The ablation or mutilation of the genitals it is still today a practice suffered by two million women - especially of African origin - every year in the world, even though it is legally prohibited in 20 of the 28 African countries in which it is carried out.

Also women residing in other countries of the Middle East and Asia, as well as the immigrant population of twelve other countries of the European Union, are at risk of being subjected to genital mutilation. And the World Health Organization (WHO) estimates that there are between 100 and 140 million women worldwide who have already been victims of ablation.

Another serious injury that affects African women is the vaginal fistula, which does not exist in developed countries thanks to the medical care that women receive during childbirth. Vaginal fistula can occur as a result of a difficult delivery -especially in teenage pregnancies-, or rape, something very common also in these countries, where sexual violence against women is widespread and marriages with girls abound.

The genital mutilation causes pain, hemorrhages, infections and death in the short term and, later on, the woman can also suffer sterility, urinary infections and pregnancies at risk

The fistula communicates vagina and bladder and, sometimes, also the rectum, which causes urine and feces to flow out of control. In addition to the stench, which causes these women to be socially repudiated, this problem causes them recurrent infections and can end up dying due to lack of medical care.

Dr. Pere Barri is the first Spanish doctor to have performed a clitoral reconstruction, and directs a team from the Dexeus Foundation of Barcelona that develops a free program to treat the ablation of this sexual organ. According to this expert, the consequences of this mutilation are pain, hemorrhages, infections, urinary retention, tetanus, and even death, in the short term and, later, the woman can also suffer from sterility, urinary tract infections and risk pregnancies, both for her and for the future baby.

"The Cut" Documentary - Female Genital Mutilation/ Cutting (FGM/C) In Kenya (2009) (November 2019).

Le ablation o mutilation des organes génitaux C’est toujours aujourd’hui une pratique endurée dans le monde par deux millions de femmes - surtout d’origine africaine - même si elle est interdite par la loi dans 20 des 28 pays africains où elle est pratiquée.

De plus, les femmes résidant dans d'autres pays du Moyen-Orient et d'Asie, ainsi que la population immigrante de douze autres pays de l'Union européenne, risquent d'être soumises à la mutilation génitale. Et l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) estime qu'il y a entre 100 et 140 millions de femmes dans le monde qui ont déjà été victimes d'ablation.

Une autre blessure grave qui affecte les femmes africaines est la fistule vaginale, qui n’existe pas dans les pays développés grâce aux soins médicaux dispensés aux femmes lors de l’accouchement. La fistule vaginale peut survenir à la suite d'un accouchement difficile - en particulier lors d'une grossesse à l'adolescence - ou d'un viol, chose très courante également dans ces pays, où la violence sexuelle à l'égard des femmes est répandue et où les mariages avec des filles sont légion.

Les mutilations génitales provoquent des douleurs, des hémorragies, des infections et des décès à court terme. Plus tard, la femme peut également souffrir de stérilité, d'infections urinaires et de grossesses à risque.

La fistule fait communiquer le vagin et la vessie et, parfois, le rectum, ce qui provoque un écoulement incontrôlable de l'urine et des selles. En plus de la puanteur qui fait que ces femmes sont socialement répudiées, ce problème leur cause des infections récurrentes et peut entraîner la mort par manque de soins médicaux.

Le docteur Pere Barri est le premier médecin espagnol à avoir effectué une reconstruction clitoridienne, et dirige une équipe de la Fondation Dexeus de Barcelone qui développe un programme gratuit pour traiter l’ablation de cet organe sexuel. Selon cet expert, les conséquences de cette mutilation sont la douleur, les hémorragies, les infections, la rétention urinaire, le tétanos et même la mort, à court terme et, plus tard, la femme peut également souffrir de stérilité, d'infections des voies urinaires et les grossesses à risque, à la fois pour elle et pour le futur bébé.

ЧЕМ ГРОЗИТ ИСКУССТВЕННОЕ ПРЕРЫВАНИЕ БЕРЕМЕННОСТИ / WHAT ARE THE RISKS OF ABORTION (Août 2019).