Patients with fibromyalgia they present many more adverse effects to different drugs than other patients, although it is not known whether it is due to a symptom of the disease, for some psychological reason, or because of its central sensitization. In fact, it has been shown that "the number of dropouts due to adverse reactions in those affected with fibromyalgia treated with placebo it is double that in other pathologies ", according to a study carried out by Dr. Cayetano Alegre, of the Rheumatology Service of the Vall d'Hebrón University Hospital and the Dexeus University Institute, in Barcelona, ​​and which has been recently presented as oral communication in the EULAR Congress (European League against Rheumatic Diseases) 2011, held in London (United Kingdom).

A systematic review was made of the clinical trials that used placebo in order to explain the dropouts and the percentage of adverse effects in the three only drugs (Duloxetine, Milnacipran and Pregabalin) that have been approved by the North American Drug Agency to treat the fibromyalgia, but that are also indicated for other diseases.

In the opinion of the expert, "nocebo effect it is the harmful consequence of placebo (which is a comparative drug to another supposedly effective and that theoretically is harmless) in any clinical trial. In these studies there is always a percentage of patients who present benefits with this drug -placebo-, which can sometimes reach 34% of the population, but there is a group of patients who have adverse effects with placebo ".

Very prevalent nocebo effect

Specifically, clinical trials -of about ten weeks duration- were analyzed for the indication of fibromyalgia, anxiety, depression and neuropathic pain (DNP) separately. The average number of patients in the fibromyalgia group treated with placebo who dropped out due to adverse effects was 10.8%; while in the other entities it was 6.7% for the anxiety disorder, 4.4% for the depression and 4.5% for the DNP. Likewise, the mean number of patients with fibromyalgia treated with placebo who suffered at least one adverse effect was 77.4%.

The high percentage of nocebo effect in fibromyalgia could be associated with the presence of anxiety and / or depression in this syndrome

According to the research, the nocebo effect is very prevalent in fibromyalgia, similar to that of anxiety and depression, and significantly higher than that of DNP. "This fact suggests that the high percentage of this effect in fibromyalgia could be associated with the presence of anxiety or depression in this syndrome. The frequency of treatment discontinuations in the placebo groups due to adverse effects is much higher in fibromyalgia than in the other three pathologies, "the rheumatologist has confirmed.

In the opinion of Dr. Alegre, "possibly the presence of these side effects could be linked to the mood disorder that these patients present, to depression or anxiety. Although, the much higher number of dropouts in fibromyalgia makes us suspect a special sensitivity, possibly linked to the central sensitization they have ".

Source: Spanish Society of Rheumatology (SER)

The Fibromyalgia Seminar (November 2019).

Patients avec fibromyalgie ils présentent beaucoup plus d'effets indésirables de médicaments différents que les autres patients, bien que l'on ne sache pas si cela est dû à un symptôme de la maladie, pour une raison psychologique ou à cause de sa sensibilisation centrale. En fait, il a été démontré que "le nombre d'abandons du traitement en raison d'effets indésirables chez les patients atteints de fibromyalgie traités avec placebo c'est deux fois plus que dans d'autres pathologies ", selon une étude réalisée par le Dr Cayetano Alegre, du service de rhumatologie de l'hôpital universitaire Vall d'Hebrón et de l'institut universitaire Dexeus, à Barcelone, et récemment présentée communication orale dans le Congrès EULAR (Ligue européenne contre les maladies rhumatismales) 2011, tenue à Londres (Royaume-Uni).

Une revue systématique des essais cliniques utilisant le placebo a été réalisée afin d'expliquer les abandons et le pourcentage d'effets indésirables des trois seuls médicaments (Duloxétine, Milnacipran et Prégabaline) approuvés par la North American Drug Agency pour le traitement du médicament. fibromyalgie, mais qui sont également indiqués pour d'autres maladies.

De l'avis de l'expert, "effet nocebo c'est la conséquence néfaste du placebo (qui est un médicament comparatif à un autre supposé efficace et théoriquement inoffensif) dans tout essai clinique. Dans ces études, il y a toujours un pourcentage de patients présentant des bénéfices avec ce médicament - placebo -, qui peut parfois atteindre 34% de la population, mais un groupe de patients ayant des effets indésirables avec un placebo ".

Effet nocebo très répandu

Plus précisément, des essais cliniques d’une durée d’environ dix semaines ont été analysés pour l’indication de la fibromyalgie, de l’anxiété, de la dépression et de la douleur neuropathique (DNP) séparément. Le nombre moyen de patients du groupe fibromyalgie traités avec un placebo qui ont abandonné en raison d'effets indésirables était de 10,8%; dans les autres entités, il était de 6,7% pour le trouble anxieux, de 4,4% pour la dépression et de 4,5% pour le DNP. De même, le nombre moyen de patients atteints de fibromyalgie traités avec un placebo ayant subi au moins un effet indésirable était de 77,4%.

Le pourcentage élevé d'effet nocebo dans la fibromyalgie pourrait être associé à la présence d'anxiété et / ou de dépression dans ce syndrome.

Selon les recherches, l'effet nocebo est très répandu dans la fibromyalgie, semblable à celui de l'anxiété et de la dépression et nettement supérieur à celui de la DNP. "Ce fait suggère que le pourcentage élevé de cet effet dans la fibromyalgie pourrait être associé à la présence d'anxiété ou de dépression dans ce syndrome. La fréquence des arrêts de traitement dans les groupes placebo en raison d'effets indésirables est beaucoup plus élevée dans la fibromyalgie que dans les trois autres pathologies ", a confirmé le rhumatologue.

Selon le Dr Alegre, "la présence de ces effets indésirables pourrait éventuellement être liée au trouble de l'humeur présenté par ces patients, à la dépression ou à l'anxiété. Bien que le nombre beaucoup plus élevé d'abandons dans la fibromyalgie nous laisse supposer une sensibilité particulière, probablement liée à la sensibilisation centrale qu'ils ont ".

Source: Société espagnole de rhumatologie (SER)

Alain, 62 ans, atteint de fibromyalgie : "On me prenait pour un dépressif, un hypocondriaque" (Septembre 2019).