A study conducted in the United States by researchers at the University of Ohio has found an association between suffering stress and the development of metastasis in women with breast cancer.

According to the conclusions of the research, which has been published in the 'Journal of Clinical Investigation', the activation of ATF3 gene, linked to stress, could contribute to the spread of breast cancer to other areas of the body, including cells of the immune system.

Previous studies have already shown that suffering stress is a risk factor for oncological diseases, and data from the new work indicate that the ATF3 gene acts to incite the cells of the immune system to produce errors that result in the development of cancer. and its spread to other areas of the patient's body.

The scientists first studied the expression of the ATF3 gene in the cells of the immune system of about 300 women with breast cancer, and then analyzed the same process in mice with and without the gene, which had been injected with breast cancer cells. . They checked in this way that the metastasis was more extensive in the animals with the gene.

The gene linked to stress stimulates the cells of the immune system to produce errors that cause cancer and favor its spread

Dr. Tsonwin Hai, professor of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry at the University of Ohio and lead author of the research, explains that they observed how cancer cells use other healthy cells to establish themselves in different parts of the body.

According to the conclusions of the study, the stress gene behaves like a switch that activates or deactivates other genes of the organism, reason why to develop a drug that could cushion its effect would contribute to diminish the risk of metastasis.

Dr. Sparano Discusses Unmet Needs in Metastatic Breast Cancer (November 2019).

Une étude menée aux États-Unis par des chercheurs de l'Université de l'Ohio a montré une association entre le stress de la souffrance et le développement de métastase chez les femmes atteintes d'un cancer du sein.

Selon les conclusions de la recherche, publiée dans le "Journal of Clinical Investigation", l'activation de Gène ATF3, lié au stress, pourrait contribuer à la propagation du cancer du sein dans d’autres parties du corps, y compris les cellules du système immunitaire.

Des études antérieures ont déjà montré que le stress dû à la souffrance est un facteur de risque de maladies oncologiques, et les données des nouveaux travaux indiquent que le gène ATF3 incite les cellules du système immunitaire à produire des erreurs conduisant au développement du cancer. et sa propagation à d'autres zones du corps du patient.

Les scientifiques ont d’abord étudié l’expression du gène ATF3 dans les cellules du système immunitaire d’environ 300 femmes atteintes du cancer du sein, puis analysé le même processus chez des souris avec et sans le gène, à qui on avait injecté des cellules cancéreuses du sein. . Ils ont ainsi vérifié que la métastase était plus étendue chez les animaux porteurs du gène.

Le gène lié au stress stimule les cellules du système immunitaire à produire des erreurs cancérigènes et à favoriser sa propagation

Le Dr Tsonwin Hai, professeur de biochimie moléculaire et cellulaire à l'Université de l'Ohio et auteur principal de la recherche, explique qu'ils ont observé comment les cellules cancéreuses utilisent d'autres cellules saines pour s'établir dans différentes parties du corps.

Selon les conclusions de l'étude, le gène de stress se comporte comme un commutateur qui active ou désactive d'autres gènes de l'organisme. Par conséquent, la mise au point d'un médicament pouvant en atténuer les effets contribuerait à réduire le risque de métastases.

Armoise annuelle (Artemisia annua) : malaria et cancer (Août 2019).