According to experts in this field, the retina will probably be the first organ that can be reproduced successfully in a laboratory using embryonic stem cells. To support this hypothesis, scientists from the University of Kobe, in Japan, got more than a year ago to generate, in vitro, optical cups -which are the embryonic structures from which the retina develops-, using embryonic stem cells obtained from mice. Now, this group of researchers, led by Yoshiri Sasai, has repeated the procedure, but this time using human cells.

The specialists indicate that it is the first time that a reproduction of the tissues of the retina is obtained so similar to the original one

Sasai's team has obtained an almost perfect optical cup model, in which the proportion of cells is very similar to that found in the eye of humans. When the experiment was performed with mouse cells, the structure obtained was smaller, but when culturing human cells the result has been significantly improved. The specialists point out that it is the first time that a reproduction of the tissues of the retina is obtained so similar to the original one.

Although new studies are necessary, the success of the experiment allows the experts to be optimistic about the possibilities of using stem cells in the clinical field in the near future, to treat degenerative diseases of the retina such as retinitis pigmentosa, caused by a progressive deterioration of the photoreceptors.

Sasai has explained that the new tissue could also be used to develop models of diseases in which to study the pathogenesis and investigate with new treatments.

2018 Demystifying Medicine: Use of induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSC) for regenerative medicine (November 2019).

Selon les experts dans ce domaine, la rétine sera probablement le premier organe pouvant être reproduit avec succès dans un laboratoire utilisant des cellules souches embryonnaires. Pour étayer cette hypothèse, des scientifiques de l’Université de Kobe, au Japon, ont eu il ya plus d’un an pour générer, in vitro, cupules optiques - qui sont les structures embryonnaires à partir desquelles la rétine se développe -, utilisant des cellules souches embryonnaires obtenues à partir de souris. Maintenant, ce groupe de chercheurs, dirigé par Yoshiri Sasai, a répété la procédure, mais cette fois en utilisant des cellules humaines.

Les spécialistes indiquent que c’est la première fois que l’on obtient une reproduction des tissus de la rétine aussi semblable à celle d’origine.

L'équipe de Sasai a obtenu un modèle de cupule optique presque parfait, dans lequel la proportion de cellules est très similaire à celle trouvée dans l'œil humain. Lorsque l'expérience a été réalisée avec des cellules de souris, la structure obtenue était plus petite mais, lors de la culture de cellules humaines, les résultats ont été considérablement améliorés. Les spécialistes soulignent que c’est la première fois que l’on obtient une reproduction des tissus de la rétine aussi semblable à celle de l’originale.

Bien que de nouvelles études soient nécessaires, le succès de l’expérience permet aux experts d’être optimistes quant aux possibilités d’utiliser des cellules souches dans le domaine clinique dans un proche avenir rétinite pigmentaire, provoquée par une détérioration progressive des photorécepteurs.

Sasai a expliqué que le nouveau tissu pourrait également être utilisé pour développer des modèles de maladies dans lesquels étudier la pathogenèse et étudier de nouveaux traitements.

[BioTCom] 14 : information génétique et grosses peluches (Août 2019).