Research by Taiwanese scientists has shown that there is a bidirectional relationship between schizophrenia and epilepsy. According to this study, which has been published in a magazine of the International League Against Epilepsy, patients with epilepsy are almost eight times more likely to develop schizophrenia, while in individuals with schizophrenia the chances of developing epilepsy are multiplied by six.

Previous studies had already confirmed a prevalence of psychosis among patients with epilepsy, and in research on psychiatric illnesses a strong relationship between schizophrenia and epilepsy had been observed, suggesting that both diseases could share a certain susceptibility, which could be due to causes genetic, environmental or neurobiological.

Researchers have found a strong relationship between schizophrenia and epilepsy, which may be the result of genetic, environmental or neurobiological causes

To carry out the study, the database of the Taiwan National Health Insurance, where 5,195 patients with schizophrenia and 11,527 patients with epilepsy, diagnosed between 1999 and 2008, were identified.

The analysis of these data showed that the incidence of epilepsy was higher in the group of patients with schizophrenia, at 6.99 per 1,000 people per year, compared to 1.19 in the control group without schizophrenia. As for schizophrenia, its incidence was 3.53 per 1,000 people per year for patients with epilepsy compared to 0.46 in the control group without epilepsy.

Dr. I-Ching Chou, associate professor at the Medical University of China in Taichung, Taiwan, and lead author of the work, explained that these results show that there is a close bidirectional relationship between schizophrenia and epilepsy, and that it could be due to factors common to both pathologies such as genetic predisposition and environmental factors, although new studies are needed to investigate the pathological mechanisms.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Surgery helps woman gain control over epileptic seizures (November 2019).

Des recherches effectuées par des scientifiques taïwanais ont montré qu'il existait une relation bidirectionnelle entre la schizophrénie et l'épilepsie. Selon cette étude, qui a été publiée dans un magazine du Ligue internationale contre l'épilepsie, les patients épileptiques ont près de huit fois plus de risques de développer une schizophrénie, tandis que chez les sujets schizophrènes, les chances de développer une épilepsie sont multipliées par six.

Des études antérieures avaient déjà confirmé une prévalence de la psychose chez les patients épileptiques et, dans la recherche sur les maladies psychiatriques, une relation étroite entre la schizophrénie et l'épilepsie avait été observée, suggérant que les deux maladies pouvaient partager une certaine susceptibilité génétique, environnementale ou neurobiologique.

Les chercheurs ont découvert une relation étroite entre la schizophrénie et l'épilepsie, qui peut être le résultat de causes génétiques, environnementales ou neurobiologiques.

Pour mener à bien l’étude, la base de données du Taiwan assurance maladie nationale, où 5 195 patients schizophrènes et 11 527 patients épileptiques, diagnostiqués entre 1999 et 2008, ont été identifiés.

L'analyse de ces données a montré que l'incidence de l'épilepsie était plus élevée dans le groupe des patients schizophrènes, à 6,99 par 1 000 personnes par an, contre 1,19 dans le groupe témoin sans schizophrénie. Quant à la schizophrénie, son incidence était de 3,53 pour 1 000 personnes par an chez les patients atteints d'épilepsie, contre 0,46 dans le groupe témoin sans épilepsie.

Le Dr I-Ching Chou, professeur associé à l'Université médicale de Chine à Taichung (Taiwan) et auteur principal de l'ouvrage, a expliqué que ces résultats montrent qu'il existe une relation bidirectionnelle étroite entre la schizophrénie et l'épilepsie, qui pourrait être due facteurs communs aux deux pathologies telles que la prédisposition génétique et les facteurs environnementaux, bien que de nouvelles études soient nécessaires pour étudier les mécanismes pathologiques.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

A Message for Humanity - WingMakers -The Fifth Interview Subtitled (Août 2019).