In the United States, a team of scientists has developed a new method to cure chronic wounds in patients with diabetes, using larvae from Lucilia sericata - common greenfly - that secrete substances that have the ability to clean the wound, fluidize the dead tissue, and promote the development of granulated tissue, a type of connective tissue that is formed during the healing of wounds.

To get these wounds healed, doctors usually remove the infected or dead tissue with a scalpel or enzymes, but this often does not give the expected result and patients are at risk of losing their limbs. However, as explained by Lawrence Eron of Kaiser Hospital and the University of Hawaii in Honolulu, and one of the leading researchers, the therapy with worms It is very effective because after a single treatment the wounds look better.

The study involved 37 diabetic patients with a type of arterial disease which hinders blood circulation in the extremities, and which also had rebellious wounds, in some cases up to five years old.

The researchers placed between 50 and 100 larvae of the flyLucilia sericata -Which had previously been encased in a device similar to a mesh and sealed to prevent them from coming out- on the wounds of these patients, and let them act for two days, at which time they placed new worms, repeating this process an average of five times.

In twenty-one of the patients the infection was eradicated, the dead tissue was completely eliminated, strong connective tissue was formed in the wound, and the lesion was closed in more than three quarters.

Good results were obtained with twenty-one of the patients, in which the infection was eradicated, the dead tissue was completely eliminated, strong connective tissue was formed in the wound, and the lesion was closed in more than three quarters.

In fact, five wounds that were infected with the 'superbug' MRSA were successfully cured by treatment with larvae. Of the nine wounds infected with another bacterium called SASM, six were cured. And the 10 cases that had infection by group B streptococcus They were also treated effectively.

The therapy, however, did not work for some patients; among them, one had excessive inflammation around the wound, two were bleeding too much, and three had problems with infected bones.

Eron has stated that the treatment with larvae is the first step of the healing process, and that subsequently the wound must be treated with hydrogels, grafts of cultivated cell tissue, or clothing under negative pressure. But before such treatments can be used effectively, the wound must be cleaned, the dead tissue removed, and grainy tissue formed in the wound, and this process is contributed by the worms.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

How Maggots Can Affect Wound Healing (November 2019).

Aux États-Unis, une équipe de scientifiques a mis au point une nouvelle méthode de traitement des plaies chroniques chez les patients diabétiques, à l'aide de larves de Lucilia sericata - les pucerons communs - qui sécrètent des substances capables de nettoyer la plaie, de fluidifier le tissu mort et favorisent le développement de tissu granulé, un type de tissu conjonctif formé lors de la cicatrisation de la plaie.

Pour que ces blessures soient guéries, les médecins prélèvent généralement le tissu infecté ou mort avec un scalpel ou des enzymes, mais cela ne donne souvent pas le résultat escompté et les patients risquent de perdre leurs membres. Cependant, comme l'expliquent Lawrence Eron de l'hôpital Kaiser et le Université d'Hawaï à Honolulu, et l’un des principaux chercheurs, le thérapie avec des vers Il est très efficace car après un seul traitement, les plaies ont une meilleure apparence.

L’étude portait sur 37 patients diabétiques présentant un type de maladie artérielle qui empêche la circulation du sang dans les extrémités et qui avait aussi des blessures rebelles, dans certains cas jusqu’à cinq ans.

Les chercheurs ont placé entre 50 et 100 larves de la moucheLucilia sericata -Qui avait auparavant été enfermé dans un dispositif semblable à un filet et scellé pour l'empêcher de se former sur les plaies de ces patients, et les a laissé agir pendant deux jours, moment au cours duquel ils ont placé de nouveaux vers, en répétant ce processus en moyenne cinq fois

Chez 21 des patients, l'infection a été éradiquée, le tissu mort a été complètement éliminé, un tissu conjonctif fort s'est formé dans la plaie et la lésion a été fermée plus de trois quarts.

De bons résultats ont été obtenus avec vingt-et-un des patients. L'infection a été éradiquée, le tissu mort a été complètement éliminé, un tissu conjonctif fort s'est formé dans la plaie et la lésion a été fermée plus de trois quarts.

En fait, cinq plaies infectées par le SARM «superbactérie» ont été guéries avec succès par un traitement à base de larves. Sur les neuf plaies infectées par une autre bactérie appelée SASM, six ont été guéries. Et les 10 cas d'infection par streptocoque du groupe B Ils ont également été traités efficacement.

La thérapie n'a toutefois pas fonctionné chez certains patients; parmi eux, un avait une inflammation excessive autour de la plaie, deux saignaient trop et trois avaient des problèmes d'os infectés.

Eron a déclaré que le traitement aux larves constituait la première étape du processus de guérison et que la plaie devait ensuite être traitée à l'aide d'hydrogels, de greffes de tissu cellulaire cultivé ou de vêtements sous pression négative. Mais avant que de tels traitements puissent être utilisés efficacement, la plaie doit être nettoyée, le tissu mort enlevé et le tissu granuleux formé dans la plaie, et ce processus est contribué par les vers.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

fini l'irritation entre les cuisses en été (Août 2019).