An investigation carried out by scientists from the Center for Genomic Regulation of Barcelona (CRG) has succeeded in delaying the progression of Huntington's disease (HD) in mice. To do this, researchers have used proteins called 'zinc fingers' to reduce the expression of the mutant gene involved in this pathology.

In Huntington's disease there is an alteration in the gene that encodes a protein called huntingtin, which is essential for the development and maintenance of neurons. This mutated gene is the cause of Huntington's symptoms, which consist of the appearance of involuntary movements that the patient can not control, in addition to changes in the character. As the disease progresses, there are also signs of dementia.

When the treatment was applied to mice with Huntington's disease, the appearance of the symptoms characteristic of this pathology was delayed.

Since HD is caused by the anomaly of a single gene, a therapy aimed at inhibiting that gene could achieve control of this disease for which, at present, there is no cure.

Researchers from the CGR have developed 'zinc fingers' that recognize and bind to certain DNA sequences, which allows regulating the genes to which they are attached. In the case of the mutant gene that causes Huntington's disease, the 'zinc fingers' prevent its expression, thus decreasing the production of the abnormal huntingtin protein.

The authors of the study, whose findings have published 'Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences' (PNAS), observed that when they applied the treatment to mouse models with HD, the onset of symptoms of the disease was delayed. Now, the scientists intend to continue with the project to develop a treatment that is effective in humans.

#TomorrowsDiscoveries: The Effects of Huntington’s Disease – Dr. Christopher A. Ross (November 2019).

Une enquête menée par des scientifiques du Centre de Régulation Génomique de Barcelone (CRG) a réussi à retarder la progression de la maladie de Huntington (HD) chez la souris. Pour ce faire, les chercheurs ont utilisé des protéines appelées «doigts de zinc» pour réduire l'expression du gène mutant impliqué dans cette pathologie.

Dans la maladie de Huntington, le gène codant pour une protéine appelée huntingtine, est essentielle au développement et à la maintenance des neurones. Ce gène muté est la cause des symptômes de Huntington, qui consistent en l'apparition de mouvements involontaires que le patient ne peut pas contrôler, en plus de modifications du caractère. À mesure que la maladie progresse, il existe également des signes de démence.

Lorsque le traitement a été appliqué à des souris atteintes de la maladie de Huntington, l’apparition des symptômes caractéristiques de cette pathologie a été retardée.

La HD étant causée par l'anomalie d'un seul gène, une thérapie visant à l'inhiber pourrait permettre de contrôler cette maladie pour laquelle il n'existe actuellement aucun traitement curatif.

Des chercheurs du CGR ont mis au point des «doigts de zinc» reconnaissant certaines séquences d’ADN et se liant à eux, ce qui permet de réguler les gènes auxquels ils sont attachés. Dans le cas du gène mutant qui cause la maladie de Huntington, les «doigts de zinc» empêchent son expression, diminuant ainsi la production de la protéine huntingtine anormale.

Les auteurs de l’étude, dont les conclusions ont été publiées dans «Actes de l’Académie nationale des sciences» (PNAS), ont observé que lorsqu’ils appliquaient le traitement à des modèles murins atteints de MH, l’apparition des symptômes de la maladie était retardée. À présent, les scientifiques ont l'intention de poursuivre le projet visant à développer un traitement efficace chez l'homme.

Le progeria: une maladie génétique extrêmement rare (Août 2019).