When the brain suffers severe shocks, such as those caused by the explosion of a nearby bomb, the delicate tissue is struck against the skull and, as a consequence, if the person survives, a temporary bruising, hemorrhage, or permanent traumatic brain injury, which can even lead to the early onset of Parkinson's or Alzheimer's.

Bioengineers from Harvard University have identified, for the first time, the mechanism of diffuse axonal injury and have explained why the cerebral vasospasm It is more common in brain injuries induced by explosions than in brain injuries suffered by civilians.

In the words of the principal investigator, Kevin Kit Parker, professor of bioengineering in School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS) of Harvard, and commander in the United States Army, "many young men and women of military service with brain injuries return, and we do not know how to help them."

Using the most advanced techniques in tissue engineering - essentially creating a living brain on a chip - biologists, physicists, engineers, and materials scientists collaborate to study brain injuries and their treatment. The results of the research, collected in two articles, published in 'Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences' (PNAS) and in 'PLoS One', offer the most complete explanation to date of how mechanical forces can be translated into subtle Disastrous physiological changes for neurons of the brain and blood vessels.

Researchers have identified the cellular mechanism that initiates a diffuse axonal lesion, which offers guidance to research on therapeutic treatments. His studies show that integrins, proteins of the receptors integrated in the cell membrane, are the crucial link between external forces and internal physiological changes. Integrins connect the structural components of the cell (such as actin and other cytoskeletal proteins) with the extracellular matrix that binds the cells in the tissue. Together, this network of structural components is known as a complex of focal adhesion.

The forces unleashed by an explosion cause a chain reaction of molecular destruction within the nerve cells of the brain

Parker's research has shown that forces unleashed by a physical explosion alter the structure of the focal adhesion complex, which causes a chain reaction of molecular destruction within nerve cells of the brain.

Another part of the research carried out in Parker's laboratory has solved another mystery about traumatic brain injury, explaining why cerebral vasospasm, a dangerous remodeling of brain blood vessels, is more frequent in traumatic brain injury caused by the explosions than in other types of brain trauma.

As reported in the journal 'PNAS', the forces exerted on the arteries are different during an explosive charge than during a trauma from a blow. Subarachnoid hemorrhage, which can occur in severe head injuries, can cause vasospasm, but new research by Parker shows that only the force of an explosion can also cause vasospasm on its own.

An explosion creates an increase in blood pressure, which spreads to the walls of the blood vessels in the brain. For this study, Parker's bioengineers team built artificial arteries, made from living vascular cells, and used a special machine to stretch them in a rapid motion, simulating an explosion. In the 24 hours following the simulated explosion, the vascular tissues underwent hypercontraction and a complete phenotypic change, which altered the general function of the tissues. Both behaviors are characteristic of cerebral vasospasm.

The researchers observed that the Rho-ROCK signaling pathways play an important role in the behavior of the actin and the contraction of the cells. Parker's team found that Rho inhibition shortly after injury can mitigate the damaging effects of the explosion on the vascular system of the brain.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Concussion / Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) (November 2019).

Lorsque le cerveau subit des chocs violents, tels que ceux provoqués par l’explosion d’une bombe proche, le tissu délicat est frappé contre le crâne et, par conséquent, si la personne survit, une contusion temporaire, une hémorragie ou lésion cérébrale traumatique permanente, pouvant même conduire à l'apparition précoce de la maladie de Parkinson ou d'Alzheimer.

Des bioingénieurs de l’Université de Harvard ont identifié pour la première fois le mécanisme de lésion axonale diffuse et ont expliqué pourquoi le vasospasme cérébral Il est plus fréquent dans les lésions cérébrales causées par des explosions que dans les lésions cérébrales subies par des civils.

Selon les mots du chercheur principal, Kevin Kit Parker, professeur de bioingénierie à Ecole d'Ingénieurs et de Sciences Appliquées (SEAS) de Harvard et commandant de l’armée américaine, "de nombreux jeunes hommes et femmes du service militaire blessés au cerveau reviennent, et nous ne savons pas comment les aider."

En utilisant les techniques les plus avancées en ingénierie tissulaire - créant essentiellement un cerveau vivant sur une puce - des biologistes, physiciens, ingénieurs et scientifiques des matériaux collaborent pour étudier les lésions cérébrales et leur traitement. Les résultats de la recherche, rassemblés dans deux articles, publiés dans les "Actes de l'Académie nationale des sciences" (PNAS) et dans "PLoS One", offrent une explication la plus complète à ce jour sur la manière dont les forces mécaniques peuvent être traduites de manière subtile. Des changements physiologiques désastreux pour les neurones du cerveau et des vaisseaux sanguins.

Les chercheurs ont identifié le mécanisme cellulaire à l'origine d'une lésion axonale diffuse, qui orienterait la recherche sur les traitements thérapeutiques. Ses études montrent que intégrines, les protéines des récepteurs intégrés dans la membrane cellulaire, constituent le lien crucial entre les forces externes et les changements physiologiques internes. Les intégrines connectent les composants structurels de la cellule (tels que actine et autres protéines du cytosquelette) avec la matrice extracellulaire qui lie les cellules dans le tissu. Ensemble, ce réseau de composants structurels est appelé complexe de adhésion focale.

Les forces déclenchées par une explosion provoquent une réaction en chaîne de destruction moléculaire dans les cellules nerveuses du cerveau.

Les recherches de Parker ont montré que les forces déclenchées par une explosion physique altèrent la structure du complexe d'adhérence focale, ce qui provoque une réaction en chaîne de destruction moléculaire dans les cellules nerveuses du cerveau.

Un autre volet de la recherche effectuée dans le laboratoire de Parker a permis de résoudre un autre mystère concernant les lésions cérébrales traumatiques, expliquant pourquoi le vasospasme cérébral, un remodelage dangereux des vaisseaux sanguins cérébraux, est plus fréquent dans les lésions cérébrales traumatiques causées par: les explosions que dans d'autres types de traumatismes cérébraux.

Comme indiqué dans le journal 'PNAS', les forces exercées sur les artères sont différentes lors d'une charge explosive par rapport à un traumatisme provoqué par un coup. L'hémorragie sous-arachnoïdienne, qui peut survenir lors de traumatismes crâniens graves, peut causer un vasospasme, mais de nouvelles recherches de Parker montrent que seule la force d'une explosion peut également causer un vasospasme.

Une explosion crée une augmentation de la pression artérielle, qui se propage aux parois des vaisseaux sanguins du cerveau. Pour cette étude, l'équipe d'ingénieurs bio-constructeurs de Parker a construit des artères artificielles, à partir de cellules vasculaires vivantes, et a utilisé une machine spéciale pour les étirer rapidement, simulant ainsi une explosion. Dans les 24 heures qui ont suivi l'explosion simulée, les tissus vasculaires ont subi une hypercontraction et un changement phénotypique complet, qui ont modifié la fonction générale des tissus. Les deux comportements sont caractéristiques du vasospasme cérébral.

Les chercheurs ont observé que les voies de signalisation Rho-ROCK jouent un rôle important dans le comportement de l'actine et la contraction des cellules. L’équipe de Parker a constaté que l’inhibition de Rho peu de temps après une blessure peut atténuer les effets néfastes de l’explosion sur le système vasculaire cérébral.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Retrait d'un kyste chevelu (Août 2019).