Experts estimate that in Spain, between three and five new cases of each of the types of leukemia per 100,000 inhabitants are detected every year. Leukemia is a rare cancer that attacks the cells of the bone marrow, turning them cancerous, and these abnormal cells spread through the blood and can invade other organs.

In our country we still do not have a national registry where the data of all the patients affected by this pathology are consigned, and each hospital has its own. That is why hematologists demand the creation of a single registry, as well as those that work in countries such as Canada or Sweden, and that research is encouraged on this disease, facilitating patients access to new treatments, without establishing restrictions for economic reasons.

There have been great advances in the treatment of leukemia, such as new targeted therapies, which fight cancer cells without causing damage to healthy tissues

The causes that cause the appearance of leukemia are unknown, although there are factors that increase the risk of developing the disease, such as exposure to radiation and certain toxins and drugs, depression of the immune system or certain genetic disorders. In the case of acute leukemias, the disease progresses rapidly and treatment must be instituted as soon as possible; In fact, the acute myeloblastic leukemia it has a very bad prognosis, especially in older patients, although when it comes to young adults, healing is achieved in approximately half of the cases. At the other extreme, the acute lymphoblastic leukemia -The most common in children-, can be cured with adequate treatment in more than 80 percent of patients.

When the disease reappears after being treated with medications, or the chances of curing it using only chemotherapy are less than 40 percent, it is indicated transplant of bone marrow, explains Dr. Jordi Sierra, of the Spanish Society of Hematology and Hemotherapy (SEHH) and head of the Hematology Service of the Hospital de la Santa Creu and Sant Pau in Barcelona. In order to carry out this intervention, a compatible donor is used - one that is searched among relatives or in donor databases, if no family member is compatible - or the patient's own stem cells are used.

Dr. Serra notes that there have been great advances in the treatment of leukemia, especially new targeted therapies that fight cancer cells without causing injury to healthy tissues, and stresses that in the case of people affected by chronic myeloid leukemia, it is possible to control the disease in the long term in more than 85 percent of the cases, and that they have also significantly improved the techniques of transplantation.

Source: Spanish Society of Hematology and Hemotherapy (SEHH)

Is it worth storing your baby's cord blood? - The Fifth Estate (November 2019).

Les experts estiment qu’en Espagne, entre trois et cinq nouveaux cas de chacun des types de leucémie pour 100 000 habitants sont détectés chaque année. La leucémie est un cancer rare qui attaque les cellules de la moelle osseuse, les transformant en cancer, et ces cellules anormales se propagent dans le sang et peuvent envahir d'autres organes.

Dans notre pays, nous n'avons toujours pas de registre national dans lequel sont consignées les données de tous les patients affectés par cette pathologie, et chaque hôpital possède le sien. C’est pourquoi les hématologues exigent la création d’un registre unique, ainsi que ceux fonctionnant dans des pays comme le Canada ou la Suède, et encouragent la recherche sur cette maladie, facilitant l’accès des patients à de nouveaux traitements, sans établir restrictions pour des raisons économiques.

De grands progrès ont été réalisés dans le traitement de la leucémie, tels que de nouveaux traitements ciblés, qui combattent les cellules cancéreuses sans endommager les tissus sains.

Les causes de l'apparition de la leucémie ne sont pas connues, bien qu'il existe des facteurs qui augmentent le risque de développer la maladie, tels que l'exposition aux radiations et à certaines toxines et médicaments, la dépression du système immunitaire ou certaines maladies génétiques. Dans le cas des leucémies aiguës, la maladie évolue rapidement et un traitement doit être instauré dans les meilleurs délais; en fait, le leucémie myéloblastique aiguë le pronostic est très sombre, en particulier chez les patients âgés, bien que chez les jeunes adultes, la guérison soit réalisée dans environ la moitié des cas. À l'autre extrême, le leucémie lymphoblastique aiguë Le traitement le plus courant chez les enfants peut être guéri avec un traitement adéquat chez plus de 80% des patients.

Lorsque la maladie réapparaît après un traitement médicamenteux ou que les chances de la guérir par la chimiothérapie seule sont inférieures à 40%, il est indiqué greffe de la moelle osseuse, explique le Dr Jordi Sierra, de la Société espagnole d'hématologie et d'hémothérapie (SEHH) et responsable du service d'hématologie de l'hôpital de la Santa Creu et de Sant Pau à Barcelone. Pour effectuer cette intervention, un donneur compatible est utilisé - un donneur d'ordre parmi les proches ou dans les bases de données du donneur, si aucun membre de la famille n'est compatible - ou les propres cellules souches du patient sont utilisées.

Le Dr Serra note que de grands progrès ont été réalisés dans le traitement de la leucémie, en particulier de nouvelles thérapies ciblées qui combattent les cellules cancéreuses sans léser les tissus sains, et souligne que, dans le cas des personnes atteintes de leucémie myéloïde chronique, il est possible de contrôler la maladie à long terme dans plus de 85% des cas et d’avoir considérablement amélioré les techniques de transplantation.

Source: Société espagnole d'hématologie et d'hémothérapie (SEHH)

Suspense: 100 in the Dark / Lord of the Witch Doctors / Devil in the Summer House (Août 2019).