A fetus that suffered a severe obstruction of the aortic valve, which endangered his life, has been operated while he was still in the womb by doctors from Hospital Clínic and Sant Joan de Déu in Barcelona.

One of every 5,000 fetuses suffers a pathology of this type, which usually causes the death of the fetus or, in the event that it survives birth, involves numerous health complications for the baby and significantly reduces their life expectancy.

In this case, the fetus, of 26 weeks of gestation, suffered a aortic stenosis criticism-detected thanks to an ultrasound-that prevented the left ventricle of his heart from developing properly.

The intervention -the first of these characteristics carried out in Catalonia- consisted in practicing a catheterization of the fetus inside the mother's womb, and in order to perform it the specialists previously anesthetized the fetus and placed it in an appropriate position, and went through the abdominal wall. from the mother with a needle until reaching the patient's heart. The specialist then introduced a catheter with a balloon that swelled in the area of ​​the aortic valve that was obstructed, thus managing to eliminate the obstruction, allowing the left ventricle to develop without problems during pregnancy, and avoiding the atrophy that would have occurred. suffered the heart if the problem had not been solved.

Thanks to the intervention, the child has two well developed ventricles, and although he suffers from a disease that needs to be controlled, his prognosis is favorable, and his quality of life similar to that of the healthy population

José Caffarena, director of the heart area of ​​the Hospital de Sant Joan de Déu, explained that had the procedure not been performed, the baby would have been born with a left ventricle that was almost useless, which would have caused a very serious pathology, while now the The child has two well developed ventricles, and although he suffers from a disease that must be controlled, his prognosis is favorable and his quality of life is similar to that of the healthy population.

This breakthrough in surgery has saved lives and improved the health of the fetuses that have this condition, since only a few years ago a fetus with a severe aortic valve obstruction could not be operated on, and the parents only had the alternative to abort or face a very unfavorable prognosis, since the newborn would have numerous sequelae and a poor quality of life, in addition to a high risk of dying from the cardiovascular disorder and its associated complications.

Female Foley Catheter Insertion (November 2019).

Un fœtus qui a subi une grave obstruction de la valve aortique, qui a mis sa vie en danger, a été opéré alors qu'il était encore dans l'utérus par des médecins de l'Hôpital Clínic et de Sant Joan de Déu à Barcelone.

Un fœtus sur 5 000 présente une pathologie de ce type, qui entraîne généralement la mort du fœtus ou, dans le cas où il survit à la naissance, entraîne de nombreuses complications pour la santé du bébé et réduit considérablement son espérance de vie.

Dans ce cas, le fœtus, âgé de 26 semaines de gestation, a subi une sténose aortique critique - détectée grâce à une échographie - qui empêchait le ventricule gauche de son cœur de se développer correctement.

L’intervention - la première de ces caractéristiques réalisée en Catalogne - a consisté à pratiquer un cathétérisme du fœtus à l’intérieur du ventre de la mère et, pour le réaliser, des spécialistes ont préalablement anesthésié le fœtus, l’ont placé dans une position appropriée et traversé la paroi abdominale. de la mère avec une aiguille jusqu'à atteindre le coeur du patient. Le spécialiste a ensuite introduit un cathéter avec un ballonnet gonflé dans la région obstruée de la valve aortique, parvenant ainsi à éliminer l'obstruction, permettant ainsi au ventricule gauche de se développer sans problème pendant la grossesse et évitant l'atrophie qui aurait pu se produire. souffert le coeur si le problème n'avait pas été résolu.

Grâce à l'intervention, l'enfant a deux ventricules bien développés et, bien qu'il souffre d'une maladie à contrôler, son pronostic est favorable et sa qualité de vie similaire à celle d'une population en bonne santé.

José Caffarena, directeur du centre cardiaque de l'hôpital de Sant Joan de Déu, a expliqué que si la procédure n'avait pas été réalisée, le bébé serait né avec un ventricule gauche presque inutile, ce qui aurait provoqué une pathologie très grave, alors que maintenant L'enfant a deux ventricules bien développés et, bien qu'il souffre d'une maladie à contrôler, son pronostic est favorable et sa qualité de vie est similaire à celle d'une population en bonne santé.

Cette avancée chirurgicale a permis de sauver des vies et d’améliorer la santé des fœtus atteints de cette affection. En effet, il n’ya que quelques années, un fœtus souffrant d’une obstruction grave de la valve aortique ne pouvait plus être opéré et les parents n’avaient que le alternative à avorter ou à faire face à un pronostic très défavorable, car le nouveau-né aurait de nombreuses séquelles et une qualité de vie médiocre, en plus d’un risque élevé de mourir du trouble cardiovasculaire et de ses complications associées.

Technique De L'Hystérosalpingographie (Août 2019).