Fragile X syndrome is a hereditary genetic disease that causes various alterations, and can cause autism and varying degrees of mental retardation. At present, there is no specific fragile X syndrome treatment, and the therapies are aimed at alleviating the symptoms and improving the quality of life of the patients. However, a new study conducted in the United States by scientists at the University of New York, has discovered new ways to address this pathology.

People born with this syndrome lack the FMRP protein, whose function is key in the control of proteins, so that in their absence, protein synthesis is excessive, which has the consequence that those affected suffer from various physical and mental disorders. mental

"People who are born with fragile X syndrome lack the FMRP protein, which has as a consequence that they suffer various physical and mental disorders"

The authors of the research - whose results have been published in the journal 'Neuron'-, used laboratory mice to which they inhibited an enzyme called S6K1, which was known to be responsible for regulating protein synthesis in mice that have the syndrome , with the aim of checking if this intervention managed to reduce the symptoms associated with the disease.

The scientists observed that the mice with the syndrome but without S6K1 presented a synthesis of proteins similar to those of healthy mice. In addition, they performed various tests on these animals, which showed that the animals had improved physically and with respect to their behavior.

Eric Clan, a professor at the New York University Center for Neural Science, and director of the team of researchers, has pointed out that his finding may contribute to a new effective pharmacological approach to reduce or even reverse the conditions associated with fragile X syndrome.

My Perfect Family: Fragile X (November 2019).

Le syndrome de l'X fragile est une maladie génétique héréditaire qui provoque diverses altérations et peut provoquer l'autisme et un retard mental à divers degrés. À l'heure actuelle, il n'existe pas de traitement spécifique du syndrome de l'X fragile, et les thérapies visent à soulager les symptômes et à améliorer la qualité de vie des patients. Cependant, une nouvelle étude menée aux États-Unis par des scientifiques de l'Université de New York a découvert de nouvelles façons de traiter cette pathologie.

Les personnes nées avec ce syndrome sont dépourvues de la protéine FMRP, dont la fonction est essentielle au contrôle des protéines, de sorte qu'en leur absence, la synthèse protéique est excessive, ce qui a pour conséquence que les personnes atteintes souffrent de divers troubles physiques et mentaux. mental

"Les personnes nées atteintes du syndrome de l'X fragile manquent de la protéine FMRP, ce qui a pour conséquence qu'elles présentent divers troubles physiques et mentaux"

Les auteurs de la recherche - dont les résultats ont été publiés dans la revue 'Neuron' - ont utilisé des souris de laboratoire pour lesquelles ils inhibaient une enzyme appelée S6K1, connue pour être responsable de la régulation de la synthèse des protéines chez les souris atteintes du syndrome. , dans le but de vérifier si cette intervention a réussi à réduire les symptômes associés à la maladie.

Les scientifiques ont observé que les souris atteintes du syndrome mais sans S6K1 présentaient une synthèse de protéines semblable à celle de souris en bonne santé. En outre, ils ont effectué divers tests sur ces animaux, qui ont montré que ceux-ci s'étaient améliorés physiquement et en ce qui concerne leur comportement.

Eric Clan, professeur au Centre for Neural Science de l’Université de New York et directeur de l’équipe de chercheurs, a indiqué que ses découvertes pourraient contribuer à une nouvelle approche pharmacologique efficace pour réduire, voire inverser, les conditions associées au syndrome de l’X fragile.

BDs AUTOBIOGRAPHIQUES | Lou Lubie & Akata (Août 2019).