A new study has revealed that pregnant women who are vaccinated against the flu during the period when this virus is circulating, they present a lower risk of give birth babies with under weight.

The authors of the study, a group of researchers from various centers in the United States and Bangladesh, point out that if their conclusions are confirmed with new studies, it would be convenient to incorporate this prophylactic measure into the pregnancy control programs because of the benefits that this implies for the developing fetus achieve an adequate weight, which would prevent it from suffering health disorders associated with low birth weight.

The weight of the children of the pregnant women vaccinated against the flu exceeded by 200 grams, on average, that of the control group

The research involved 340 healthy pregnant women in Bangladesh, who were given either the flu vaccine, or the pneumococcal vaccine (control group), in their third trimester of pregnancy, to subsequently check the babies' weight , comparing that of those born in a period in which the flu virus was circulating, with those born when the circulation of the virus was scarce.

Taking into account the gestational age of the babies, 25.9 percent of those whose mothers had been vaccinated against the flu when the virus was in circulation were born with low weight compared to 44.8 percent of the babies whose mothers had not received this vaccine. The weight of the children of pregnant women vaccinated against influenza exceeded by 200 grams, on average, that of the control group and, in addition, there were also fewer premature births among those who had been immunized.

This investigation, whose conclusions have been published in Canadian Medical Association Journal, is part of the project Mother'sGift, from Bangladesh, which aims to test the effectiveness and safety of vaccinating pregnant women against influenza and pneumococcus, and the data indicate that avoiding seasonal influenza infection in pregnant women positively influences the weight that their babies will have at birth.

Influenza Vaccination Recommendations 2016-2017 (November 2019).

Une nouvelle étude a révélé que les femmes enceintes vaccinées contre la grippe au cours de la période où virus circule, ils présentent un risque moindre de donner naissance bébés avec faible poids.

Les auteurs de l'étude, un groupe de chercheurs de divers centres situés aux États-Unis et au Bangladesh, soulignent que, si leurs conclusions sont confirmées par de nouvelles études, il serait opportun d'intégrer cette mesure prophylactique dans les programmes de contrôle de la grossesse en raison des avantages que cela implique pour le patient. les fœtus en développement atteignent un poids suffisant, ce qui l’empêcherait de souffrir de troubles de la santé associés à un faible poids à la naissance.

Le poids des enfants des femmes enceintes vaccinées contre la grippe dépassait de 200 grammes, en moyenne, celui du groupe témoin

Au Bangladesh, la recherche a concerné 340 femmes enceintes en bonne santé, à qui on a administré soit le vaccin antigrippal, soit le vaccin antipneumococcique (groupe témoin), au cours du troisième trimestre de leur grossesse, pour ensuite contrôler le poids des bébés. comparant ceux des personnes nées à une époque où le virus de la grippe était en circulation à ceux nés lorsque la circulation du virus était rare.

Compte tenu de l’âge gestationnel des bébés, 25,9% des mères dont la mère avait été vaccinée contre la grippe lorsque le virus était en circulation sont nés avec un poids insuffisant, contre 44,8% des bébés dont la mère n’a pas reçu ce vaccin. Le poids des enfants de femmes enceintes vaccinées contre la grippe dépassait de 200 grammes en moyenne celui du groupe témoin et, de plus, il y avait également moins de naissances prématurées parmi celles qui avaient été vaccinées.

Cette enquête, dont les conclusions ont été publiées dans Journal de l'Association médicale canadienne, fait partie du projet Cadeau de la mère, du Bangladesh, qui vise à tester l’efficacité et la sécurité de la vaccination des femmes enceintes contre la grippe et le pneumocoque, et les données indiquent que le fait d’éviter une infection grippale saisonnière chez les femmes enceintes influence positivement le poids que leur bébé aura à la naissance.

Enquête | Le profit avant le vaccin (Août 2019).