The de novo mutations, those genetic errors that are present in patients but not in their parents, are more frequent in schizophrenic patients than in the rest of the population, according to an international group led by Guy A. Rouleau, of the University of Montreal and the CHU Sainte-Justine Hospital, in Canada.

The discovery, published last Sunday in Nature Genetics, could allow researchers to define how the disease appears from these mutations and develop a new treatment for this pathology, a major mental disorder characterized by a wide spectrum of symptoms, such as delusions, hallucinations, thinking problems and deterioration of the social behaviors

According to Rouleau, director of the CHU Sainte-Justine Research Center and researcher of the University of Montreal Hospital Research Center, "the incidence of Novo mutations, as observed in this study, may, in part, explain the high global incidence of schizophrenia. "According to the World Health Organization (WHO), 24 million of individuals could suffer schizophrenia worldwide, and about half of them would not receive treatment for their symptoms.

For Simon Girard, the student who performed the key experiments that led to this discovery, "since mutations are located in several different genes, we can now begin to establish genetic networks that define how these genetic mutations predispose to schizophrenia." "Most of the genes identified in this study had not previously been linked to schizophrenia, thus providing potential new therapeutic targets," he adds.

Rouleau used modern DNA sequencing technology to identify genetic changes in patients with schizophrenia whose parents showed no signs of having the disease. His team analyzed about 20,000 genes from each study participant, looking especially at de novo mutations, and pointing out those that were present in the patients but not in their parents.

"The results have provided us with valuable information about the molecular mechanism involved in the development and functioning of the human brain"

"Our results not only open the door to the possibility of better understanding schizophrenia, but have also provided us with valuable information about the molecular mechanism involved in the development and functioning of the human brain," he says.

The identification of de novo mutations in patients with schizophrenia supports the hypothesis, proposed by Rouleau in 2006, that this type of mutations play an important role in several diseases that affect brain development, such as autism, schizophrenia or Mental retardation.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Autism: New Mutations, Genes, and Pathways (November 2019).

Le mutations de novo, ces erreurs génétiques présentes chez les patients mais pas chez leurs parents sont plus fréquentes chez les patients schizophrènes que dans le reste de la population, selon un groupe international dirigé par Guy A. Rouleau, Université de Montréal et le CHU Sainte-Justine, au Canada.

La découverte, publiée dimanche dernier dans Nature génétique, pourrait permettre aux chercheurs de définir l’apparition de la maladie à partir de ces mutations et de mettre au point un nouveau traitement pour cette pathologie, un trouble mental majeur caractérisé par un large éventail de symptômes, tels que délires, hallucinations, problèmes de pensée et détérioration de la comportements sociaux

Selon Rouleau, directeur du Centre de recherche du CHU Sainte-Justine et chercheur du Centre de recherche hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal, "l'incidence de Mutations de novo, comme observé dans cette étude, peut, en partie, expliquer la forte incidence mondiale de la schizophrénie. "Selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), 24 millions La schizophrénie dans le monde peut être ressentie dans le monde entier et environ la moitié d’entre elles ne recevront aucun traitement pour leurs symptômes.

Pour Simon Girard, l'étudiant qui a réalisé les expériences clés qui ont conduit à cette découverte, "étant donné que les mutations sont localisées dans plusieurs gènes différents, nous pouvons maintenant commencer à établir des réseaux génétiques définissant la manière dont ces mutations prédisposent à la schizophrénie". "La plupart des gènes identifiés dans cette étude n'avaient jamais été liés à la schizophrénie, fournissant ainsi de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques potentielles", ajoute-t-il.

Rouleau a utilisé la technologie moderne de séquençage de l'ADN pour identifier les changements génétiques chez des patients atteints de schizophrénie dont les parents ne présentaient aucun signe de maladie. Son équipe a analysé environ 20 000 gènes de chaque participant à l’étude, en s’intéressant plus particulièrement aux mutations de novo et en mettant en évidence ceux qui étaient présents chez les patients mais pas chez leurs parents.

"Les résultats nous ont fourni des informations précieuses sur le mécanisme moléculaire impliqué dans le développement et le fonctionnement du cerveau humain"

"Nos résultats ouvrent non seulement la possibilité de mieux comprendre la schizophrénie, mais nous ont également fourni des informations précieuses sur le mécanisme moléculaire impliqué dans le développement et le fonctionnement du cerveau humain", a-t-il déclaré.

L’identification de mutations de novo chez des patients schizophrènes conforte l’hypothèse, proposée par Rouleau en 2006, selon laquelle ce type de mutations joue un rôle important dans plusieurs maladies affectant le développement du cerveau, telles que l’autisme, la schizophrénie retard mental.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

DNA Structure and Replication: Crash Course Biology #10 (Septembre 2019).