Researchers from the Stanford University School of Medicine (California, USA) have identified a new compound that attacks the 'Achilles heel' of the c cells, depriving them of their power source: glucose.

The usual treatment of cancer with chemotherapy usually causes many side effects due mainly to the fact that most of these drugs do not distinguish between cancer cells and healthy ones, attacking both equally. However, the compound discovered by the Stanford researchers acts on a biological phenomenon that only occurs in cancer cells, so it could be useful to fight against the disease causing minimal side effects.

By acting only on cancer cells, this compound could be useful to fight against the disease causing minimal side effects

Amato Giaccia, an expert in radiation oncology and one of the main investigators of this study, affirms that "this work shows an approach to selectively inhibit the ability of cancer cells to take glucose, a very powerful way to kill those cells" .

These scientists focused on studying the most common form of kidney cancer in adult patients, renal cell carcinoma, which accounts for almost 2 percent of all cancers that occur in the United States, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Disease Prevention (CDC, for its acronym in English).

This disease is resistant to traditional chemotherapy and often the affected kidney has to be removed in these patients. About 90 percent of these cancers have a specific genetic mutation that causes uncontrolled cell growth. "Most of the normal tissues of the body do not have this mutation, so a drug directed against this vulnerable point could be very specific for cancer cells," says Giaccia, a member of the Stanford Cancer Institute.

After examining a library of 64,000 synthetic chemical compounds on tumor cells with that mutation, they looked for signs of cell death. The work, which has been published this month in the specialized magazine 'Science Translational Medicine', resulted in two candidate substances to be anti cancer drugs: one found by Giaccia in 2008, STF-62247, which is now in preclinical trials, and another called STF-31, described in this latest study, which kills cancer cells in a different way.

Combining these two compounds could make a multiple attack or, if a cancer becomes resistant to one of the compounds, there would be another option, says Denise Chan, PhD, a former postdoctoral researcher at Stanford and co-lead author of this work.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Cancer Treatment: IMRT (Radiation Therapy) (November 2019).

Des chercheurs de la faculté de médecine de l'université de Stanford (Californie, États-Unis) ont identifié un nouveau composé qui attaque le «talon d'Achille» des cellules c, les privant ainsi de leur source d'alimentation: glucose.

Le traitement habituel du cancer par chimiothérapie entraîne généralement de nombreux effets secondaires, principalement du fait que la plupart de ces médicaments ne font pas la distinction entre les cellules cancéreuses et les cellules saines, les attaquant de manière égale. Cependant, le composé découvert par les chercheurs de Stanford agit sur un phénomène biologique qui ne se produit que dans les cellules cancéreuses. Il pourrait donc être utile de lutter contre la maladie causant des effets secondaires minimes.

En agissant uniquement sur les cellules cancéreuses, ce composé pourrait être utile pour lutter contre la maladie causant des effets secondaires minimes.

Amato Giaccia, expert en radio-oncologie et l'un des principaux chercheurs de cette étude, affirme que "ces travaux montrent une approche permettant d'inhiber sélectivement la capacité des cellules cancéreuses à prendre du glucose, un moyen très puissant de les tuer" .

Ces chercheurs se sont concentrés sur l'étude de la forme la plus courante de cancer du rein chez l'adulte, le carcinome rénal, qui représente près de 2% de tous les cancers survenus aux États-Unis, selon le Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Disease Prevention (CDC, pour son acronyme en anglais).

Cette maladie est résistante à la chimiothérapie traditionnelle et le rein affecté doit souvent être retiré chez ces patients. Environ 90% de ces cancers ont une mutation génétique spécifique qui provoque une croissance cellulaire incontrôlée. "La plupart des tissus normaux du corps ne portent pas cette mutation, un médicament dirigé contre ce point vulnérable pourrait donc être très spécifique aux cellules cancéreuses", a déclaré Giaccia, membre du Stanford Cancer Institute.

Après avoir examiné une banque de 64 000 composés chimiques synthétiques sur des cellules tumorales portant cette mutation, ils ont recherché des signes de mort cellulaire. Le travail, qui a été publié ce mois-ci dans le magazine spécialisé «Science Translational Medicine», a abouti à deux substances candidates à médicaments contre le cancer: une découverte par Giaccia en 2008, STF-62247, qui fait actuellement l'objet d'essais précliniques, et une autre appelée STF-31, décrite dans cette dernière étude, qui tue les cellules cancéreuses de manière différente.

La combinaison de ces deux composés pourrait faire une attaque multiple ou, si un cancer devient résistant à l'un des composés, il y aurait une autre option, déclare Denise Chan, PhD, ancienne chercheuse postdoctorale à Stanford et co-auteur principal de ce travail.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

C'est quoi la différence entre un virus et une bactérie ? - le Professeur Gamberge (Août 2019).