Christmas brings with it meetings with family and friends, social commitments and purchases that, in most cases, lead to abuse of food and drink, and cause extraordinary expenses and a great waste of energy. These excesses can end up taking their toll. Pains, burning and heaviness of the stomach, and even vomiting, are some of the disorders that can be suffered.

In addition to the temporary discomfort they cause, do not forget that they can also lead to more serious problems that end up damaging health. Hence the 25% increase in emergencies and hospital admissions, mainly due to increased blood pressure, poor control of diabetes, episodes of gout, or disorders of the digestive system such as gastritis, gastroenteritis, reflux ...

In addition, in the Christmas or New Year's feast they get to consume from 2000 to 3000 Kcal, the equivalent to almost two days of normal diet, which can have as a consequence a weight gain of two kilos, as experts say. European Medical Institute of Obesity (IMEO).

Recommendations of the experts

Doctors advise the chronically ill, who may be more affected by excesses, who are aware of the limitations of their illness, and eat and drink in moderation.

They also recommend the whole population to stay active during the Christmas holidays, and take advantage of the leisure time to go hiking with family to the mountain, walk in the park, ride a bicycle, play with the children outdoors ...

In this time, the abuse of food is as typical as the excesses in the consumption of alcohol

The doctor in biology and specialist in nutrition and obesity of the IMEO, Alicia Gordillo, assures that a very frequent error at this time is to remain almost fasting during the whole day to compensate the excess that we will make at dinner, and this causes us to reach the celebration with too much appetite and that costs us more to control the quantities that we eat. In addition, the lower the level of sugar in the blood, the greater the absorption and caloric intake of food. Therefore, the expert advises that the usual meals be made throughout the day, to avoid sitting at the dinner table with an excessive hunger.

From the Spanish Federation of Spirit Drinks (FEBE) advocate responsible consumption of alcoholic beverages, and recommend drinking slowly, learn to know personal limits, and alternate alcoholic beverages with those that do not contain alcohol.

It is important to take care of both the body and the mind, as Christmas parties can cause stress to many people

Francisco Rodríguez Santos, neuropsychologist and professor at the Autonomous University of Madrid, recommends that during the family and social gatherings those issues that may generate tension or raise controversy be avoided.

If emotional stress and sadness have their origin in the loss of a loved one, it is better not to force yourself to hold any celebration and not try to mask feelings.

The interruption of the daily life habits that these holidays suppose can cause slight health disorders, which can be easily solved by preventing them from causing more serious damage. It is possible to enjoy the Christmas season without neglecting health.

Aged Care Assessment Program (November 2019).

Noël comporte des réunions avec la famille et les amis, des engagements sociaux et des achats qui, dans la plupart des cas, conduisent à des abus de nourriture et de boissons et occasionnent des dépenses extraordinaires et un grand gaspillage d'énergie. Ces excès peuvent finir par avoir des conséquences néfastes. Les douleurs, les brûlures et la lourdeur de l'estomac, et même les vomissements, sont quelques-uns des désordres que l'on peut subir.

En plus de l'inconfort temporaire qu'ils provoquent, n'oubliez pas qu'ils peuvent également entraîner des problèmes plus graves qui finissent par nuire à la santé. D'où l'augmentation de 25% des urgences et des hospitalisations, principalement due à une augmentation de la pression artérielle, à un contrôle insuffisant du diabète, à des épisodes de goutte, ou à des troubles du système digestif tels que gastrite, gastro-entérite, reflux ...

De plus, à Noël ou au Nouvel An, ils consomment entre 2 000 et 3 000 Kcal, soit l'équivalent de près de deux jours de régime normal, ce qui peut entraîner une prise de poids de deux kilos, comme le disent les experts. Institut médical européen de l'obésité (IMEO).

Recommandations des experts

Les médecins conseillent les malades chroniques, qui peuvent être plus touchés par les excès, qui sont conscients des limites de leur maladie et qui mangent et boivent avec modération.

Ils recommandent également à toute la population de rester active pendant les vacances de Noël et profitent du temps libre pour faire de la randonnée en famille à la montagne, se promener dans le parc, faire du vélo, jouer avec les enfants en plein air ...

A cette époque, l'abus de nourriture est aussi typique que les excès de consommation d'alcool

Le docteur en biologie et spécialiste en nutrition et obésité de l'IMEO, Alicia Gordillo, assure qu'une erreur très fréquente à cette heure-ci est de rester presque à jeun toute la journée pour compenser l'excès que nous ferons au dîner, ce qui nous oblige à atteindre la fête avec trop d'appétit et cela nous coûte plus cher de contrôler les quantités que nous mangeons. En outre, plus le taux de sucre dans le sang est bas, plus l'absorption et l'apport calorique des aliments sont importants. Par conséquent, l'expert conseille de préparer les repas habituels tout au long de la journée pour éviter de s'asseoir à table avec une faim excessive.

La Fédération espagnole des boissons spiritueuses (FEBE) plaide pour une consommation responsable des boissons alcoolisées, recommande de boire lentement, apprenez à connaître vos limites personnelles et alternez les boissons alcoolisées avec celles qui ne contiennent pas d'alcool.

Il est important de prendre soin du corps et de l'esprit, car les fêtes de Noël peuvent être une source de stress pour beaucoup de gens.

Francisco Rodríguez Santos, neuropsychologue et professeur à l'Université autonome de Madrid, recommande d'éviter lors des réunions familiales et sociales les problèmes susceptibles de générer des tensions ou de susciter des controverses.

Si le stress émotionnel et la tristesse ont pour origine la perte d'un être cher, il est préférable de ne pas vous forcer à tenir une célébration et de ne pas essayer de masquer vos sentiments.

L’interruption des habitudes de la vie quotidienne que ces vacances supposent peut entraîner de légers désordres de santé, qui peuvent être facilement résolus en les empêchant de causer des dommages plus graves. Il est possible de profiter de la saison de Noël sans négliger la santé.

Palpitations du cœur : est-ce normal ou faut-il s'inquiéter ? (Août 2019).