The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in the United States has classified the Ebola virus (EBOV), which can cause hemorrhagic fevers with a high mortality rate, such as bioterror threat.

Therefore, the Institute of Medical Research of Infectious Diseases of the army of this country, has carried out an investigation that has allowed to develop a new treatment, effective in monkeys, to protect against the virus.

The objective of the research is to obtain new treatments that are economical and can be easily distributed to the areas where they are needed, even in remote and difficult to access places located in developing countries. Although its main intention is to protect the US military, the benefits would be extended to the civilian population.

The new drug, which combines three monoclonal antibodies -13C6, 13F6 and 6D8-, all of which had individually shown some protection against the virus in animals, seven monkeys were injected, of which three survived, while all the primates of the control group died.

Although only 43% of those infected with the virus were saved, all of them had already manifested the symptoms of Ebola before being treated and, in addition, the mortality rate of the infection reaches up to 90%, just as the researchers have remembered.

The new drug, which combines three monoclonal antibodies, saved 43% of infected macaques, while all animals in the control group died

The strengths of the research are that it has been done in macaques, a model very similar to the disease in humans, that the therapy began at a later time in the infection than in previous studies - which is important if there is a epidemic-, and that monoclonal antibodies have already been used in the treatment of other diseases and have a good safety profile.

However, it also has significant weaknesses, such as the fact that a virus adapted from a cell culture was used, less pathogenic in primates than the one found in nature, and that the drug only saved 43% of the animals.

The Ebola Response and Permitting Experience (November 2019).

Les centres de contrôle et de prévention des maladies (CDC) des États-Unis ont classé le virus Ebola (EBOV), qui peut provoquer des fièvres hémorragiques avec un taux de mortalité élevé, telles que menace bioterror.

Par conséquent, l'Institut de recherche médicale sur les maladies infectieuses de l'armée de ce pays a mené une enquête qui a permis de développer un nouveau traitement, efficace chez les singes, pour se protéger contre le virus.

L'objectif de la recherche est d'obtenir de nouveaux traitements économiques et faciles à distribuer dans les zones où ils sont nécessaires, même dans des endroits éloignés et difficiles d'accès situés dans des pays en développement. Bien que son objectif principal soit de protéger l'armée américaine, les avantages seraient étendus à la population civile.

Le nouveau médicament, qui combine trois anticorps monoclonaux -13C6, 13F6 et 6D8-, qui avaient tous montré individuellement une certaine protection contre le virus chez les animaux, sept singes ont été injectés, dont trois ont survécu, tandis que tous les primates du groupe témoin sont morts.

Bien que seuls 43% des personnes infectées par le virus aient été sauvées, elles avaient toutes déjà manifesté les symptômes d’Ebola avant d’être traitées et, en outre, le taux de mortalité de l’infection atteignait 90%, les chercheurs se sont souvenus.

Le nouveau médicament, qui combine trois anticorps monoclonaux, a sauvé 43% des macaques infectés, tandis que tous les animaux du groupe témoin sont morts

Les points forts de la recherche sont que, chez les macaques, un modèle très similaire à la maladie humaine, le traitement a commencé plus tard dans l’infection que dans les études précédentes - ce qui est important s’il ya lieu. épidémie- et que des anticorps monoclonaux ont déjà été utilisés dans le traitement d'autres maladies et présentent un bon profil d'innocuité.

Cependant, il présente également des faiblesses importantes, telles que le fait qu’un virus issu d’une culture cellulaire a été utilisé, moins pathogène chez les primates que celui trouvé dans la nature, et que le médicament n’ait sauvé que 43% des animaux.

RD CONGO: La Découverte D’un Anticorps Qui Neutralise Le Virus Ebola (Août 2019).