A new therapeutic vaccine against the most aggressive skin cancer, melanoma, has reached phase I clinical trials in humans, after demonstrating its effectiveness in tests performed with mice in the laboratory. Although it has been designed to combat melanoma, it also opens a way to treat other types of cancer and inflammatory diseases.

The new drug was first known in 2009, after a preclinical study - whose results were published in Science Translational Medicine-, in which 50% of the mice with melanoma that were treated with two doses of the vaccine, and that were expected to die within a period of about 25 days, were shown to have a complete regression of the tumor cancerous.

The vaccine, developed thanks to a new model of translational research carried out at the Wyss Institute of Engineering Inspired by Biology at Harvard University, in the United States, presents a new approach, different from other therapeutic cancer vaccines that they need to eliminate the patient's immune cells first, then reprogram them and reintroduce them into their body.

50% of the mice with melanoma treated with two doses of the vaccine experienced a complete regression of the tumor

The new vaccine, which consists of a small sponge - the size of a fingernail - that is implanted under the skin, however, works by recruiting and reprogramming the patient's own immune cells, and causing them to go to the place in the that reside the cancer cells, where they eliminate them.

Glenn Dranoff, a professor at the Cancer Vaccine Center at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and one of the directors of the research work, has stated that it is unusual for human clinical trials to be initiated so quickly after testing a new technology in the laboratory. It is expected that phase I of the study, whose objective is to verify the safety of the vaccine in humans, will conclude in 2015.

Study Details First Therapeutic Melanoma Vaccine (November 2019).

Un nouveau vaccin thérapeutique contre le cancer de la peau le plus agressif, le mélanome, a atteint les essais cliniques de phase I chez l’homme, après avoir démontré son efficacité lors d’essais réalisés en laboratoire sur des souris. Bien que conçu pour lutter contre le mélanome, il ouvre également la voie à d'autres types de cancer et de maladies inflammatoires.

Le nouveau médicament a été connu pour la première fois en 2009, après une étude préclinique - dont les résultats ont été publiés dans Science médecine translationnelle- on a montré que 50% des souris atteintes de mélanome traitées avec deux doses du vaccin et sur le point de mourir dans un délai d'environ 25 jours présentaient une régression complète de la tumeur cancéreuse.

Le vaccin, mis au point grâce à un nouveau modèle de recherche translationnelle mis au point à l’Institut d’ingénierie Wyss, inspiré de la biologie à l’Université de Harvard, aux États-Unis, présente une nouvelle approche, différente des autres vaccins thérapeutiques contre le cancer. ils doivent d'abord éliminer les cellules immunitaires du patient, puis les reprogrammer et les réintroduire dans leur corps.

Une régression complète de la tumeur a été observée chez 50% des souris atteintes d'un mélanome traitées avec deux doses du vaccin

Le nouveau vaccin, qui consiste en une petite éponge - de la taille d’un ongle -, qui est implantée sous la peau, fonctionne toutefois en recrutant et en reprogrammant les propres cellules immunitaires du patient et en les faisant se déplacer à l’endroit du patient. qui résident le cellules cancéreuses, où ils les éliminent.

Glenn Dranoff, professeur au Cancer Vaccine Center de l’Institut du cancer Dana-Farber, et l’un des directeurs des travaux de recherche, a déclaré qu’il est inhabituel que des essais cliniques sur l'homme soient lancés aussi rapidement nouvelle technologie en laboratoire. La phase I de l'étude, dont l'objectif est de vérifier l'innocuité du vaccin chez l'homme, devrait s'achever en 2015.

Pierre Coulie: VACCINATION THÉRAPEUTIQUE CONTRE LE CANCER (Août 2019).