A residue called bagasse that is generated during the production process of beer It has been used by researchers from the Polytechnic University of Madrid (UPM) and the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) to develop biocompatible materials to regenerate bones.

Like the bones, the residues of beer production contain phosphorus, silica and magnesium, and after being modified can be used as supports or matrices to cover prostheses, bone grafts, and even dental implants.

Researchers have proven that bone cells can adhere to these new biocompatible materials to grow and proliferate, reaching the same maturity as when they do on synthetic materials.

Researchers have used the bagasse, which is obtained between 17 and 23 kilos per hectoliter of beer that is made, and which is used to make feed for livestock, and have applied various treatments to get a material rich in phosphorus, silicon, calcium and magnesium, whose porosity is similar to that of cancellous bone, which would facilitate adequate vascularization after implantation.

These experts have also analyzed the materials they have developed to check that they are biocompatible, and that the osteoblasts - the bone cells- can adhere to them to grow and proliferate, reaching the same maturity as when they do on synthetic materials that are normally used to replace bone.

The new biocompatible materials could be an alternative to the synthetic materials that are now used in the treatment of bone disorders, and have the advantage that their manufacture is less expensive and less aggressive for the environment.

Why Sea Cucumbers Are Dangerous (November 2019).

Un résidu appelé bagasse qui est généré au cours du processus de production de la bière Des chercheurs de l'Université polytechnique de Madrid (UPM) et du Conseil supérieur de la recherche scientifique (CSIC) l'ont utilisé pour développer des matériaux biocompatibles destinés à la régénération des os.

Comme les os, les résidus de la production de bière contiennent du phosphore, de la silice et du magnésium. Après modification, ils peuvent être utilisés comme supports ou matrices pour couvrir les prothèses, les greffes osseuses et même les implants dentaires.

Les chercheurs ont prouvé que les cellules osseuses pouvaient adhérer à ces nouveaux matériaux biocompatibles pour croître et proliférer, atteignant la même maturité que celles obtenues sur des matériaux synthétiques.

Les chercheurs ont utilisé la bagasse, obtenue entre 17 et 23 kilos par hectolitre de bière fabriquée, destinée à la fabrication d'aliments pour le bétail, et ont appliqué divers traitements pour obtenir un matériau riche en phosphore, silicium, calcium et magnésium, dont la porosité est similaire à celle de l'os spongieux, ce qui faciliterait une vascularisation adéquate après l'implantation.

Ces experts ont également analysé les matériaux qu’ils ont développés pour vérifier leur biocompatibilité et le fait que les ostéoblastes - la cellules osseuses- peuvent y adhérer pour croître et proliférer, atteignant la même maturité que sur des matériaux synthétiques normalement utilisés pour remplacer les os.

Les nouveaux matériaux biocompatibles pourraient constituer une alternative aux matériaux synthétiques actuellement utilisés dans le traitement des troubles osseux et présenter l'avantage que leur fabrication est moins coûteuse et moins agressive pour l'environnement.

Vortrag Basisches Wasser | Karl Heinz Asenbaum | alle bis 2014 bekannten Fakten (Août 2019).