A team of specialists from the Neuropediatric Unit of the University of Navarra Clinic has collaborated with the company Nesplora in the creation of a device that consists of a 'software' aimed at achieving, quickly and accurately, the diagnosis of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD).

The new program consists of a test, called 'Classroom', and has a special glasses, which incorporate motion sensors, and headphones, which are placed before the child begins the test. Thanks to the 3D graphic design the patient has the feeling of being in one of the virtual classroom desks, similar to the one of a school class, where he will be surrounded by other students and will have a teacher in front of him explaining on the blackboard . The software of the device updates the perspective of the classroom based on the movements of the head of the child so that, at all times, maintain the feeling of being inside it. According to sources from the company, it is designed to evaluate the care processes and facilitate the diagnosis of the disorders caused by the attention deficit.

The most important factors that the new tool assesses are: the propensity of the child to be distracted, the degree of deviation from the focus of attention, and the divided attention (the auditory and the visual) simultaneously

The test is especially novel with respect to the neuropsychological evaluation of the patient, since, as Dr. Nerea Crespo, an educational psychologist at the Clínica de Navarra, points out, in addition to providing information about her cognitive functions, such as the ability to maintain attention or how she controls impulsivity, which can also be evaluated by other tests, it does in a world virtual, which recreates a context similar to real life.

While the patient performs the test, the software obtains the objective data that measure the level and the way in which it completes the different types of exercises; the results obtained are processed by the computer program and, in a period of approximately 20 minutes, the specialist receives a complete report.

The most important factors that value the new tool are: the propensity of the child to be distracted, the degree of deviation from the focus of attention, and the divided attention (auditory and visual) simultaneously. It also checks the child's motor activity and favors their cooperation, because it is a test very similar to the video game, and this is very attractive for the small patient.

Among the advantages offered by the use of the new tool, specialists emphasize that it allows to measure, simultaneously, the auditory and visual attention, and quantify them, in addition, independently; In this way, it can be determined at what times and in what kinds of processing distractions occur in the patient.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Jonathan Mooney: "The Gift: LD/ADHD Reframed" (November 2019).

Une équipe de spécialistes de l’unité de neuropédiatrie du Clinique de l'Université de Navarre a collaboré avec la société Nesplora à la création d’un dispositif consistant en un «logiciel» visant à réaliser rapidement et avec précision le diagnostic du trouble d’hyperactivité avec déficit de l’attention (TDAH).

Le nouveau programme consiste en un test, appelé "Classe", et comporte des lunettes spéciales, qui intègrent des capteurs de mouvement, et des écouteurs, qui sont placés avant que l'enfant ne commence le test. Grâce à la conception graphique en 3D, le patient a l’impression d’être dans l’un des pupitres de la classe virtuelle, semblable à celui d’une classe, où il sera entouré d’autres élèves et où un enseignant s'exprimera devant le tableau. . Le logiciel de l'appareil met à jour la perspective de la salle de classe en fonction des mouvements de la tête de l'enfant, de manière à maintenir à tout moment le sentiment d'être à l'intérieur. Selon des sources de l'entreprise, il est conçu pour évaluer les processus de soins et faciliter le diagnostic des troubles causés par le déficit de l'attention.

Les facteurs les plus importants évalués par le nouvel outil sont les suivants: la propension de l'enfant à être distrait, le degré de déviation par rapport au centre de l'attention et l'attention divisée (l'auditif et le visuel) simultanément

Le test est particulièrement nouveau en ce qui concerne l’évaluation neuropsychologique du patient, car, comme le souligne le Dr Nerea Crespo, psychologue de l’éducation à la Clínica de Navarra, en plus de fournir des informations sur ses fonctions cognitives, telles que sa capacité à maintenir l’attention ou le contrôle exercé sur elle. l'impulsivité, qui peut également être évaluée par d'autres tests, il fait dans un monde virtuel, qui recrée un contexte similaire à la vie réelle.

Pendant que le patient effectue le test, le logiciel obtient les données objectives qui mesurent le niveau et la manière dont il complète les différents types d’exercices; les résultats obtenus sont traités par le programme informatique et le spécialiste reçoit un rapport complet au bout de 20 minutes environ.

Les facteurs les plus importants pour le nouvel outil sont: la propension de l'enfant à être distrait, le degré de déviation par rapport au centre de l'attention et l'attention divisée (auditive et visuelle) simultanément. Il vérifie également l'activité motrice de l'enfant et favorise sa coopération, car il s'agit d'un test très similaire à celui de l'enfant. jeux video, et c’est très attrayant pour le petit patient.

Parmi les avantages offerts par l'utilisation du nouvel outil, les spécialistes soulignent qu'il permet de mesurer simultanément l'attention auditive et visuelle, et de les quantifier, en plus, de manière indépendante; De cette manière, il est possible de déterminer à quel moment et dans quels types de traitement les distractions se produisent chez le patient.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Academic Enablers: Daily report cards / Réussite scolaire: bulletins scolaires quotidiens (Août 2019).