The Cow milk, which is used to feed babies when it is not possible to do so through breastfeeding, can cause allergy to 3% of children during their first years of life. Therefore, the dairy industry seeks to reduce the allergens of this type of milk with various procedures. Now, a new investigation could solve the problem, since they have managed to create a genetically modified cow with the objective that the animal produces milk with a low content of beta-lactoglobulin (BLG), protein responsible for allergies in children.

They create a cow by modifying their genes to produce milk with a low content of a protein responsible for allergies in children

The cow, which is called 'Daisy', is the result of the work of a team of researchers from the 'AgResearch Institute' in New Zealand, which managed to reduce the activity of hundreds of genes of the animal without eliminating them completely, a technique that could be used to control other livestock characteristics.

Another advantage offered by this cow's milk is that it is rich in caseins - a protein that contains cow's milk - which makes it more nutritious than the milk obtained from common cows.

Milk from 'Daisy' is currently being analyzed to confirm its hypoallergenic properties, and later it will have to pass the habitual controls of nutritional security before being able to be commercialized for the human consumption.

Bruce Whitelaw, a professor of biotechnology at the University of Edinburgh, believes that the procedure to genetically modify farm animals could also be used to improve their defense against infections.

However, the research and its results also have detractors, and the New Zealand ecologists affirm that the experiments carried out to create Daisy constitute an act of cruelty against animals and that, in addition, in the new milk a necessary protein has been eliminated for the development of the cow and humans.

Can Food Allergies Be Reversed? (November 2019).

Le lait de vache, qui est utilisé pour nourrir les bébés lorsqu'il est impossible de le faire par l'allaitement, peut provoquer une allergie à 3% des enfants au cours de leurs premières années de vie. Par conséquent, l'industrie laitière cherche à réduire les allergènes de ce type de lait par diverses procédures. Une nouvelle enquête pourrait maintenant résoudre le problème, car ils ont réussi à créer une vache génétiquement modifiée dans le but de produire un lait avec une faible teneur en bêta-lactoglobuline (BLG), protéine responsable des allergies chez les enfants.

Ils créent une vache en modifiant leurs gènes pour produire du lait avec une faible teneur en protéine responsable d'allergies chez les enfants.

La vache, appelée "Daisy", est le résultat du travail d'une équipe de chercheurs de "AgResearch Institute" en Nouvelle-Zélande, qui a réussi à réduire l'activité de centaines de gènes de l'animal sans les éliminer complètement, une technique qui pourrait être utilisée contrôler d'autres caractéristiques du bétail.

Un autre avantage offert par le lait de cette vache est qu’il est riche en caséines - une protéine qui contient du lait de vache - ce qui la rend plus nutritive que le lait de vaches ordinaires.

Le lait de 'Daisy' est en cours d'analyse pour confirmer sa propriétés hypoallergéniqueset, plus tard, il devra passer les contrôles habituels de la sécurité nutritionnelle avant de pouvoir être commercialisé pour la consommation humaine.

Bruce Whitelaw, professeur de biotechnologie à l'Université d'Edimbourg, estime que la procédure de modification génétique des animaux d'élevage pourrait également être utilisée pour améliorer leur défense contre les infections.

Cependant, la recherche et ses résultats ont aussi des détracteurs, et les écologistes néo-zélandais affirment que les expériences menées pour créer Daisy constituent un acte de cruauté envers les animaux et qu'en outre, dans le nouveau lait, une protéine nécessaire a été éliminée développement de la vache et des humains.

867-2 Save Our Earth Conference 2009, Multi-subtitles (Août 2019).