Researchers of the Leeds Institute of Molecular Medicine (United Kingdom) have observed that in the patients with skin cancer that have high levels of vitamin D, lesions caused by melanoma are thinner and have less severity, so they have a lower rate of relapse of the disease.

Researchers came to this conclusion after conducting a study, involving 872 people who had melanoma, and in which they found the association between their levels of vitamin D and the severity of their injuries and the likelihood of suffering any relapse.

The research showed that vitamin D deficiency is directly related to the onset of heart disease, lower bone density and poor state of general health.

Dr. Julia A. Newton-Bishop, one of the authors of the study, explains that the shortage of vitamin D favors the development of melanoma-specific tumors, which is the most aggressive type of skin cancer and with the highest mortality rate.

Most skin cancers occur in people of fair skin and advanced age, appearing in the parts of the body most exposed to sunlight such as: face, neck, hands and arms. People with weakened immune systems are also more susceptible to it.

An Answer to Cancer? Using the immune system to fight cancer -- Longwood Seminar (November 2019).

Chercheurs du Institut de médecine moléculaire de Leeds (Royaume-Uni) ont observé que dans le patients atteints de cancer de la peau qui ont des niveaux élevés de vitamine D, les lésions causées par le mélanome sont plus minces et moins sévères et ont donc un taux de rechute plus faible.

Les chercheurs sont parvenus à cette conclusion après avoir mené une étude portant sur 872 personnes atteintes de mélanome et dans laquelle ils ont découvert un lien entre leur taux de vitamine D et la gravité de leurs blessures et le risque de rechute.

Les recherches ont montré que la carence en vitamine D est directement liée à l'apparition d'une maladie cardiaque, à une densité osseuse plus faible et à un mauvais état de santé générale.

La Dre Julia A. Newton-Bishop, l'un des auteurs de l'étude, explique que la pénurie de vitamine D favorise le développement de mélanomes, le type de cancer de la peau le plus agressif et le plus mortel.

La plupart des cancers de la peau surviennent chez les personnes de peau claire et d'âge avancé, apparaissant dans les parties du corps les plus exposées au soleil, telles que le visage, le cou, les mains et les bras. Les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli sont également plus vulnérables.

5 symptômes du cancer de l’anus, la maladie silencieuse que vous devez connaître (Août 2019).