Preeclampsia is a complication of pregnancy that consists of the fact that the pregnant woman suffers from two conditions at the same time: hypertension and proteinuria (proteins in the urine), which are signs that indicate that the woman's arterial system presents some problem and that, if not controlled and treated, can trigger dangerous conditions for the health of the future mother and the developing fetus.

A group of scientists from the Renal Disease Research Network (REDinREN), the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) and the Rare Diseases Network Biomedical Research Center (CIBERER) has identified a protein -the endoglin- that fulfills a key role in the occurrence of preeclampsia during pregnancy.

Preeclampsia, which is estimated to affect 5% of pregnant women in developed countries, causes health problems for both mother and baby

Researchers have found that this protein is involved in alterations in circulatory and renal function that occur in pregnant women as a result of preeclampsia, and also observed in the various studies that the release of soluble endoglin was related to levels of elevated oxidized cholesterol.

The finding of these researchers is very important because it can contribute to develop new ways of approaching preeclampsia, a condition for which there is currently no effective treatment, so when it is serious it is necessary to advance the delivery or perform a cesarean section.

Preeclampsia, which is estimated to affect 5% of pregnant women in developed countries, causes problems for both the mother and the fetus, as it damages the kidneys, liver and endothelium of the pregnant woman, which can even cause death, and can also cause delayed intrauterine growth and the birth of a premature baby.

Hypertensive Disorders of Pregnancy (November 2019).

La prééclampsie est une complication de la grossesse qui consiste en le fait que la femme enceinte souffre de deux affections à la fois: l'hypertension et protéinurie (protéines dans l'urine), signes qui indiquent que le système artériel de la femme présente un problème et que, s'ils ne sont pas contrôlés et traités, ils peuvent déclencher des conditions dangereuses pour la santé de la future mère et du développement du fœtus.

Un groupe de scientifiques du Réseau de recherche sur les maladies rénales (REDinREN), du Conseil supérieur de la recherche scientifique (CSIC) et du Centre de recherche biomédicale du réseau des maladies rares (CIBERER) a identifié une protéine - l'endogline - qui remplit rôle clé dans la survenue d'une prééclampsie pendant la grossesse.

La prééclampsie, qui toucherait 5% des femmes enceintes dans les pays développés, cause des problèmes de santé pour la mère et le bébé

Les chercheurs ont découvert que cette protéine est impliquée dans les altérations de la fonction circulatoire et rénale qui surviennent chez la femme enceinte à la suite de la prééclampsie. Les différentes études ont également montré que la libération d’endogline soluble était liée aux niveaux de cholestérol oxydé élevé.

La découverte de ces chercheurs est très importante car elle peut contribuer à développer de nouvelles façons d’approcher la prééclampsie, une maladie pour laquelle il n’existe actuellement aucun traitement efficace. Par conséquent, lorsqu’il est grave, il est nécessaire de faire progresser l’accouchement ou de pratiquer une césarienne.

La prééclampsie, qui toucherait 5% des femmes enceintes dans les pays développés, pose des problèmes à la fois à la mère et au fœtus, car elle endommage les reins, le foie et l'endothélium de la femme enceinte, pouvant même causer la mort, et peut également causer un retard de croissance intra-utérine et la naissance d'un bébé prématuré.

Faux souvenirs - 37 - e-penser (Septembre 2019).