A gene therapy, whose objective is to combat the deterioration of the organism that occurs as a result of the aging, has offered good results when it has been tested in mice, since it has managed to prolong the life of these animals up to 24%. The research, which has been published in 'EMBO Molecular Medicine', has been carried out by Spanish scientists from the National Center for Oncological Research (CNIO).

The new therapy is based on a technique that had not been previously tested, and that acts directly on the genes, getting the cells to express telomerase, an enzyme that is responsible for maintaining the length of the telomeres (the ends of the chromosomes) when the cells divide.

Previous studies have already proven that aging and its associated damage accelerates when the telomeres are reduced below a minimum length and, because of this, a series of genetic alterations that result in a decrease in the activity of the cells, which eventually lose their ability to divide and age or die, so the body's tissues stop regenerating. Telomerase has the property of stopping the shortening of telomeres and even of rebuilding them.

The health of the animals improved significantly, and it was observed that the development of conditions associated with aging such as insulin resistance and osteoporosis was delayed

The CNIO researchers introduced a virus in mice that had previously modified the DNA, replacing it with the enzyme telomerase, and the virus - which is derived from others that are not pathogenic in humans and is considered very safe - was responsible for transporting the telomerase gene to the cells. The health of the animals improved significantly and it was observed that the development of conditions associated with aging such as insulin resistance -One of the main risk factors for the development of metabolic syndrome and diabetes- and osteoporosis.

In the youngest mice, to which the treatment was applied when they turned one year of age, their longevity was increased by 24%, while those who were two years old when receiving the therapy came to live 13% more than normal. The authors of the study have also highlighted that none of the animals in the experiment developed cancer, a risk associated with telomerase-based therapies, and attribute it to the fact that the treatment is administered to adult mice, in which there is no time to that enough alterations accumulate for tumors to develop.

If its safety in humans is proven, this therapy, which is administered only once, could serve, according to its discoverers, to develop new treatments against diseases associated with the presence of excessively short telomeres, and all those that are a consequence of the aging of the cells, such as cardiovascular disorders or insulin resistance, whose incidence increases markedly with age.

Why Hormone Testosterone Replacement therapy HRT is the true Fountain Of Youth and Anti Aging (November 2019).

Une thérapie génique dont l’objectif est de lutter contre la détérioration de l’organisme résultant de la vieillissement, a donné de bons résultats lorsqu’il a été testé sur des souris, car il a réussi à prolonger la vie de ces animaux jusqu’à 24%. La recherche, publiée dans «EMBO Molecular Medicine», a été réalisée par des scientifiques espagnols du Centre national de recherche oncologique (CNIO).

La nouvelle thérapie est basée sur une technique qui n’avait pas encore été testée et qui agit directement sur les gènes, ce qui amène les cellules à exprimer télomérase, enzyme responsable du maintien de la longueur des télomères (extrémités des chromosomes) lors de la division cellulaire.

Des études antérieures ont déjà montré que le vieillissement et les dommages qui lui sont associés s’accélèrent lorsque les télomères sont réduits à une longueur minimale, ce qui entraîne une série de modifications génétiques entraînant une diminution de les cellules, qui finissent par perdre leur capacité à se diviser et vieillir ou à mourir, de sorte que les tissus du corps cessent de se régénérer. La télomérase a la propriété d’arrêter le raccourcissement des télomères et même de les reconstruire.

La santé des animaux s’est nettement améliorée et il a été observé que le développement de conditions associées au vieillissement, telles que la résistance à l’insuline et l’ostéoporose, était retardé.

Les chercheurs du CNIO ont introduit un virus chez des souris qui avaient précédemment modifié l'ADN, en le remplaçant par l'enzyme télomérase, et le virus - dérivé d'autres virus non pathogènes chez l'homme et considéré comme très sûr - était responsable du transport. le gène de la télomérase aux cellules. La santé des animaux s’est nettement améliorée et il a été observé que le développement de conditions associées au vieillissement telles que résistance à l'insuline L'un des principaux facteurs de risque de développement du syndrome métabolique et du diabète et de l'ostéoporose.

Chez les souris les plus jeunes, auxquelles le traitement a été appliqué à l'âge d'un an, leur longévité a été augmentée de 24%, tandis que celles qui avaient deux ans au moment du traitement ont vécu 13% de plus que la normale. Les auteurs de l’étude ont également souligné qu’aucun des animaux de l’expérience ne développaient un cancer, un risque associé aux thérapies à base de télomérase, et l’attribuaient au fait que le traitement était administré à des souris adultes, sans délai que suffisamment d’altérations s’accumulent pour que les tumeurs se développent.

Si son innocuité chez l’homme est prouvée, cette thérapie, administrée une seule fois, pourrait servir, selon ses découvreurs, à mettre au point de nouveaux traitements contre les maladies associées à la présence de télomères excessivement courts et à tous ceux résultant du vieillissement de la peau. les cellules, telles que les troubles cardiovasculaires ou la résistance à l'insuline, dont l'incidence augmente nettement avec l'âge.

My lift - Démonstration (Août 2019).