Amblyopia, popularly known as 'lazy eye' is a very common visual affection in children and, until now, it was considered very difficult or even impossible to correct it if it was not detected and treated before school age. However, an ophthalmological clinic in India has carried out a study, presented at the American Academy of Ophthalmology, which shows that this visual alteration can be corrected with a therapy that combines standard treatment with the practice of video games.

The research has lasted a year and has counted with the participation of children aged between 10 and 18 years, a third of which has significantly improved their visual capacity, while 60% has shown some improvement.

Previously, the Pediatric Eye Disease Research Group, in the United States, had conducted research in which they found that 27% of the older children studied managed to improve their vision when they underwent the appropriate treatment, which encouraged the Dr. Ghosh Somen, author of the new study, to try new therapies that could be effective for these children to recover, at least, part of the vision.

The close collaboration of the patient is necessary for this type of treatment, but it shows that even older children can improve their vision significantly

Ghosh divided the patients into four groups, one of which followed a standard treatment that consisted of using, for at least two hours a day, a patch that prevented the vision of the "strong" eye to force the weakened eye function, exercising it.

The other three groups had reinforcement treatments, such as vitamin supplements and playing video games one hour a day, using only the weaker eye. One of the 16-year-olds, who followed videogame therapy for a few months, claims to have improved significantly, to the point of overcoming the difficulties he had in his academic activity.

As Dr. Ghosh points out, for this type of treatment to be effective, the patient's close cooperation is necessary, but it shows that even older children can recover part of their vision and significantly improve their quality of life and their possibilities of academic performance.

Source: EUROPA PRESS

Diagnosing and Managing Lazy Eye - Dr. Monica Khitri | UCLAMDCHAT Webinar (November 2019).

L'amblyopie, communément appelée «œil paresseux», est une affection visuelle très répandue chez les enfants. Jusqu'à présent, il était considéré comme très difficile voire impossible de la corriger si elle n'était pas détectée et traitée avant l'âge scolaire. Cependant, une clinique ophtalmologique en Inde a réalisé une étude, présentée à la Académie américaine d'ophtalmologie, qui montre que cette altération visuelle peut être corrigée avec une thérapie combinant un traitement standard à la pratique des jeux vidéo.

La recherche a duré un an et a compté avec la participation d'enfants âgés de 10 à 18 ans, dont un tiers a considérablement amélioré leur capacité visuelle, tandis que 60% ont montré une certaine amélioration.

Aux États-Unis, le groupe de recherche pédiatrique sur les maladies des yeux avait découvert que 27% des enfants plus âgés étudiés parvenaient à améliorer leur vision quand ils suivaient un traitement approprié, ce qui encourageait Le Dr Ghosh Somen, auteur de la nouvelle étude, a pour objectif d’essayer de nouvelles thérapies qui pourraient être efficaces pour que ces enfants récupèrent, au moins une partie de la vision.

La collaboration étroite du patient est nécessaire pour ce type de traitement, mais elle montre que même les enfants plus âgés peuvent améliorer considérablement leur vision.

Ghosh a divisé les patients en quatre groupes, dont l'un suivait un traitement standard consistant à utiliser, au moins deux heures par jour, un patch empêchant la vision de l'œil «fort» pour forcer la fonction oculaire affaiblie à s'exercer.

Les trois autres groupes ont reçu des traitements de renforcement, tels que des suppléments de vitamines et des jeux vidéo une heure par jour, en utilisant uniquement l'œil le plus faible. L'un des 16 ans, qui a suivi la thérapie de jeu vidéo pendant quelques mois, affirme s'être amélioré de manière significative, au point de surmonter les difficultés qu'il avait rencontrées dans son activité universitaire.

Comme le souligne le Dr Ghosh, pour que ce type de traitement soit efficace, la coopération étroite du patient est nécessaire, mais elle montre que même les enfants plus âgés peuvent recouvrer une partie de leur vision et améliorer de manière significative leur qualité de vie et leurs possibilités de survie. la réussite scolaire.

Source: EUROPA PRESS

11 Erreurs Parentales qui Abîment le Développement des Enfants (Août 2019).