Vitamin D, which is absorbed mainly thanks to the sun, is a protective factor against childhood asthma. A new study led by researchers from Valencia shows that children who live in colder, more humid cities, where sunlight hours are more limited, are at greater risk of suffering from this respiratory problem.

The research, carried out on a sample of more than 45,000 children and adolescents of nine Spanish cities and published in International Journal of Biometeorology, highlights that climatic conditions, especially solar radiation, explain in many cases the high geographical variation in the prevalence of asthma in Spain.

"Although more studies are needed on the subject - the hypothesis is only five years old - it is clear that an average exposure to the sun is important for the assimilation of vitamin D, a compound that is becoming increasingly important in the prevention of diseases such as asthma, tuberculosis or other infectious diseases, "explains the epidemiologist at the Center for Public Health of Castellón and lead author of the research, Alberto Arnedo-Pena, in an information on the Synch Platform collected by Europa Press.

Children who live in colder, wetter cities, with fewer hours of sunlight, are more at risk for asthma

In fact, the 90% of vitamin D is synthesized thanks to solar exposure. This vitamin, which is found in different cellular receptors, is usually located at lower levels in people who have asthma. Therefore, the results confirm that in areas where there is less sun and more humidity (northern Spain), the prevalence of the disease in children is higher.

In the Anglo-Saxon countries (where there are fewer hours of sun than in the Mediterranean) there is talk of the convenience of being exposed to the sun for 20 to 30 minutes a day, avoiding the hours of maximum risk (from 12 to 16 hours). At the moment, there are no similar data for Spain.

Once the benefits of the sun king are assumed, the problem arises in countries from 40º north latitude, where during the winter months not enough vitamin D is absorbed. "In these countries supplements should be taken to avoid any risk "advises Arnedo-Pena.

Newborns And Vitamin D: Levels Could Predict Respiratory Risks (November 2019).

La vitamine D, absorbée principalement par le soleil, est un facteur de protection contre l'asthme infantile. Une nouvelle étude menée par des chercheurs de Valence montre que les enfants qui vivent dans des villes plus froides et plus humides, où les heures d'ensoleillement sont plus limitées, risquent davantage de souffrir de ce problème respiratoire.

La recherche, réalisée sur un échantillon de plus de 45 000 enfants et adolescents de neuf villes espagnoles et publié dans Revue Internationale de Biométéorologie, souligne que les conditions climatiques, en particulier le rayonnement solaire, expliquent dans de nombreux cas la forte variation géographique de la prévalence de l'asthme en Espagne.

"Bien que d'autres études soient nécessaires sur le sujet - l'hypothèse ne datant que de cinq ans - il est clair qu'une exposition moyenne au soleil est importante pour l'assimilation de la vitamine D, un composé qui devient de plus en plus important dans la prévention de maladies telles que asthme, tuberculose ou autres maladies infectieuses ", explique l'épidémiologiste du Centre de santé publique de Castellón et auteur principal de la recherche, Alberto Arnedo-Pena, dans une information sur la plate-forme Synch recueillie par Europa Press.

Les enfants qui vivent dans des villes froides et humides, avec moins d'heures d'ensoleillement, sont plus à risque d'asthme

En fait, le 90% de la vitamine D est synthétisée grâce à l'exposition solaire. Cette vitamine, présente dans différents récepteurs cellulaires, se trouve généralement à des niveaux inférieurs chez les personnes asthmatiques. Par conséquent, les résultats confirment que dans les régions moins ensoleillées et plus humides (nord de l'Espagne), la prévalence de la maladie chez les enfants est plus élevée.

Dans les pays anglo-saxons (où il y a moins d'heures d'ensoleillement qu'en Méditerranée), on parle de la commodité d'être exposé au soleil 20 à 30 minutes par jour, en évitant les heures à risque maximal (de 12 à 16 heures). Pour le moment, il n'y a pas de données similaires pour l'Espagne.

Une fois que les avantages du roi soleil sont supposés, le problème se pose dans les pays à partir de 40 ° de latitude nord, où pendant les mois d'hiver ne sont pas absorbés suffisamment de vitamine D. "Dans ces pays, des compléments doivent être pris pour éviter tout risque "conseille Arnedo-Pena.

Ces jus vont totalement guérir l’asthme et empêcher la survenue des attaques d’asthme ! (Août 2019).