A team of scientists from the Beth Israel Diaconesa Medical Center in Boston, USA, have discovered an unknown connection between light-sensitive cells in the eyes and certain nerve cells in the brain involved in the perception of pain, which could explain why light stimuli aggravate pain in migraine patients.

About 20% of people with migraine manifest depression, irritability, restlessness, lack of appetite and sensitivity to light.

The work published in the journal 'Nature Neuroscience', and directed by Rami Burstein, shows that many blind people who suffer from migraines also elude light. In contrast, patients with blindness who had totally lost the eye or the optic nerve connecting the eye with the brain did not avoid light.

Based on these observations, the scientists worked with rats in which they directly searched the connections of the retina with the areas that register pain in the brain, and found that the retinal axons (prolongation of the retinal neurons) sent connections to a group of nerve cells located in an area of ​​the brain - the thalamus - which is responsible for receiving and transmitting pain signals related to migraine. According to the authors, this connection could be the cause why light worsens the pain of migraines.

Migraine? Chronic Sinusitis, Dizziness, Ear/Eye Pain/Pressure, Abnormal Hearing/Smell/Taste/Touch (November 2019).

Une équipe de scientifiques du centre médical Beth Israel Diaconesa à Boston, aux États-Unis, a découvert un lien inconnu entre les cellules photosensibles dans les yeux et certaines cellules nerveuses du cerveau impliquées dans la perception de la douleur expliquer pourquoi les stimuli lumineux aggravent la douleur chez les patients migraineux.

Environ 20% des personnes migraineuses manifestent une dépression, une irritabilité, une agitation, un manque d’appétit et une sensibilité à la lumière.

Les travaux publiés dans la revue «Nature Neuroscience» et dirigés par Rami Burstein montrent que de nombreux aveugles souffrant de migraines échappent également à la lumière. En revanche, les patients atteints de cécité qui avaient totalement perdu l’œil ou le nerf optique reliant l’œil au cerveau n’évitaient pas la lumière.

Sur la base de ces observations, les scientifiques ont travaillé avec des rats sur lesquels ils ont directement recherché les connexions de la rétine avec les zones qui enregistrent la douleur dans le cerveau. des cellules nerveuses situées dans une zone du cerveau - le thalamus - responsable de la réception et de la transmission des signaux de douleur associés à la migraine. Selon les auteurs, cette relation pourrait être la raison pour laquelle la lumière aggrave la douleur des migraines.

367 LE TRAVAIL SUR SOI et NOUVELLES RÉVÉLATION DONNÉE A L’HUMANITÉ POUR LA FIN DES TEMPS ÈRE VERSEAU (Août 2019).