People suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder age more quickly if it is added that they have also suffered some trauma during their childhood, according to a group of researchers from the University of California and the University of California. San Francisco Medical Center (U.S).

These scientists have published an article in the journal Biological Psychiatry, in which they explain that they have carried out a study in which they have been able to verify that the telomeres of patients who suffered trauma during their childhood are significantly shorter than those of patients whose Post-traumatic stress is not related to any event of your childhood.

Telomeres are structures of DNA located at the ends of the chromosomes, and whose function is to protect them to prevent them from suffering alterations. Other previous studies have already revealed that a shorter length of telomeres is associated with an increased risk of developing cancer, cardiovascular diseases, and other pathologies of an autoimmune or neurodegenerative nature, in addition to increasing the chances of dying prematurely.

A shorter length of telomeres is associated with an increased risk of developing cancer and other pathologies, and with premature death

The scientists selected and analyzed DNA samples from 90 people, of whom 47 were healthy and 43 had a post-traumatic stress disorder. They observed that, in general, the telomeres of those affected by the disorder were shorter compared to those of the other group.

This data surprised the scientists because the individuals who underwent the study were healthy and had an average of 30 years of age.

The researchers then checked whether the subjects had suffered severe trauma during their childhood, as violence within the family, physical or mental abuse, negligence in their care and sexual abuse, and found that the chances of having shorter telomeres increased in patients with post-traumatic stress in relation to the magnitude of the childhood trauma they had suffered, that is, the more serious this trauma was, the shorter the telomeres. However, in individuals with post-traumatic stress who lacked childhood traumas the size of the telomeres was similar to that of healthy people.

The study is interesting because, as explained by Dr. Neylan Thomas, one of its authors, it could show that post-traumatic stress disorder has a cumulative effect that affects the dimensions of telomeres, and will help to find out why individuals with this type of stress age differently.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Is My Adult Child A Narcissist? When Helping Them Is Hurting You (November 2019).

Selon un groupe de chercheurs de l'Université de Californie et de l'Université de Californie, les personnes souffrant de syndrome de stress post-traumatique vieillissent plus rapidement si l'on ajoute qu'elles ont également subi un traumatisme durant leur enfance. Centre médical de San Francisco (États Unis).

Ces scientifiques ont publié un article dans la revue Biological Psychiatry dans lequel ils expliquent avoir mené une étude dans laquelle ils ont pu vérifier que les télomères des patients traumatisés au cours de leur enfance étaient significativement plus courts que ceux de leurs patients. Le stress post-traumatique n'est associé à aucun événement de votre enfance.

Les télomères sont des structures de ADN situés aux extrémités des chromosomes et dont la fonction est de les protéger pour éviter toute altération. D'autres études antérieures ont déjà montré qu'une longueur plus courte des télomères était associée à un risque accru de cancer, de maladies cardiovasculaires et d'autres pathologies de nature auto-immune ou neurodégénérative, en plus d'augmenter les risques de décès prématuré.

Une longueur plus courte des télomères est associée à un risque accru de cancer et d’autres pathologies, ainsi qu’à un décès prématuré.

Les scientifiques ont sélectionné et analysé des échantillons d'ADN de 90 personnes, dont 47 étaient en bonne santé et 43 étaient atteintes d'un trouble de stress post-traumatique. Ils ont observé qu'en général, les télomères des personnes touchées par le trouble étaient plus courts que ceux de l'autre groupe.

Ces données ont surpris les scientifiques car les sujets ayant participé à l'étude étaient en bonne santé et avaient en moyenne 30 ans.

Les chercheurs ont ensuite vérifié si les sujets avaient subi un traumatisme grave pendant leur enfance, violence au sein de la famille, abus physique ou mental, négligence dans leurs soins et abus sexuelet a constaté que les chances d'avoir des télomères plus courts augmentaient chez les patients présentant un stress post-traumatique en relation avec l'ampleur du traumatisme infantile qu'ils avaient subi, c'est-à-dire que plus ce traumatisme était grave, plus les télomères étaient courts. Cependant, chez les personnes souffrant de stress post-traumatique et dépourvues de traumatismes infantiles, la taille des télomères était similaire à celle des personnes en bonne santé.

L’étude est intéressante car, comme l’a expliqué le Dr Neylan Thomas, l’un de ses auteurs, elle pourrait montrer que le syndrome de stress post-traumatique a un effet cumulatif qui affecte les dimensions des télomères et permettra de mieux comprendre pourquoi le type de stress vieillit différemment.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Comment vieillit le pervers narcissique (Août 2019).