Vaginal infections are the most common reason for gynecological consultations. It is estimated that up to eight out of ten women go to their gynecologist for problems related to this type of infection. The alteration of the vaginal discharge, sensation of burning in the vulva or the vagina, or having the vulva red lips and hypersensitive are some of the most characteristic symptoms of this type of problems.

"The causes of this problem can be derived from an imbalance in the vaginal flora, which can lead to pathologies such as bacterial vaginosis -The most common type of vaginal infection- or candidiasis, which is the second cause of vaginitis in women of childbearing age and adolescents, "explains Dr. Ana Rosa Jurado, a physician and sexologist, member of the probiotic group of the Spanish Association for the Study of Menopause and Secretary of the Sexology working group of SEMERGEN.

On the other hand, in holiday periods such as Easter, getaways to the beach or the pool can favor the imbalance and the appearance of infections due, among other factors, to the wetness of the swimsuit.

Recommended treatments

It is usual to treat the infection through vaginal ovules and creams that are applied to the vulva. Local antifungals or bactericides are usually effective and easy to use, but fail to restore lost vaginal balance. This problem is supplemented with vaginal probiotic preparations, which contain lactobacilli, and which are a good therapeutic complement.

However, not all preparations are effective. It is important that they contain the appropriate lactobacilli strains for greater efficacy. Lactobacilli are probiotics used to restore the balance of the vaginal flora and have antiallergic, anti-inflammatory and defensive effects. In the case of bacterial vaginitis, it is demonstrated that the strains of lactobacillus - L. rhamnosus Y L. gasseri - They have properties in the regeneration and maintenance of a healthy vaginal flora, besides being the most indicated to avoid colonization and infection by candida albicans - a third of the vaginitis are due to fungi.

"One of the most frequent problems with which we find ourselves, both women who suffer from it and medical professionals, when treating this type of infection, is the recurrence of the disease (even after adequate treatment), since that once the vaginal flora has been altered, it is difficult to restore it and the recurrence of vaginitis is frequent, "says Dr. Jurado.

Finally, it must be borne in mind that many of these infections require treatment as a couple, since the man may also be infected and if he does not perform the treatment, he is more likely to suffer recurrences.

If you want to know more about how to take care of your intimate hygiene read our special, where you will find tips and recommendations for your day to day.

Source: Solutions in feminine

HPV & Cancer (November 2019).

Les infections vaginales sont la raison la plus courante des consultations gynécologiques. On estime que jusqu'à huit femmes sur dix consultent leur gynécologue pour des problèmes liés à ce type d'infection. L'altération des écoulements vaginaux, la sensation de brûlure de la vulve ou du vagin ou le fait d'avoir la lèvre rouge et les lèvres hypersensibles sont parmi les symptômes les plus caractéristiques de ce type de problèmes.

"Les causes de ce problème peuvent provenir d’un déséquilibre de la flore vaginale, pouvant conduire à des pathologies telles que vaginose bactérienne -Le type le plus courant d'infection vaginale ou de candidose, qui est la deuxième cause de vaginite chez les femmes en âge de procréer et les adolescentes ", explique la Dre Ana Rosa Jurado, médecin et sexologue, membre du groupe probiotique de l'Association espagnole. pour l'étude de la ménopause et secrétaire du groupe de travail sur la sexologie de SEMERGEN.

En revanche, en période de vacances comme Pâques, les escapades à la plage ou à la piscine peuvent favoriser le déséquilibre et l’apparition d’infections dues, entre autres facteurs, à l’humidité du maillot de bain.

Traitements conseillés

Il est habituel de traiter l'infection par le biais d'ovules vaginaux et de crèmes appliquées sur la vulve. Les antifongiques ou les bactéricides locaux sont généralement efficaces et faciles à utiliser, mais ne permettent pas de rétablir l'équilibre perdu. Ce problème est complété par des préparations probiotiques vaginales contenant des lactobacilles et constituant un bon complément thérapeutique.

Cependant, tous les préparatifs ne sont pas efficaces. Il est important qu’elles contiennent les souches de lactobacilles appropriées pour une plus grande efficacité. Les lactobacilles sont des probiotiques utilisés pour rétablir l'équilibre de la flore vaginale et ont des effets antiallergiques, anti-inflammatoires et défensifs. Dans le cas de la vaginite bactérienne, il est démontré que les souches de lactobacille - L. rhamnosus et L. gasseri - Ils ont des propriétés dans la régénération et le maintien d'une flore vaginale saine, en plus d'être les plus indiqués pour éviter la colonisation et l'infection par le candida albicans - un tiers des vaginites sont dues à des champignons.

"L’un des problèmes les plus fréquents avec lesquels nous nous trouvons, à la fois les femmes qui en souffrent et les professionnels de la santé, lors du traitement de ce type d’infection, est la récurrence de la maladie (même après un traitement adéquat), car qu’une fois que la flore vaginale a été altérée, il est difficile de la restaurer et la récidive de la vaginite est fréquente ", déclare le Dr Jurado.

Enfin, il convient de garder à l’esprit que nombre de ces infections nécessitent un traitement en couple, car l’homme peut également être infecté et s’il n’exécute pas le traitement, il est plus susceptible de souffrir de récidives.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur la façon de prendre soin de votre hygiène intime, lisez notre rubrique spéciale où vous trouverez des conseils et des recommandations pour votre quotidien.

Source: Des solutions au féminin

Courroie de distribution : Les conseils de nos garagistes / Top Entretien #4 (avec Denis Brogniart) (Août 2019).