Miriam González Izal, telecommunication engineer, has designed in her doctoral thesis, 'Muscle fatigue estimation using sEMG recordings', a model that associates the surface electromyography signals (which are registered with electrodes located on the skin) and the reduction of the muscle power that occurs as a result of fatigue.

When we perform physical exercise, muscle fatigue results in a decrease in power, which can be measured thanks to the electromyograph, a device that records the electrical activity produced by muscles.

González Izal explains that it is difficult to measure fatigue, because it is a subjective sensation that appears with different intensity when performing daily activities, and that is why it is common to use loss of strength or power to evaluate muscle fatigue objectively. .

He has pointed out, however, that in certain physical activities, such as walking, it is still difficult to calculate the power decrease. Thanks to her research, the author has managed to associate the electromyography signal with the lack of power, so that it is possible to determine fatigue in practically any circumstance or during the practice of any type of physical exercise.

If we can measure fatigue, we can find a way to reduce it, and thus exercise longer or more intensely

The thesis was developed in conjunction with the Center for Sports Studies, Research and Medicine of the Navarrese government, where different kinds of exercises were performed to cause muscle fatigue, which served to record the electrical activity of the muscles. Several mathematical calculations were then carried out to analyze the relationship between the annotated electromyographic signals and the decrease in muscle power as a result of fatigue.

This work allows fatigue to be measured indirectly, without the need to use other more invasive techniques, such as drawing blood or extracting a muscle sample.

The author points out that the possibility of calculating fatigue allows us to foresee its appearance and avoid its negative consequences, and is that if we manage to measure fatigue, we can find a way to reduce it, and thus be more time exercising or doing it with greater intensity.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

The Symptoms of an ill Mind - Sadhguru talks in a Darshan at Isha Yoga Center, 2014 (November 2019).

Miriam González Izal, ingénieur en télécommunications, a conçu dans sa thèse de doctorat «Estimation de la fatigue musculaire à l'aide d'enregistrements sEMG», un modèle associant les signaux d'électromyographie de surface (enregistrés avec des électrodes situées sur la peau) et la réduction de la puissance musculaire résultant de la fatigue.

Lorsque nous faisons de l’exercice physique, la fatigue musculaire entraîne une diminution de la puissance, qui peut être mesurée grâce au électromyographe, un appareil qui enregistre l'activité électrique produite par les muscles.

González Izal explique qu'il est difficile de mesurer la fatigue, car il s'agit d'une sensation subjective qui apparaît avec une intensité différente dans les activités quotidiennes. C'est pourquoi il est courant d'utiliser la perte de force ou de puissance pour évaluer la fatigue musculaire de manière objective. .

Il a toutefois souligné que dans certaines activités physiques, telles que la marche, il est encore difficile de calculer la diminution de puissance. Grâce à ses recherches, l’auteure a réussi à associer le signal électromyographique au manque de puissance, de sorte qu’il est possible de déterminer la fatigue dans pratiquement toutes les circonstances ou lors de la pratique de tout type d’exercice physique.

Si nous pouvons mesurer la fatigue, nous pouvons trouver un moyen de la réduire, et donc d’exercer plus longtemps ou plus intensément

La thèse a été développée en collaboration avec le Centre d’études sportives, de recherche et de médecine du gouvernement navarrais, où différents types d’exercices ont été pratiqués pour provoquer une fatigue musculaire, qui servait à enregistrer l’activité électrique des muscles. Plusieurs calculs mathématiques ont ensuite été effectués pour analyser la relation entre les signaux électromyographiques annotés et la diminution de la puissance musculaire due à la fatigue.

Ce travail permet de mesurer indirectement la fatigue, sans recourir à d'autres techniques plus invasives, telles que le prélèvement de sang ou l'extraction d'un échantillon musculaire.

L'auteur souligne que la possibilité de calculer la fatigue nous permet de prévoir son apparition et d'éviter ses conséquences négatives, et que si nous parvenons à mesurer la fatigue, nous pourrons trouver un moyen de la réduire et ainsi prendre plus de temps à faire de l'exercice ou à le faire plus intensément.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

What happens when you have a disease doctors can't diagnose | Jennifer Brea (Août 2019).