A study conducted in the United States by researchers from the Scripps Institute, in which Japanese and Italian scientists have also participated, demonstrates the direct relationship between the disappearance of the HGMB2 protein and osteoarthritis. According to the authors of the study, the lack of this protein, located on the surface of the cartilage of the joints, has as a consequence a progressive deterioration of said cartilage, characteristic of arthrosis.

At the beginning of the disease the superficial layer of the cartilage is affected and, when it deteriorates, an irreversible process is triggered that in the end causes the other layers of cartilage to be lost, so that the bones rub against each other, which causes pain to the patient.

The research, according to its authors, shows that there is a direct relationship between the loss of a protein associated with aging and the development of osteoarthritis.

For the study, the researchers used mice genetically deficient in HGMB2, and observed that there is a deficiency of this protein - associated directly with aging - prior to the destruction of the superficial layer of the cartilage. The study's director, Dr. Martin Lotz, explains that they have discovered a mechanism that helps explain how and why aging leads to the deterioration of joint cartilage. And he adds that this research shows that there is a direct relationship between the lack of this protein and osteoarthritis.

This research is a revolution in terms of new treatments since, according to the authors, new therapies could be developed that could stop or prevent the loss of this protein, or even stimulate its production, being able to prevent or eradicate this pathology.

Osteoarthritis | Dr. Geraldine Navarro - UCLA Health (November 2019).

Une étude menée aux États-Unis par des chercheurs du secteur Scripps Institute, auquel ont également participé des scientifiques japonais et italiens, démontre la relation directe entre la disparition de la protéine HGMB2 et l’arthrose. Selon les auteurs de l'étude, l'absence de cette protéine, située à la surface du cartilage des articulations, aurait pour conséquence une détérioration progressive de ce cartilage, caractéristique de l'arthrose.

Au début de la maladie, la couche superficielle du cartilage est affectée et, lorsqu’elle se détériore, un processus irréversible est déclenché qui provoque finalement la perte des autres couches de cartilage, de sorte que les os se frottent les uns contre les autres, ce qui provoque douleur au patient.

La recherche, selon ses auteurs, montre qu'il existe une relation directe entre la perte d'une protéine associée au vieillissement et le développement de l'arthrose.

Pour cette étude, les chercheurs ont utilisé des souris génétiquement déficientes en HGMB2 et ont observé une déficience de cette protéine, directement liée au vieillissement, avant la destruction de la couche superficielle du cartilage. Le Dr Martin Lotz, directeur de l'étude, explique qu'il a découvert un mécanisme permettant d'expliquer comment et pourquoi le vieillissement entraîne la détérioration du cartilage articulaire. Et il ajoute que ces recherches montrent qu'il existe une relation directe entre le manque de cette protéine et l'arthrose.

Cette recherche est une révolution en termes de nouveaux traitements puisque, selon les auteurs, de nouveaux traitements pourraient être mis au point pour arrêter ou empêcher la perte de cette protéine, voire pour stimuler sa production, permettant de prévenir ou d’éradiquer cette pathologie.

Les dix erreurs les plus communes quand on fait des jus...et comment y remédier ! www.regenere.org (Août 2019).