Spanish scientists discover that the participation of cellular prion protein (PrPc) is essential to maintain the balance in neuronal transmission in the central nervous system (CNS). A very important finding to understand better epilepsy.

The CNS equilibrium occurs between the mechanisms that excite and inhibit neurons. In this way, it has been seen that in experimental animals, the absence of the PrPc protein causes the alteration of the mechanisms, which can lead to epileptic episodes.

Although scientists expected that increasing protein levels would reach equilibrium, they find something unexpected, since an excess of the protein increases the excitability of the CNS even more than its absence. These alterations further increase the susceptibility to suffer more severe epileptic seizures.

These results allow to reach the conclusion that the protein, in its right concentration, is fundamental to maintain the homeostasis or balance of neurotransmission in the CNS.

The cellular prion protein, in its proper concentration, is essential to maintain the homeostasis or balance of neurotransmission in the CNS

The work has been carried out by researchers from the Institute of Bioengineering of Catalonia (Ibec) and the University of Barcelona (UB), with the collaboration of the Pablo de Olavide University of Seville and the National Institute of Agricultural and Food Research and Technology.

The discovery has been published in PloS ONE, where it is noted that epileptic periods occur when excitability is altered in the central nervous system (CNS).

With this finding, more elements are available to deepen the basic knowledge of epilepsy. Given these results, the Ibec and the UB are working on a project where they study the expression and modification of the protein in epileptic patients.

High Blood Pressure | Hypertension | Nucleus Health (November 2019).

Des scientifiques espagnols découvrent que la participation de la protéine prion cellulaire (PrPc) est essentielle au maintien de l'équilibre de la transmission neuronale dans le système nerveux central (SNC). Une découverte très importante à comprendre meilleure épilepsie.

L'équilibre du SNC se produit entre les mécanismes qui excitent et inhibent les neurones. De cette manière, il a été constaté que chez les animaux de laboratoire, l’absence de protéine PrPc provoque l’altération des mécanismes, ce qui peut conduire à des épisodes épileptiques.

Bien que les scientifiques s’attendent à ce que les niveaux croissants de protéines atteignent l’équilibre, ils trouvent quelque chose d’inattendu, puisqu’un excès de protéine augmente l’excitabilité du SNC encore plus que son absence. Ces altérations augmentent encore la vulnérabilité aux crises d'épilepsie plus graves.

Ces résultats permettent de conclure que la protéine, à sa juste concentration, est fondamentale pour maintenir l'homéostasie ou l'équilibre de la neurotransmission dans le SNC.

La protéine prion cellulaire, à sa concentration appropriée, est essentielle au maintien de l'homéostasie ou de l'équilibre de la neurotransmission dans le SNC.

Les travaux ont été effectués par des chercheurs de l'Institut de bio-ingénierie de Catalogne (Ibec) et de l'Université de Barcelone (UB), avec la collaboration de l'Université Pablo de Olavide de Séville et de l'Institut national de recherche et de technologie agricoles et alimentaires.

La découverte a été publiée dans PloS ONE, où il est noté que les périodes d'épilepsie se produisent lorsque l'excitabilité est modifiée dans le système nerveux central (SNC).

Avec cette découverte, davantage d’éléments sont disponibles pour approfondir les connaissances de base sur l’épilepsie. Au vu de ces résultats, l'Ibec et l'UB travaillent sur un projet d'étude de l'expression et de la modification de la protéine chez des patients épileptiques.

LE MATIN DES MAGICIENS (AUDIOBOOK) - JACQUES BERGIER, LOUIS PAUWELS - PARTIE 3 (Août 2019).