Genetic inheritance and testosterone-Male sex hormone- are factors directly involved in the onset of alopecia, a disorder that affects a large percentage of men after 35 or 40 years, and that is estimated to suffer to some extent up to 80 percent of them before they turn 70 years old.

Testosterone is responsible for the hair follicles They contract until they almost disappear, which results in the irreversible loss of hair characteristic of baldness. But it seems that this hormone is not the only one responsible for the hair falling out and not coming out again. Research in the United States by scientists at the University of Pennsylvania has shown that there is a protein - prostaglandin D synthase - whose levels are elevated in the cells of hair follicles located in areas of the scalp that lack hair, and This does not happen in areas with hair.

This discovery could be used to develop new treatments to prevent the appearance of baldness

The authors of the study, which has been published in Science Translational Medicine, observed that the mice that had high levels of this protein were totally bald and, when they implanted human hair, the hair stopped growing when they were given the protein.

George Cotsarelis, director of the research and professor of the department of dermatology at the University of Pennsylvania, explained that by binding this protein to a receptor on the cells present in the hair follicles, hair growth is inhibited. The researcher hopes that this discovery will serve to develop new treatments to prevent the onset of baldness and even reverse hair loss.

Nutrition & Diets : About Hair Loss & Dietary Deficiency (November 2019).

Patrimoine génétique et testostéroneLes hormones sexuelles masculines sont des facteurs directement impliqués dans l'apparition de l'alopécie, un trouble qui affecte un pourcentage élevé d'hommes après 35 ou 40 ans et qui, dans une certaine mesure, pourrait en souffrir jusqu'à 80% avant d’avoir 70 ans.

La testostérone est responsable de la follicules pileux Ils se contractent jusqu'à leur quasi disparition, ce qui entraîne la perte irréversible de cheveux caractéristique de la calvitie. Mais il semble que cette hormone n’est pas la seule responsable de la chute des cheveux et de leur perte. Des recherches effectuées aux États-Unis par des scientifiques de l'Université de Pennsylvanie ont montré qu'il existait une protéine, la prostaglandine D synthase, dont les niveaux sont élevés dans les cellules des follicules pileux situés dans les zones du cuir chevelu dépourvues de cheveux, et Cela ne se produit pas dans les zones avec des cheveux.

Cette découverte pourrait être utilisée pour développer de nouveaux traitements pour prévenir l'apparition de la calvitie

Les auteurs de l’étude, qui a été publiée dans Science médecine translationnelle, ont observé que les souris qui présentaient des taux élevés de cette protéine étaient totalement chauves et que, lorsqu’elles implantaient des cheveux, celles-ci cessaient de pousser lorsqu'elles recevaient la protéine.

George Cotsarelis, directeur des recherches et professeur au département de dermatologie de l'Université de Pennsylvanie, a expliqué qu'en liant cette protéine à un récepteur situé sur les cellules présentes dans les follicules pileux, la croissance des cheveux est inhibée. Le chercheur espère que cette découverte permettra de développer de nouveaux traitements pour prévenir l'apparition de la calvitie et même inverser la perte de cheveux.

Biblical Series IV: Adam and Eve: Self-Consciousness, Evil, and Death (Septembre 2019).