A group of stem cell experts from Hong Kong and the United States are trying to grow parts of the human heart from stem cells, and estimate that they could be tested in humans in about five years.

Scientists have managed to develop basic cardiac muscle from stem cells, but the team wants to perfect the technique to be able to replace any part of the organ that has suffered damage after a heart attack, and recreate the natural pacemaker in which the heartbeat originates.

As the leader of the team and director of the Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Consortium of the University of Hong Kong, Ronald Li, explains, "when someone suffers a heart attack, there is a small window of time to heal when the damage is still small. You can cure it with a patch, a small tissue, so that it does not progress to heart failure. "

"Now we have the piece of muscle, but we want to imitate better what we see in the original heart and that requires engineering," Li says, adding that "there are many different types of heart cells, if the cells that are responsible for electricity They do not work well, you have arrhythmias or heart rhythm problems, there are muscle cells in the heart that do mechanical pumping that work all the time. "

The researchers explain that an organ or piece of tissue created from the stem cells of a person can, in general, be surgically implanted in that same person

The researchers explain that an organ or piece of tissue created from the stem cells of a person can, in general, be surgically implanted in that same person. The team will use approved lots of human embryonic stem cells to generate these pieces of human heart muscle and natural pacemakers for people with arrhythmia, or irregular heartbeats. To test the effectiveness of the treatment, the scientists plan to transplant these pieces of muscle and pacemakers into pigs and, if successful, in about five years they would go on to perform clinical trials with humans in which they would transplant the developed parts of the heart with the patients' own stem cells.

"The point is if we can place it in the heart so that it integrates with the receiving organ, even if it is integrated, will it last?" Said Li. He adds that, "the team chose pigs because porcine hearts are anatomically and functionally more similar to humans."

Li calculates that in five years they will have a number of drafts to design different prototypes that can be tested. Stem cells are the source of all the cells and tissues of the body, so they can become any cell type of the organ in which they originate. Thanks to their regenerative capacity to generate different types of cells, to multiply and self-regenerate, scientists hope to achieve that stem cells can treat a series of diseases, including cancer, diabetes and spinal injuries.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Sporty Stem Cells: how stem cells make muscle (November 2019).

Un groupe d'experts en cellules souches de Hong Kong et des États-Unis essaient de faire pousser des parties du cœur humain à partir de cellules souches et estiment qu'ils pourraient être testés sur l'homme dans environ cinq ans.

Les scientifiques ont réussi à développer muscle cardiaque de base l’équipe souhaite perfectionner la technique pour pouvoir remplacer n’importe quelle partie de l’organe qui a subi des dommages après une crise cardiaque et recréer le stimulateur naturel dans lequel le battement de coeur a son origine.

Comme l'explique Ronald Li, responsable de l'équipe et directeur du Consortium pour la médecine régénérative et les cellules souches à l'Université de Hong Kong, "lorsqu'un individu subit une crise cardiaque, il lui reste un peu de temps pour guérir lorsque les dégâts sont encore minimes. Vous pouvez le guérir avec un patch, un petit tissu, pour éviter une insuffisance cardiaque. "

"Nous avons maintenant le morceau de muscle, mais nous voulons mieux imiter ce que nous voyons dans le cœur d'origine et cela nécessite une ingénierie", a déclaré M. Li, ajoutant qu'il "existe de nombreux types de cellules cardiaques, si les cellules responsables de l'électricité Ils ne fonctionnent pas bien, vous avez des arythmies ou des problèmes de rythme cardiaque, il y a des cellules musculaires dans le cœur qui font un pompage mécanique qui fonctionnent tout le temps. "

Les chercheurs expliquent qu'un organe ou un morceau de tissu créé à partir des cellules souches d'une personne peut, en général, être implanté chirurgicalement chez cette même personne.

Les chercheurs expliquent qu’un organe ou un morceau de tissu créé à partir des cellules souches d’une personne peut, en général, être implanté chirurgicalement chez cette même personne. L’équipe utilisera des lots approuvés de cellules souches embryonnaires humaines pour générer ces morceaux de muscle cardiaque humain et des stimulateurs naturels pour les personnes souffrant d’arythmie ou de battements de coeur irréguliers. Pour tester l'efficacité du traitement, les scientifiques prévoient de transplanter ces morceaux de muscles et de stimulateurs cardiaques chez le porc et, en cas de succès, dans cinq ans environ, ils se produiront essais cliniques chez l'homme dans lequel ils transplanteraient les parties développées du cœur avec les propres cellules souches du patient.

"Le fait est que si nous pouvons le placer dans le cœur pour qu'il s'intègre à l'organe récepteur, même s'il est intégré, cela durera-t-il?", A déclaré Li. Il a ajouté que "l'équipe a choisi les porcs parce que les coeurs de porc sont plus semblables à l'homme sur le plan anatomique et fonctionnel."

Li calcule que dans cinq ans, ils disposeront de plusieurs versions pour concevoir différents prototypes pouvant être testés. Les cellules souches sont la source de toutes les cellules et de tous les tissus du corps, elles peuvent donc devenir n'importe quel type de cellule de l'organe dont elles proviennent. Grâce à leur capacité de régénération pour générer différents types de cellules, se multiplier et s'auto-régénérer, les scientifiques espèrent parvenir à ce que les cellules souches puissent traiter une série de maladies, notamment le cancer, le diabète et blessures à la colonne vertébrale.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Organoïdes, une revolution medicale | Actu de science (Septembre 2019).