The discovery, published in, can make this molecule a new cell target for the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases.

One of the key factors in the functional deterioration that characterizes Parkinson's is the loss of dopaminergic neurons - the neurons whose primary neurotransmitter is dopamine - and the strong inflammatory activity that accompanies this loss. Spanish scientists have gone to work to find a solution to this problem and it seems that they have found it.

This is published by 'PloS One', which states that a team of researchers from the UAM, led by Dr. Ana Pérez-Castillo, and the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) have designed and synthesized a molecule (called S14) that, by inhibiting a protein (phosphodiesterase 7 (PDE7)), it protects dopaminergic neurons, also decreasing neuroinflammation, which consequently confers protection against Parkinson's disease.

In rat and human cells, the researchers found that the inhibition of PDE7 produced a total protection of neurons against damage inflicted by different cytotoxic agents. The work also analyzed the signaling pathways through which compound S14 exerts its action. In addition to testing the neuroprotective and anti-inflammatory effect of this compound in animals, the authors demonstrated that, by causing 'in vivo' brain injury in the area of ​​the brain known as SNpc (where dopaminergic neurons are lost in Parkinson's), treated animals with S14 they improved the motor symptoms produced by the lesion, characteristic of this disease.

It is hoped that this finding may bear fruit in the treatment of neurodegenerative lesions.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

A Conversation with Paul Greengard (November 2019).

La découverte, publiée dans, peut faire de cette molécule une nouvelle cible cellulaire pour le traitement des maladies neurodégénératives.

L'un des facteurs clés de la détérioration fonctionnelle qui caractérise la maladie de Parkinson est la perte de neurones dopaminergiques - les neurones dont le neurotransmetteur principal est la dopamine - et la forte activité inflammatoire qui accompagne cette perte. Des scientifiques espagnols se sont mis au travail pour trouver une solution à ce problème et il semble qu'ils l'aient trouvée.

Ceci est publié par 'PloS One', qui indique qu'une équipe de chercheurs de l'UAM, dirigée par Mme Ana Pérez-Castillo, et le Conseil supérieur de la recherche scientifique (CSIC) ont conçu et synthétisé une molécule (appelée S14) qui, en inhibant une protéine (phosphodiesterase 7 (PDE7)), il protège les neurones dopaminergiques, tout en diminuant la neuroinflammation, ce qui confère par conséquent une protection contre la maladie de Parkinson.

Les chercheurs ont découvert que, dans les cellules humaines et de rats, l'inhibition de la PDE7 produisait une protection totale des neurones contre les dommages causés par différents agents cytotoxiques. Le travail a également analysé les voies de signalisation par lesquelles le composé S14 exerce son action. En plus de tester l'effet neuroprotecteur et anti-inflammatoire de ce composé chez les animaux, les auteurs ont démontré qu'en causant des lésions cérébrales «in vivo» dans la région du cerveau appelée SNpc (où les neurones dopaminergiques sont perdus dans la maladie de Parkinson) avec S14, ils amélioraient les symptômes moteurs produits par la lésion, caractéristique de cette maladie.

On espère que cette découverte portera ses fruits dans le traitement des lésions neurodégénératives.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Jacque Fresco et Roxanne Meadows sur l'émission On The Edge avec Theo Chalmers [VOstFR] (Août 2019).