Patients affected by rheumatic diseases usually experience an improvement in their condition during the summer, thanks to the heat and the absence of sudden variations in atmospheric pressure that characterize this season. Among the most benefited by the arrival of the summer season are people who have osteoporosis as a result of a deficit of vitamin D, since an exposure to sunlight facilitates the synthesis of this vitamin so necessary for bones.

Dr. Jesus Tornero, head of the Rheumatology Service of the University Hospital of Guadalajara, explains that heat facilitates the treatment of inflammation -one of the main symptoms of this type of pathology-, and potentiates the analgesic effect of some therapies. And he adds that it also favors the dilation of blood vessels, which helps relieve back pain and improve muscle contractures.

Lack of travel mobility especially affects people with rheumatic diseases

However, ultraviolet rays can be harmful for other patients, such as those suffering from systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE), because in this case solar radiation can trigger an outbreak of the disease and photosensitive reactions that cause symptoms such as fever, rashes in the skin, inflammation and pain in the joints, fatigue ... These patients should not sunbathe and they have to apply creams with sun protection factor when going to be outdoors.

Recommendations for travel

The specialists of the Spanish Society of Rheumatology (SER) have disseminated some recommendations so that those affected by rheumatic diseases are more comfortable during the usual trips at this time, and to minimize the inconvenience that may cause them. The lack of mobility during hours is one of the main problems that arise in a trip, therefore, from the SER advise these patients to make stops (when the journey is by car or bus) to be able to walk and perform stretches and push-ups. In this way, blood circulation is facilitated and the formation of clots that could lead to venous thrombosis or pulmonary embolism is prevented.

Experts advise that you make stops for walking and doing stretches and push-ups

In air travel, you also have to take a series of precautions, which are summarized in comfortable and loose clothing, get up and walk every so often, drink liquid regularly to stay hydrated, and perform a series of exercises with your feet and legs. legs to promote blood circulation.

Dr. Tornero has taken the opportunity to remember the need for people with rheumatic diseases to practice physical exercise, key to tone muscles, provide stability to the joints, stimulate bone formation, avoid obesity and improve agility. Among the activities specially recommended, and that each patient must adapt to their age and physical condition, swimming, walks and articular gymnastics stand out.

More information: www.ser.es

 

Source: Spanish Society of Rheumatology (SER)

The Pain, Swelling And Stiffness of Rheumatoid Arthritis (November 2019).

Les patients atteints de maladies rhumatismales constatent généralement une amélioration de leur état de santé en été, grâce à la chaleur et à l'absence de variations brusques de la pression atmosphérique qui caractérisent cette saison. L’arrivée de la saison estivale compte parmi les personnes les plus touchées par le déficit en vitamine D, car l’exposition au soleil facilite la synthèse de cette vitamine indispensable aux os.

Le Dr Jesus Tornero, chef du service de rhumatologie de l'hôpital universitaire de Guadalajara, explique que la chaleur facilite le traitement de l'inflammation - l'un des principaux symptômes de ce type de pathologie - et potentialise l'effet analgésique de certaines thérapies. Et il ajoute que cela favorise également la dilatation des vaisseaux sanguins, ce qui aide à soulager les maux de dos et à améliorer les contractures musculaires.

Le manque de mobilité en déplacement affecte particulièrement les personnes souffrant de maladies rhumatismales

Toutefois, les rayons ultraviolets peuvent être nocifs pour d'autres patients, tels que ceux atteints de lupus érythémateux systémique (SLE), car dans ce cas, le rayonnement solaire peut déclencher une épidémie et des réactions photosensibles provoquant des symptômes tels que peau, inflammation et douleurs articulaires, fatigue ... Ces patients ne doivent pas bronzer et doivent appliquer des crèmes avec un facteur de protection solaire à l'extérieur.

Recommandations pour voyager

Les spécialistes de la Société espagnole de rhumatologie (SER) ont diffusé certaines recommandations afin que les personnes atteintes de maladies rhumatismales soient plus à l'aise lors des voyages habituels de cette période et pour réduire au minimum les inconvénients qui pourraient en résulter. Le manque de mobilité pendant les heures est l’un des principaux problèmes qui se posent lors d’un voyage. Par conséquent, le SER conseille à ces patients de faire des arrêts (en voiture ou en bus) pour pouvoir marcher et effectuer des étirements et des tractions. De cette manière, la circulation sanguine est facilitée et la formation de caillots pouvant entraîner une thrombose veineuse ou une embolie pulmonaire est évitée.

Les experts vous conseillent de faire des arrêts pour marcher, faire des étirements et des tractions

En voyage aérien, vous devez également prendre une série de précautions, résumées dans des vêtements confortables et amples, vous lever et marcher de temps en temps, boire régulièrement des liquides pour rester hydraté et effectuer une série d'exercices avec vos pieds et vos jambes. jambes pour favoriser la circulation sanguine.

Le Dr Tornero a saisi cette occasion pour rappeler la nécessité pour les personnes atteintes de maladies rhumatismales de faire de l’exercice physique, qui est essentiel pour tonifier les muscles, stabiliser les articulations, stimuler la formation osseuse, éviter l’obésité et améliorer l’agilité. Parmi les activités spécialement recommandées, et que chaque patient doit s’adapter à son âge et à sa condition physique, la nage, la marche et la gymnastique articulaire se démarquent.

Plus d'informations: www.ser.es

 

Source: Société espagnole de rhumatologie (SER)

Témoignage patient - Comment mieux vivre son rhumatisme psoriasique : petits conseils de patients (Août 2019).