A study conducted by scientists from the University of Chicago and the Medical University of South Carolina, in the United States, has shown why a drug used in smoking cessation, varenicline, could also be effective for patients limiting the intake of alcohol.

In 2006 varenicline began to be administered in the United States to people who wanted to quit smoking, after checking that with this substance the patients had between two and three times less risk of relapse in this habit so harmful to the Health. Some of these patients decreased alcohol consumption during treatment, prompting researchers to try to discover if this was a direct consequence of the administration of varenicline and why it occurred.

Scientists found that varenicline alters the effects associated with alcohol consumption by increasing unpleasant sensations

To verify this, the authors of the study observed the effects of this substance on alcohol consumption, analyzing the reactions of 15 healthy volunteers (eight men and seven women), after they took either varenicline or placebo, and then Beverages containing placebo, or low or high doses of alcohol, respectively. The scientists found that varenicline alters the effects associated with alcohol consumption by increasing unpleasant sensations, and that for this reason people who take this drug have decreased their desire to drink alcohol.

The researchers explain that the drugs used to treat alcohol addiction act in two ways; or diminish the rewarding effects an individual achieves when drinking alcohol, or cause discomfort when it does, and varenicline works similarly to the latter. According to Hugh Myrick, assistant professor of psychiatry at the Medical University of South Carolina, and one of the authors of the work, this effect of varenicline could be very useful considering that the dependence on tobacco is frequently associated with the consumption of alcohol, so that a drug that acts against both addictions would be very beneficial for the patients

Stop Smoking - Why is it so hard? - Mayo Clinic (November 2019).

Une étude menée par des scientifiques de la Université de Chicago et la Université médicale de Caroline du Sud, aux États-Unis, a montré pourquoi un médicament utilisé pour arrêter de fumer, la varénicline, pourrait également être efficace pour les patients limitant leur consommation d'alcool.

Aux États-Unis, la varénicline a commencé à être administrée en 2006 aux personnes qui souhaitaient arrêter de fumer, après s'être assuré que les patients présentaient deux à trois fois moins de risques de rechute de cette habitude, si nocive pour la santé. la santé. Certains de ces patients ont diminué leur consommation d'alcool pendant le traitement, ce qui a incité les chercheurs à essayer de déterminer s'il s'agissait d'une conséquence directe de l'administration de varénicline et de la raison de son apparition.

Les scientifiques ont découvert que la varénicline modifie les effets associés à la consommation d'alcool en augmentant les sensations désagréables

Pour vérifier cela, les auteurs de l’étude ont observé les effets de cette substance sur la consommation d’alcool, en analysant les réactions de 15 volontaires en bonne santé (huit hommes et sept femmes), après avoir pris soit de la varénicline ou un placebo. Boissons contenant un placebo ou des doses d'alcool faibles ou élevées, respectivement. Les scientifiques ont découvert que la varénicline modifiait les effets associés à la consommation d’alcool en augmentant les sensations désagréables. C’est pour cette raison que les personnes qui prennent ce médicament ont diminué leur désir de boire de l’alcool.

Les chercheurs expliquent que les drogues utilisées pour traiter la dépendance à l’alcool agissent de deux manières; ou diminuer les effets bénéfiques qu'un individu réalise lorsqu'il boit de l'alcool, ou causer de l'inconfort quand il le fait, et la varénicline agit de la même manière que ce dernier. Selon Hugh Myrick, professeur adjoint de psychiatrie à la Université médicale de Caroline du Sud, et l’un des auteurs de l’ouvrage, cet effet de la varénicline pourrait être très utile étant donné que la dépendance au tabac est fréquemment associée à la consommation d’alcool, de sorte qu’une drogue qui agit à la fois contre ces deux dépendances serait très bénéfique pour la santé. patients

Suicider, Drogue,cigarette : Arraiter sans effort ,ADULTE et ENFANT? (Septembre 2019).