Pancreatic cancer is very resistant to chemotherapy because this tumor has the ability to create a biological barrier around it that protects it from drugs preventing them from reaching the tumor, which makes this cancer one of the most lethal.

Overcoming their defenses would, therefore, improve the effectiveness of the treatment and increase the survival time of those affected and their long-term prognosis. Therefore, a group of experts from the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center of the United States has carried out research that has allowed to identify the biological mechanisms that the tumor uses to create the protective barrier, and thus discover a way to cross that defense .

The new therapy manages to break the tumor barrier so that chemotherapy can act on all diseased tissue

The study, whose results have been published in Cancer Cellwas done with mice - which had been genetically engineered to resemble tumors that form in human pancreatic cancer - and used a therapy, developed by Dr. Sunil Hingorani, which combined gemcitabine - a drug anticancer-with an enzyme called PEGPH20.

The researchers found that this combination managed to break the tumor barrier, opening the blood vessels that irrigate it so that, in this way, chemotherapy could act on all the diseased tissue. With the new treatment there was a 70% increase in the survival of the mice; the best results obtained so far in clinical trials, according to Dr. Hingorani.

Hingorani and his team have found that these types of tumors are actually more sensitive to chemotherapy than previously thought, and that the lack of effectiveness of the medication is due to the fact that it does not penetrate the cancerous tissue. They consider, therefore, that the new finding can contribute to the development of effective treatments against pancreatic cancer. In fact, clinical trials with humans have already begun, both in the United States and in Europe.

The Future of Pancreatic Cancer Research and Treatment (November 2019).

Le cancer du pancréas est très résistant à la chimiothérapie parce que tumeur a la capacité de créer une barrière biologique autour de lui qui le protège de des drogues les empêchant d’atteindre la tumeur, ce qui fait de ce cancer l’un des plus meurtriers.

Surmonter leurs défenses améliorerait donc l'efficacité du traitement et augmenterait la durée de survie des personnes touchées et leur pronostic à long terme. Par conséquent, un groupe d’experts du Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center (États-Unis) a mené des recherches qui ont permis d’identifier les mécanismes biologiques utilisés par la tumeur pour créer la barrière de protection et de découvrir ainsi un moyen de franchir cette défense. .

La nouvelle thérapie parvient à briser la barrière tumorale de sorte que la chimiothérapie puisse agir sur tous les tissus malades

L’étude, dont les résultats ont été publiés dans Cellule cancéreusea été fait avec des souris - qui avaient été génétiquement modifiées pour ressembler aux tumeurs qui se forment dans le cancer du pancréas humain - et ont utilisé une thérapie, développée par le Dr. Sunil Hingorani, qui combinait la gemcitabine - un médicament anticancéreux avec une enzyme appelée PEGPH20.

Les chercheurs ont découvert que cette association avait réussi à briser la barrière tumorale en ouvrant les vaisseaux sanguins qui l'irriguaient, permettant ainsi à la chimiothérapie d'agir sur tous les tissus malades. Avec le nouveau traitement, il y avait une augmentation de 70% de la survie des souris; les meilleurs résultats obtenus à ce jour dans les essais cliniques, selon le Dr Hingorani.

Hingorani et son équipe ont constaté que ces types de tumeurs sont en réalité plus sensibles à la chimiothérapie qu'on ne le pensait auparavant et que le manque d'efficacité du médicament est dû au fait qu'il ne pénètre pas dans les tissus cancéreux. Ils considèrent donc que cette nouvelle découverte peut contribuer à la mise au point de traitements efficaces contre le cancer du pancréas. En fait, des essais cliniques sur des humains ont déjà commencé, tant aux États-Unis qu'en Europe.

Syndrome métabolique et toxicité du sucre. Robert Lustig sous-titré (Août 2019).