Miscarriage is one of the complications of pregnancy that most concern pregnant women. In fact it is estimated that it is a risk that occurs in 20% of pregnancies, and that in two out of ten cases ends with the death of the baby.

The news is that experts at St. Mary's Hospital in Manchester (England) have found a method of early diagnosis of spontaneous abortion capable of accurately predicting which pregnant women at risk will end up losing their baby.

Until now there was no way to predict the outcome of this threat of miscarriages, so that gynecologists could take ineffective and even potentially harmful measures, such as blood tests, ultrasounds or unnecessary hospital admissions, as one of the authors states. of this work.

To find an alternative to this problem, St Mary researchers followed 112 women at risk of miscarriage, who were between the sixth and tenth week of pregnancy, undergoing various diagnostic tests. The results indicated that there are six factors that have a major impact on the risk of miscarriage: a history of infertility, progesterone levels, human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG), the amount of bleeding, the baby's gestational age and the size of the fetus.

In 20% of pregnancies there is a risk of spontaneous abortion, and in two out of ten cases it ends with the loss of the baby

Combining two of these factors, the amount of bleeding and hCG levels, they came up with what they called Pregnancy viability index (PVI), which could be a useful and effective method to predict pregnancies that may end in an abortion. If we look at the study we see how PVI accounted for 94% of pregnancies that were positive and predicted 77% of those in which a spontaneous abortion took place.

This method will allow opening a greater course of action in this type of case and save the patient unnecessary tests, anticipating in addition to the knowledge of those women who will require psychological help. The next step to give more validity to the PVI will be to try to expand the study with a more significant sample of pregnant women.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Healthy Pregnancy Tips From the CDC (November 2019).

La fausse couche est l’une des complications de la grossesse qui préoccupe le plus les femmes enceintes. En fait, on estime qu'il s'agit d'un risque qui survient dans 20% des grossesses et qui, dans deux cas sur dix, se termine par le décès du bébé.

La nouvelle est que des experts de l'hôpital St. Mary à Manchester (Angleterre) ont découvert une méthode de diagnostic précoce de l'avortement spontané, capable de prédire avec précision quelles femmes enceintes à risque finiront par perdre leur bébé.

Jusqu'à présent, il n'existait aucun moyen de prédire l'issue de cette menace de fausses couches afin que les gynécologues puissent prendre des mesures inefficaces et même potentiellement préjudiciables, telles que des analyses de sang, des échographies ou des hospitalisations inutiles, comme le précise l'un des auteurs. de ce travail.

Pour trouver une alternative à ce problème, les chercheurs de St Mary ont suivi 112 femmes à risque de fausse couche, âgées de 6 à 10 ans, ayant subi divers tests de diagnostic. Les résultats ont indiqué que six facteurs avaient une incidence majeure sur le risque de fausse couche: antécédents d'infertilité, taux de progestérone, gonadotrophine chorionique humaine (hCG), la quantité de saignement, l'âge gestationnel du bébé et la taille du fœtus.

Dans 20% des grossesses, il y a un risque d'avortement spontané et dans deux cas sur dix, il se termine par la perte du bébé.

La combinaison de deux de ces facteurs, la quantité de saignements et de taux de hCG, a donné lieu à ce qu'ils ont appelé Indice de viabilité de la grossesse (PVI), qui pourrait être une méthode utile et efficace pour prédire les grossesses pouvant aboutir à un avortement. Si nous examinons l'étude, nous voyons comment l'IVP représentait 94% des grossesses positives et prédit 77% de celles dans lesquelles un avortement spontané a eu lieu.

Cette méthode permettra d’ouvrir une plus grande ligne de conduite dans ce type de cas et d’économiser des tests inutiles pour la patiente, en anticipant les connaissances des femmes qui auront besoin d’une aide psychologique. La prochaine étape pour donner plus de validité à l'IVP sera d'essayer d'élargir l'étude avec un échantillon plus important de femmes enceintes.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Le développement du fœtus – Grossesse : comment évolue bébé ? – Laboratoire Gallia (Août 2019).