sensitive points from the so-called trigger points, which are other areas of the body that "under pressure also produce pain, but in this case an irradiation continues through the zone of sensory innervation of the nerve that we are pressing," he says. "They are typical of myofascial syndromes, a different entity," he adds.

Why sensitive points hurt in fibromyalgia

At present the true origin of that intense pain in those points is unknown, although there are many theories. "In fibromyalgia and other central sensitization syndromes, the response is superior to what would be expected because there is a alteration of pain pathways, central nuclei, neuronal circuits or cerebral neurotransmitters, which amplifies pain. The painful points are areas subjected to a mechanical overload where small lesions easily appear that would trigger this phenomenon of central sensitization, producing an amplification of the pain. Therefore, a person with fibromyalgia can have the same peripheral lesions as another person without this pathology. The difference is that it hurts more for the phenomenon of central sensitization, "says the spokesman of the SER.

But the pain is real and, as explained to us by Dr. Josep Blanch, of the Unit of Clinical Experience of Central Sensitization Syndromes of the Hospital del Mar in Barcelona, ​​today "there are tests such as functional magnetic nuclear resonances that allow the brain to be visualized in front of a painful stimulus. "

If you compare those images in people with this disease and in other healthy ones, they look different. "In patients with fibromyalgia, the areas that are excited by pain are larger, different, and more intense. Who knows if in the future we can have some technique to demonstrate conclusively this serious health problem, "he says.

Fibromyalgia: Mayo Clinic Radio (November 2019).

Le fibromyalgie Il est caractérisé par un douleur généralisé, mais il existe des points répartis dans tout le corps dans lesquels la sensibilité est extrême. Ils sont connus comme Points sensibles de la fibromyalgie: 18 zones très spécifiques et de petite taille dans lesquelles le patient ressent une douleur au plus simple toucher, raison pour laquelle elles sont essentielles au diagnostic de cette maladie si difficile à identifier.

"Ce sont des domaines particulièrement sensibles à la pression lorsque nous explorons le patient. Ils sont placés à différents endroits, principalement dans les zones tendineuses et les ventres musculaires de parties du corps soumises à une charge et à une mobilité constantes », explique le Dr Javier Rivera, rhumatologue et porte-parole de la Société espagnole de rhumatologie (SER).

Où les points sensibles sont situés dans le corps

Pour les identifier, il est important que nous sachions les distinguer et localiser leur origine. Alors, ces points sensibles de la fibromyalgie Ils sont situés dans les zones suivantes du corps:

  • Les muscles inférieurs du cou.
  • La partie supérieure de la poitrine, juste en dessous de la clavicule.
  • Les muscles à la base du crâne, dans le cou.
  • Les trapèzes du dos aux épaules.
  • Au-dessus de la colonne vertébrale de l'omoplate (entre les omoplates).
  • La zone interne des genoux.
  • Les fesses, dans le tiers supérieur de l'insertion fessière, près de la crête iliaque.
  • Les coudes.
  • La zone externe des hanches.

Une des curiosités qui présente ces points sensibles est qu’aucune altération physique n’est détectée, comme une inflammation ou une rougeur, mais la vérité est que "le pression des doigts il déclenche alors une douleur intense qui provoque parfois le retrait brutal du membre atteint de fibromyalgie et avec une expression de douleur intense ", ajoute le Dr Rivera. Cela ne fait pas toujours mal à tout le monde; Un jour, le patient peut ressentir plus de douleur à certains moments et d’autres à d’autres, mais l’intensité de la douleur peut varier et il peut y avoir des jours. mieux et jours pire.

Dans ces points sensibles, la personne atteinte de fibromyalgie ressent une douleur intense au simple toucher

Pour le porte-parole du SER, il convient de différencier ces points sensibles des soi-disant points de déclenchement, qui sont d'autres zones du corps qui "sous pression produisent aussi de la douleur, mais dans ce cas, une irradiation se poursuit à travers la zone d'innervation sensorielle du nerf que nous sollicitons", explique-t-il. "Ils sont typiques des syndromes myofasciaux, une entité différente", ajoute-t-il.

Pourquoi les points sensibles font mal dans la fibromyalgie

À l'heure actuelle, la véritable origine de cette douleur intense en ces points est inconnue, bien qu'il existe de nombreuses théories. "Dans la fibromyalgie et d’autres syndromes de sensibilisation centraux, la réponse est supérieure à ce à quoi on pourrait s’attendre car il existe une altération des voies de la douleur, noyaux centraux, circuits neuronaux ou neurotransmetteurs cérébraux, qui amplifient la douleur. Les points douloureux sont des zones soumises à une surcharge mécanique où de petites lésions apparaissent facilement et qui pourraient déclencher ce phénomène de sensibilisation centrale, produisant une amplification de la douleur. Par conséquent, une personne atteinte de fibromyalgie peut avoir les mêmes lésions périphériques qu'une autre personne sans cette pathologie. La différence, c’est que le phénomène de la sensibilisation centrale fait plus mal ", a déclaré le porte-parole du SER.

Mais la douleur est réelle et, comme nous l'explique le Dr Josep Blanch, de l'Unité d'expérience clinique des syndromes de sensibilisation centraux de l'Hôpital del Mar à Barcelone, "il existe aujourd'hui des tests tels que les résonances nucléaires magnétiques fonctionnelles qui permettent de visualiser le cerveau devant un stimulus douloureux. "

Si vous comparez ces images chez des personnes atteintes de cette maladie et chez d'autres personnes en bonne santé, leur apparence sera différente. "Chez les patients atteints de fibromyalgie, les zones excitées par la douleur sont plus vastes, différentes et plus intenses. Qui sait si, à l'avenir, nous pourrons avoir une technique pour démontrer de manière concluante ce grave problème de santé ", a-t-il déclaré.

Comment les probiotiques aident-ils dans le traitement de la fibromyalgie (Août 2019).