The team of the Italian professor Paolo Macchiarini has realized in the Karolinska University Hospital (Stockholm, Sweden) the first transplant of a synthetic organ of the world. The surgeons have implanted a man of 36 years of age and African origin a artificial trachea created by British scientists, which was then covered with stem cells from the patient himself, who, one month after the operation, is in good health and recovering successfully.

The technique used to perform the intervention does not need a donor and lacks the risk of rejection. The surgeons emphasize that a trachea can be manufactured in a few days. Macchiarini is responsible for another ten trachea transplants, the most important of which was the first transplant of tracheal tissue modified in 2008, to a Spanish woman of 30 years. However, both this transplant and the previous ones required a donor.

The technique used to perform the intervention does not need a donor and lacks the risk of rejection

The key to this last technique is to design a structure or 'scaffold' that is an exact replica of the patient's trachea, eliminating the need for an organ donor. To achieve this, the surgeon counted on the collaboration of British experts, who carried out a 3D scan of the patient and, using these images, the scientists of the University College London They were able to make a perfect copy of their trachea and bronchi. The artificial trachea was sent to Sweden and covered in a solution of mother cells extracted from the patient's spinal cord.

In two days, the millions of holes in the porous trachea were 'sown' with the patient's own tissues, and Dr. Alex Seifalian's team used this fragile structure to create a substitute for the patient, whose own trachea had a tumor that you could not operate.

No delays or rejection

Despite aggressive chemotherapy and radiation therapy, the cancer had grown to the size of a golf ball and was making it difficult for the patient to breathe, without a transplant he risked dying. During the 12 hours of operation, Macchiarini removed the entire tumor and replaced the diseased trachea with a customized replica. The cells of the spinal cord and the coating cells taken from his nose, which were also implanted during the operation, were able to divide and grow, converting the inert 'scaffold' shaped like a trachea into an organ identical to a normal one and healthy.

The patient's body accepts this synthetic organ as if it were his, so he will not need to take the drugs to avoid the rejection that other transplant patients have to take. For Professor Macchiarini, this is the real breakthrough. "Thanks to the nanotechnology, this new branch of Regenerative Medicine, we are now able to produce a tailor-made trachea in two days or a week, "he explains. "This is a synthetic trachea. The beauty of this is that you can have it immediately. There are no delays. This technique does not depend on the existence of a donation, "adds the expert, who points out that other organs could be repaired or replaced in the same way.

Now we have to wait if the synthetic trachea will work well in the transplant in the medium-long term.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

World first 3D printing used in life-changing kidney transplant (November 2019).

L'équipe du professeur italien Paolo Macchiarini a réalisé à l'Hôpital universitaire Karolinska (Stockholm, Suède) la première greffe d'un organe synthétique du monde. Les chirurgiens ont implanté un homme de 36 ans d'origine africaine trachée artificielle créé par des scientifiques britanniques, qui a ensuite été recouvert de cellules souches du patient lui-même, qui, un mois après l'opération, est en bonne santé et se rétablit avec succès.

La technique utilisée pour réaliser l'intervention n'a pas besoin de donneur et ne présente pas de risque de rejet. Les chirurgiens soulignent qu'une trachée peut être fabriquée en quelques jours. Macchiarini est responsable de dix autres greffes de trachée, dont la plus importante est la première greffe de tissu trachéal modifiée en 2008 à une femme espagnole de 30 ans. Cependant, à la fois cette greffe et les précédentes ont nécessité un donneur.

La technique utilisée pour réaliser l'intervention n'a pas besoin de donneur et ne présente pas de risque de rejet

La clé de cette dernière technique consiste à concevoir une structure ou un «échafaudage» qui soit une réplique exacte de la trachée du patient, éliminant ainsi le besoin d'un donneur d'organes. Pour y parvenir, le chirurgien s’est appuyé sur la collaboration d’experts britanniques, qui ont réalisé un scan 3D du patient et, à partir de ces images, les scientifiques du University College London Ils ont pu faire une copie parfaite de leur trachée et de leurs bronches. La trachée artificielle a été envoyée en Suède et couverte dans une solution de cellules mères extrait de la moelle épinière du patient.

En deux jours, des millions de trous dans la trachée poreuse ont été ensemencés avec les propres tissus du patient. L'équipe du Dr Alex Seifalian a utilisé cette structure fragile pour créer un substitut pour le patient, dont la trachée avait une tumeur. que vous ne pouviez pas opérer.

Aucun retard ou rejet

En dépit d'une chimiothérapie agressive et d'une radiothérapie, le cancer avait atteint la taille d'une balle de golf et rendait la respiration difficile pour le patient. Sans greffe, il risquait de mourir. Pendant les 12 heures d'opération, Macchiarini a retiré la totalité de la tumeur et a remplacé la trachée malade par une réplique personnalisée. Les cellules de la moelle épinière et les cellules de revêtement prélevées dans son nez, qui ont également été implantées au cours de l'opération, ont été capables de se diviser et de croître, transformant le "support" en forme de trachée en un organe identique à celui d'origine et en bonne santé

Le corps du patient accepte cet organe synthétique comme s'il s'agissait du sien. Il n'aura donc pas besoin de prendre ce médicament pour éviter le rejet que doivent subir les autres patients transplantés. Pour le professeur Macchiarini, c’est là la véritable avancée. "Merci au nanotechnologie, cette nouvelle branche de la médecine régénérative, nous sommes maintenant en mesure de produire une trachée sur mesure en deux jours ou une semaine ", explique-t-il. "Ceci est une trachée synthétique. La beauté de ceci est que vous pouvez l'avoir immédiatement. Il n'y a pas de retard. Cette technique ne dépend pas de l’existence d’un don ", ajoute l’expert, qui souligne que d’autres organes pourraient être réparés ou remplacés de la même manière.

Nous devons maintenant attendre si la trachée synthétique fonctionnera bien à moyen-long terme lors de la greffe.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Après une greffe du coeur, son caractère a changé (Août 2019).