Administering syrup to children with a homemade spoon is one of the fundamental causes for which mistakes are made in the dosage, and can lead to poisoning. However, although the agencies that regulate the use of medications have issued recommendations to prevent their use, and the containers themselves contain special spoons and syringes for the correct administration of the drug, many people use them believing that they will be able to calculate the dose well .

The Head of the Hopital Infantil del Niño Jesús Service and professor of pediatrics at the Autonomous University of Madrid, Juan Casado, explains that to calculate the dose of most medicines for children, the child's weight or body surface is taken into account , which is a function of their weight and height, and that the amount administered should be appropriate according to these parameters, and not a mere approximation. For this reason, it is always necessary to use a syringe or the dispenser.

The dose is not appropriate

Broan Wansink and Koert van Ittersum, from Cornell Ithaca University in New York (USA), have published a work in 'Annals of Internal Medicine' that has counted with the collaboration of 195 university students with an average age of 20 years, suffering from the flu or catarrh to which they were prescribed 5 ml of syrup.

They were taught to deposit the dose in a medium spoon and in a large spoon, and then they were given the syrup pack so that they deposited by themselves and without aid 5 ml in each spoon.

The researchers then measured the content of both, verifying that the dose was 8% less than the correct when they used the medium spoon and up to 11% higher if they had used the large spoon.

The authors found that despite having been previously trained in the use of both spoons, young people were not able to calculate the amount accurately, so the dose of medication varies depending on the size of the spoon used.

5 Medication Mistakes Parents Make (November 2019).

L'administration de sirop aux enfants avec une cuillère faite maison est l'une des causes fondamentales des erreurs de dosage et peut conduire à un empoisonnement. Cependant, bien que les organismes qui réglementent l'utilisation des médicaments aient formulé des recommandations visant à empêcher leur utilisation, et que les contenants contiennent eux-mêmes des cuillères et des seringues permettant d'administrer correctement le médicament, de nombreuses personnes les utilisent en pensant pouvoir bien calculer la dose. .

Juan Casado, responsable de l'hôpital Infantil del Niño Jesús et professeur de pédiatrie à l'université autonome de Madrid, explique que pour calculer la dose de la plupart des médicaments destinés aux enfants, il est tenu compte du poids de l'enfant ou de sa surface. , qui est fonction de leur poids et de leur taille, et que la quantité administrée doit être appropriée en fonction de ces paramètres, et non d’une simple approximation. Pour cette raison, il est toujours nécessaire d'utiliser une seringue ou le distributeur.

La dose n'est pas appropriée

Broan Wansink et Koert van Ittersum, de l’Université Cornell Ithaca de New York (États-Unis), ont publié un ouvrage intitulé «Annals of Internal Medicine» qui compte 195 étudiants universitaires âgés de 20 ans en moyenne. années, souffrant de la grippe ou du catarrhe auquel on leur a prescrit 5 ml de sirop.

On leur a appris à déposer la dose dans une cuillère moyenne et dans une grande cuillère, puis on leur a donné le sachet de sirop de manière à ce qu'ils déposent seuls et sans aide 5 ml dans chaque cuillère.

Les chercheurs ont ensuite mesuré le contenu des deux, en vérifiant que la dose était 8% inférieure à la dose correcte lorsqu’ils utilisaient la cuillère moyenne et jusqu’à 11% supérieure s’ils avaient utilisé la grande cuillère.

Les auteurs ont constaté que, même s'ils avaient déjà été formés à l'utilisation des deux cuillères, les jeunes n'étaient pas en mesure de calculer la quantité avec précision. La dose de médicament variait donc en fonction de la taille de la cuillère utilisée.

Le bicarbonate de soude : un produit miracle ! (Septembre 2019).