The group of accredited research in Hematology and Hemotherapy of the Institute of Health Research of the University Hospital and Politècnic La Fe has identified a new genetic alteration involved in acute leukemia that will advance the knowledge of the disease, as reported by the Government in a statement .

Dr. Esperanza Such has explained that this is a unique translocation of the RARG gene in a patient with acute myeloid leukemia, who presented characteristics similar to those of patients with acute promyelocytic leukemia.

The clinical picture of the patient was remarkably similar to acute promyelocytic leukemia (APL), which is characterized by a molecular alteration consisting of rearrangement of PML genes with RARA. It is a therapeutic target for him Retinoic acid, which makes this disease one of the leukemias with the highest cure rate. However, the study of the alterations that this patient presented in their chromosomes, allowed the research group to identify a new anomaly that, in this case, affected the RARG gene.

"The identification of this gene leaves an open way to better understand the molecular mechanisms that give rise to leukemia"

It is the first time that this gene appears involved in a case of acute leukemia. It is a gene from the same family as RARA, with which it shares 90% of its sequence, and on which it had been speculated about its potential involvement in human leukemia. Thanks to this research, the patient was given the standard treatment protocol for acute leukemia.

"The identification of this gene leaves an open way to better understand the molecular mechanisms that give rise to leukemia," says Dr. José Cervera. Several European groups have echoed this finding and have requested material from the Hematology research group in order to continue in the line of work already started.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

The AML genome(s): Mutations in four dimensions (November 2019).

Le groupe de recherche accrédité en hématologie et hémothérapie de l'Institut de recherche en santé de l'hôpital universitaire et de Politècnic La Fe a identifié une nouvelle altération génétique impliquée dans la leucémie aiguë qui fera progresser la connaissance de la maladie, comme indiqué par le gouvernement dans un communiqué .

Le Dr Esperanza Such a expliqué qu'il s'agissait d'une translocation unique du gène RARG chez un patient atteint de leucémie myéloïde aiguë, présentant des caractéristiques similaires à celles des patients atteints de leucémie promyélocytaire aiguë.

Le tableau clinique du patient était remarquablement similaire à celui de la leucémie promyélocytaire aiguë (LAP), caractérisée par une altération moléculaire consistant en un réarrangement des gènes de la LEM avec RARA. C'est un cible thérapeutique pour lui acide rétinoïque, qui fait de cette maladie l’une des leucémies avec le taux de guérison le plus élevé. Cependant, l'étude des altérations présentées par cette patiente dans leurs chromosomes a permis au groupe de recherche d'identifier une nouvelle anomalie qui, dans ce cas, affectait le gène RARG.

"L'identification de ce gène laisse un moyen ouvert de mieux comprendre les mécanismes moléculaires à l'origine de la leucémie"

C'est la première fois que ce gène apparaît impliqué dans un cas de leucémie aiguë. C'est un gène de la même famille que RARA, avec lequel il partage 90% de sa séquence, et sur lequel il avait été spéculé sur son implication potentielle dans la leucémie humaine. Grâce à cette recherche, le patient a reçu le protocole de traitement standard pour la leucémie aiguë.

"L'identification de ce gène laisse une voie ouverte pour mieux comprendre les mécanismes moléculaires à l'origine de la leucémie", a déclaré le Dr José Cervera. Plusieurs groupes européens ont fait écho à cette conclusion et ont demandé des informations au groupe de recherche en hématologie afin de poursuivre les travaux déjà engagés.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Environmental Disaster: Natural Disasters That Affect Ecosystems (Septembre 2019).