Researchers of the National Yang-Ming University from Taiwan, in China, say that mesenchymal stem cells obtained from umbilical cord blood can be a new therapeutic alternative for the treatment of lupus nephritis, one of the main complications of systemic lupus erythematosus.

The scientists conducted an investigation with mice, whose results are published in the latest issue of the journal Cell in Transplantation, in which it was demonstrated that these cells possess an immuno-modulating capacity that allows them to alleviate the immune response of the organism by inhibiting the inflammation and the immune response of the T cells.

The aim of the study was to analyze the therapeutic effects of this type of cells in the treatment of lupus nephritis and, to this end, the researchers used a model with mice to perform a transplant of cord blood cells, which had already demonstrated their effectiveness in the treatment of other diseases of the immune system.

Good results of stem cells against lupus

The main author of the study, Dr. Oscar K. Lee, explains that they have observed that this transplant achieves a significant delay in the deterioration of renal function, decreases the levels of certain antibodies, and relieves changes in renal pathology and development. of proteinuria, which is a sign of kidney damage.

In addition, Lee and his team were able to observe that there was a positive difference in the survival rates of the mice that were treated at two months of age, compared to those six-month-old rodents, which led them to think that a transplant early may be more effective.

The researchers also opted for the option of an allogeneic and non-autologous transplant (with cells from the same patient), in virtue of the therapeutic effects observed in this study.

"The ability of these cells to reduce inflammation shows that it is likely to be useful for the treatment of autoimmune diseases, and this study supports this reasoning," adds David Eva, associate editor of Cell in Transplantation.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Stella Kourembanas, MD: Mesenchymal Stem-Cell Derived Exosomes: “Next” Therapy for BPD? (November 2019).

Chercheurs du Université nationale Yang-Ming Taiwan, en Chine, indiquent que les cellules souches mésenchymateuses obtenues à partir de sang de cordon ombilical peuvent constituer une nouvelle alternative thérapeutique pour le traitement de néphrite lupique, une des principales complications du lupus érythémateux disséminé.

Les scientifiques ont mené une enquête sur des souris dont les résultats ont été publiés dans le dernier numéro de la revue. Cellule en transplantation, dans lequel il a été démontré que ces cellules possèdent une capacité immuno-modulatrice leur permettant d'atténuer la réponse immunitaire de l'organisme en inhibant l'inflammation et la réponse immunitaire des cellules T.

Le but de l'étude était d'analyser les effets thérapeutiques de ce type de cellules dans le traitement de la néphropathie lupique et, à cette fin, les chercheurs ont utilisé un modèle utilisant des souris pour effectuer une greffe de cellules de sang de cordon qui avaient déjà démontré leur efficacité. dans le traitement d'autres maladies du système immunitaire.

Bons résultats des cellules souches contre le lupus

Le principal auteur de l'étude, le Dr Oscar K. Lee, explique qu'ils ont observé que cette greffe retarde considérablement la détérioration de la fonction rénale, diminue les taux de certains anticorps et atténue les modifications de la pathologie et du développement rénaux. de protéinurie, qui est un signe de dommages aux reins.

En outre, Lee et son équipe ont pu constater une différence positive entre les taux de survie des souris traitées à l'âge de deux mois et celles de ces rongeurs âgés de six mois, ce qui les a amenés à penser qu'une greffe tôt peut être plus efficace.

Les chercheurs ont également opté pour l'option d'une greffe allogénique et non autologue (avec des cellules du même patient), en vertu des effets thérapeutiques observés dans cette étude.

"La capacité de ces cellules à réduire l'inflammation montre qu'il est probablement utile pour le traitement des maladies auto-immunes, et cette étude confirme ce raisonnement", ajoute David Eva, rédacteur en chef adjoint de Cell in Transplantation.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Vivre 200 ans grâce aux cellules souches et ressusciter des personnes en état de mort cérébrale ? (Août 2019).