Huntington's disease (HD) is a neurodegenerative and deadly pathology caused by the mutations of a gene - huntingtin - that results in the destruction of neurons in an area of ​​the brain. It is characterized by cognitive alterations, which in advanced stages of the disease lead to dementia, and by involuntary movements of the extremities.

So far this disease has no cure, and the drugs used in the treatment of Huntington are aimed at alleviating the symptoms suffered by patients and thus improve their quality of life. But the research continues, and a study conducted in the United States, which has just been published in the journal 'Neuron' has tested a new therapy in mouse models and primates of this pathology that, in the short term, has brought benefits.

The motor function of the animals submitted to the therapy improved after one month, reaching a normal activity within two months

The authors of the work were able to decrease the levels of mutant huntingtin in all areas of the brain, in several mouse models and non-human primates of HD, something that had not been previously achieved.

The motor function of the animals submitted to the therapy improved after one month, reaching normal activity within two months. The psychiatric and motor improvements were maintained for nine months after treatment. In addition, they also managed to block brain atrophy and increase the life expectancy of mice suffering from a severe form of the disease.

According to the lead author of the research, Don Cleveland, from the University of California (San Diego), the finding may help to develop a new treatment for people affected by Huntington or any other neurodegenerative pathology that has a known genetic cause.

BREAKING cure for Huntington's disease could be in the pipelineHas a groundbreaking drug trial (November 2019).

La maladie de Huntington (HD) est une pathologie neurodégénérative et mortelle causée par les mutations d'un gène - la huntingtine - qui entraîne la destruction des neurones dans une zone du cerveau. Elle se caractérise par des altérations cognitives qui, à des stades avancés de la maladie, conduisent à la démence et par des mouvements involontaires des extrémités.

Jusqu'à présent, cette maladie est incurable et les médicaments utilisés dans le traitement de Huntington visent à soulager les symptômes dont souffrent les patients et à améliorer ainsi leur qualité de vie. Mais les recherches se poursuivent et une étude menée aux États-Unis, qui vient de paraître dans la revue 'Neuron', a testé une nouvelle thérapie chez les modèles murins et chez les primates de cette pathologie qui, à court terme, a porté ses fruits.

La fonction motrice des animaux soumis à la thérapie s'est améliorée après un mois et a atteint une activité normale en deux mois.

Les auteurs du travail ont été en mesure de réduire les niveaux de huntingtine mutante dans toutes les zones du cerveau, dans plusieurs modèles de souris et de primates non humains atteints de MH, ce qui n'avait pas été réalisé auparavant.

La fonction motrice des animaux soumis à la thérapie s'est améliorée après un mois, pour retrouver une activité normale en deux mois. Les améliorations psychiatriques et motrices ont été maintenues pendant neuf mois après le traitement. En outre, ils ont également réussi à bloquer l'atrophie cérébrale et à augmenter l'espérance de vie des souris souffrant d'une forme grave de la maladie.

Selon l'auteur principal de la recherche, Don Cleveland, de l'Université de Californie (San Diego), cette découverte pourrait aider à mettre au point un nouveau traitement pour les personnes atteintes de Huntington ou de toute autre pathologie neurodégénérative ayant une cause génétique connue.

Santé :espoir pour les malades de la myopathie de Duchenne (Août 2019).