According to different clinical studies, using a factor 15 photoprotector during the first 18 years of life can reduce the risk of skin cancer by up to 78%. Exposure to the sun is beneficial and necessary for human life; stimulates the synthesis of vitamin D, promotes blood circulation and promotes the treatment of some dermatoses. However, overexposure to the intensity and time we spend outdoors in summer can lead to a series of malignant effects on the skin and health in general, which go far beyond the obvious burns of the immediate days. the trigger of spots, wrinkles, cataracts, skin cancer and long-term superficial tumors.

More than 90% of skin cancers appear in areas exposed to the sun, such as the face, neck, ears, forearms and hands

The appearance of skin cancer is related, therefore, to exposure to sunlight for long periods of time and with intermittent and intense exposures. According to WHO estimates, more than two million skin cancers each year other than melanoma and 200,000 malignant melanomas occur worldwide each year.

More than 90% of skin cancers appear in areas exposed to the sun; The face, neck, ears, forearms and hands are the most frequent locations of a cancer whose main cause is invisible UV rays. The effects of these rays are increased by the wind and the reflective properties of the soil surface; the sand reflects between 10% and 25% of these rays, so the exposure of bathers is especially intense.

Recommendations for summer

The Spanish Association of Pediatrics of Primary Care (AEPap) and the Spanish Society of Out-of-Home Pediatrics and Primary Care (SEPEAP) propose a series of tips to prevent these diseases and injuries that occur especially in summer. Dr. Juani Solano, pediatrician of the AEPap, states that "we must avoid exposing children to the sun between 12 and 17 hours, and use sunscreen lotions or creams with a protection factor of 15 or higher in children with clear skin. , redheads, children with light eyes, freckles or atopic dermatitis or other skin diseases ".

The recommendations of the pediatricians are to "apply the photoresist before leaving home and renew their application frequently, approximately every two hours, or sooner if the bath is prolonged or there is an increase in sweating. Other useful measures are the use of hats or wide hats, and sunglasses with approved glasses ".

"It is also advisable to use moisturizing lotions and painkillers after exposure, which act together, in order to calm the skin burning and alleviate and / or correct the anomalies caused by solar aggression. Finally, it is advisable to use clothes that protect the skin as much as possible, that does not let visible light go by ".

In addition, moisturizers are not enough to ensure adequate protection in summer, and hydration and nutrition play an important role; the experts emphasize in this sense that "to avoid heatstroke and the possible dehydration it is advisable to increase the consumption of water in the warm months; The recommended minimum daily is about two liters, an amount that should be increased by one or two more liters if you play sports or stay a long time outdoors. Ideally, you should drink water frequently, before you are thirsty. Offer young children often water, and sometimes some other fresh drink, such as natural juice or milk. "

Sources: Spanish Association of Primary Care Pediatrics (AEPap) and Spanish Society of Outpatient Pediatrics and Primary Care (SEPEAP)

Why do ultraviolet levels vary? Getting sunburnt on a cloudy day (November 2019).

Selon différentes études cliniques, l'utilisation d'un photoprotecteur facteur 15 au cours des 18 premières années de la vie peut réduire le risque de cancer de la peau de près de 78%. L'exposition au soleil est bénéfique et nécessaire à la vie humaine. stimule la synthèse de la vitamine D, favorise la circulation sanguine et favorise le traitement de certaines dermatoses. Cependant, une surexposition à l’intensité et au temps que nous passons à l’extérieur en été peut entraîner une série d’effets malins sur la peau et la santé en général, qui vont bien au-delà des simples brûlures évidentes. la cause des taches, des rides, des cataractes, des cancers de la peau et des tumeurs superficielles à long terme.

Plus de 90% des cancers de la peau apparaissent dans des zones exposées au soleil, telles que le visage, le cou, les oreilles, les avant-bras et les mains

L'apparition d'un cancer de la peau est donc liée à une exposition prolongée au soleil avec des expositions intermittentes et intenses. Selon les estimations de l'OMS, chaque année, plus de deux millions de cancers de la peau autres que le mélanome et 200 000 mélanomes malins se produisent.

Plus de 90% des cancers de la peau apparaissent dans des zones exposées au soleil; Le visage, le cou, les oreilles, les avant-bras et les mains sont les foyers les plus fréquents d’un cancer dont la cause principale est les rayons UV invisibles. Les effets de ces rayons sont augmentés par le vent et les propriétés de réflexion de la surface du sol; le sable reflète entre 10% et 25% de ces rayons, l'exposition des baigneurs est donc particulièrement intense.

Recommandations pour l'été

L’Association espagnole de pédiatrie des soins primaires (AEPap) et la Société espagnole de pédiatrie et de soins de santé primaires à l’extérieur (SEPEAP) proposent une série de conseils pour prévenir ces maladies et ces blessures qui surviennent surtout en été. Le Dr Juani Solano, pédiatre de l’AEPap, a déclaré qu ’" il faut éviter d’exposer les enfants au soleil entre 12 et 17 heures et utiliser des lotions ou des crèmes solaires avec un facteur de protection de 15 ou plus chez les enfants à peau claire. , rousses, enfants aux yeux clairs, taches de rousseur ou dermatite atopique ou autres maladies de la peau ".

Les pédiatres recommandent "d'appliquer la résine photosensible avant de quitter la maison et de la renouveler fréquemment, environ toutes les deux heures environ, ou plus tôt si le bain est prolongé ou si la transpiration augmente. L'utilisation de chapeaux ou de chapeaux larges et de lunettes de soleil avec des lunettes approuvées constitue une autre mesure utile ".

"Il est également conseillé d'utiliser lotions hydratantes et des analgésiques après exposition, qui agissent ensemble, afin de calmer les brûlures de la peau et de soulager et / ou corriger les anomalies causées par les agressions solaires. Enfin, il est conseillé d’utiliser des vêtements qui protègent le mieux possible la peau et ne laissent pas passer la lumière visible ".

De plus, les hydratants ne suffisent pas pour assurer une protection adéquate en été, et l'hydratation et la nutrition jouent un rôle important. les experts soulignent en ce sens que "pour éviter coup de chaleur et la déshydratation possible, il est conseillé d'augmenter la consommation d'eau pendant les mois chauds; Le minimum recommandé par jour est d'environ deux litres, une quantité qui devrait être augmentée d'un ou deux litres si vous pratiquez un sport ou restez longtemps à l'extérieur.Idéalement, vous devriez boire de l'eau fréquemment, avant d'avoir soif. Offrez souvent aux jeunes enfants de l'eau et parfois une autre boisson fraîche, telle que du jus naturel ou du lait. "

Sources: Association espagnole de soins pédiatriques de première ligne (AEPap) et Société espagnole de pédiatrie externe et de soins de santé primaires (SEPEAP)

Sunscreen is not the only protection - Doctor Wang (Septembre 2019).